We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfectly situated for both relaxation and...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Hen House

Lovely views over the surrounding countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely views over the surrounding countryside
Fresh eggs daily (hens willing!)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
44 reviews
Lovely views over the surrounding countryside
Fresh eggs daily (hens willing!)
Take a peak inside the nesting boxes and help yourself to eggs
Stunning sunsets
Outdoor space with patio and chairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
marekkuku...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfectly situated for both relaxation and exploration”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A snug little cottage situated in a quite part of the lakes.well appointed ( but don't forget your towels ! ) and warm .Well placed for visiting all the highlights by car and no lack of paths for the adventurous.Would visit again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2017
Hi Marek - thanks for the lovely review and we'd love to have you visit again. You left the cottage beautifully clean, and towels not a problem :-)

Thanks
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
311Kay
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little Retreat ”
Reviewed 23 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We have just spent a long weekend at The Hen House which we found very cozy & cute. It was plenty big enough for 2 adults, a teenager and large dog with everything you would need for a short break. Perfectly positioned to travel The Lake District but a car is essential with the surrounding being very rural and extremely picturesque.

Thoroughly enjoying our stay and would definitely return in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2017
Thank you for the lovely review and we would love to welcome you back any time. Hope you enjoyed the climbing wall!

Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Fantastic little cottage with everything you could need for a relaxing break. Was a perfect base to travel around the Lake District. There is also a large garden / paddock at the front of the property which was incredibly useful for the dog. Lovely owners who couldn't do enough to help us out during our stay! Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2017
Hi Ben - thanks for the great review and we're delighted you had such a lovely break.

Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Anne...
1 review
“Perfect four day stay”
Reviewed 29 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Accommodation at the hen house was charming,
The chucks and the views beguiling,
The lakes and the walks astounding,
Coming here truly outstanding.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2017
Thank you for such a poetic review and delighted you enjoyed your stay. The home-made jam you left is delicious! Such a thoughtful gift, thank you.
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jet689375
1 review
“very cosy place in a beautiful environment”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We very much liked our stay in the hen House. It was comfortable, clean and had a nice atmosphere. We could bring our dog, who had a wonderful time walking in the district. The owner is very friendly!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the great comments
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
thanks for the 5* review and delighted you all enjoyed your break

Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SarahJane...
1 review
“The Hen House -Old Hutton”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Excellent accommodation tucked away from the crowds. You're made to very welcome by the owner and the hens!! Cosy, warm and welcoming. An ideal place to recharge after a day walking and exploring the Lake District. Idyllic

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
thanks for the lovely review Sarah and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay

Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing