We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Lapwings Barn Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lapwings Barn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #28 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Having previously stayed here for a couple of days in the summer of 2012 and had a great experience we returned for a 3 night stay in late November 2013. We were looked after very well by Gill and Rick. This is a self contained bedroom, ensuite and upstairs mezzanine living room with balcony. It was kept pleasantly warm during our stay, when we had severe frosts a couple of nights. Also there is a wood burner in the mezzanine living room and this was kept going as well. Really comfortable bed and super breakfasts. One night when the sky was clear we stood on the balcony looking at the stars with no light pollution, fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourists-from-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury-on-Thames,United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Seriously, you would be hard pushed to find a better place to stay anywhere in the UK. My friend and I only stayed the one night but I wish it could have been longer and will definitely be back. Rick the host was warm, and welcoming and genuine. The room was clean, warm and the beds very very comfortable. A wonderful deep bath and invigorating shower, and the breakfast...well, what can I say? very delicious, with home baked bread, freshly laid eggs, homemade marmalade, tasty bacon and sausages. Before leaving the next day, Rick introduced us to his ducks, dogs, cat, chickens, pigs, and sheep and sent us on our way with tamarind and preserves "thanks Rick"
If you stay in the lake district, then stay at Lapwings....you really wont regret it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the twin room but would loved to have tried the other room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My friend and I stayed for only one night in curlew quarters en route back to Surrey from Scotland. Would love to have spent afew days here. A very warm welcome from our host Rick who showed us to our room insisting on carrying our bags. Room is extremely comfotable and cosy with homemade cake and fresh milk and all usual drink provisions provided to welcome you.
Breakfast is ordered when you arrive and brought to your room at a time convenient to you the next morning, and it was delicious and lived up to all the other trip adviser comments I had read before I booked.
Rick was a very friendly chap to talk to all about their plans for the property and land surrounding their home. Will definately return one day!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We wanted somewhere quiet, comfortable and affordable for a few days at the end of August. Found Lapwings Barn online and then read the reviews - could it really be that good? Yes, it could! Ric and Gill (who makes the most delicious cakes) couldn't have been more helpful and hospitable, and the accommodation was just delightful, with the upstairs lounge/dining room (and incredible views across to Whinfell) and a very well appointed bedroom downstairs. As for the breakfasts, Ric spoiled us with home made bread, eggs from his own free range hens, and bacon, sausages and black pudding from his own pigs - who have a very pleasant life before making the ultimate sacrifice! Only one minor issue - the directions need refining, with or without satnav. Would go back tomorrow - pity it's 360 miles from where we live!

Room Tip: Go for Lapwings rather than the Curlew room - it's not a lot more in terms of cost, but you effe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanCane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Booked for just one night when going to a party in Kendal and couldn't get accommodation in town - but wished we'd stayed longer. It's a dinky little place with bedroom and shower room downstairs (with porch with bench seats and room for muddy boots), and bright lounge with balcony upstairs. The lounge has a little table plus fridge and tea/coffee making bits and plates, plus tv, so you could stay here for several nights quite happily and have an evening in with a takeaway if you wanted - I'd quite happily stay here in the colder weather too and get the wood burning stove going. Breakfast is brought to the lounge in the morning, and what a lovely breakfast. Ricardo is a baker and so I'd recommend saving yourself for the delicious bread and toast plus a choice of marmalades! We sat with the balcony door open and could hear nothing but willow warblers singing. Lots of footpaths and tiny lanes to explore around the vicinity. Ricardo was also a great host and like another reviewer said the sort of person who you love to meet in the hospitality industry. If you like small special places with a personal touch, this is is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Ricardo and Gill offer genuine hospitality set to a back drop of comfortable furnishings and peaceful surroundings. Most impressive is their commitment to fine food - the most delicious bacon, breads and jams! The wood burning stove is a treat too. I recommend Lapwings very highly.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrhigg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Where to begin. Firstly the hospitality. Rick is everything you would want from a host; interesting, laid back, friendly and can't do enough for you. He is absolutely the sort of person who should be in the hospitality industry. Meeting the rest of the family just reinforced this impression as they were all warm and very helpful. The accommodation is fantastic. We stayed in both Lapwings barn, with it's own upstairs sitting room, and Curlew Quarters and both were lovely. Super large beds with lovely bedding, tv, nice seating area (log burner in Lapwings) and smart, newly fitted en suite bathrooms. You order your breakfast and Rick brings it to your room at your requested time. The breakfast selection is fantastic - Full English (with bacon and sausage from Rick's pigs), Continental with an amazing selection of cheese and ham or American with a stack of pancakes or any variation there of with toast, jams, cereal, coffe and tea. However, we read in the visitor book that some guests had requested a vegetarian Mexican breakfast, which Rick was happy to prepare for us. We were not disappointed. Spicy Mexican heuvos rancheros... just the ticket on a hangover. The location is just fabulous as well. Tucked away just north of Kendal and firmly off the usual Lake District tourist trail but still within striking distance of all the countryside and sites you may want to visit. There are fabulous views of the surrounding farmland and hills and it was a real treat to be able to set out from our room on a fantastic walk up Whinfell. We really cannot recommend it highly enough. All this at a great price and with homemade cake left in your room every day! What's not to love.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
4.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
4.8 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
5.0 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Millers Beck
Millers Beck
#8 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
3.9 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
3.8 mi away
Ash Meadows Guest House
Ash Meadows Guest House
#6 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapwings Barn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapwings Barn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lapwings Barn Bed & Breakfast
Address: Howestone Barn | Whinfell, Kendal LA8 9EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Lapwings Barn Bed & Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing