We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, friendly, great location, parking and a safe place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
Ranked #59 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
falmouth cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“clean, friendly, great location, parking and a safe place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

after reading the above reviews, i feel i need to write and put my opinion forward. This will be my 5th year staying at crow park as a single traveller and with a friend . I am always made to feel welcome by all the staff and they are always helpful if i need anything. Ian, the manager, will always try to solve any problems you have during your stay. The hotel is clean with great power showers, and now ungoing extensive decorating (which i am looking forward to seeing). The rooms i am allocated are not overly big and not small, but i only sleep in them (, so you don't need a huge space to run around in, there's plenty of good fresh air and open spaces to do this outside!! My friend has a small single room with a bathroom next door, which she enjoys. I am not a big breakfast person, but my friend who always has breakfast, enjoys it. There is a lovely bar and lounge that over looks crow park and cat bells, which you can use free Wifi with a lovely view. You can even sit out on front in the summer or evenings and enjoy the view with a glass of something. The location is ideal, being only a few minutes walk from the lake, the theatre and the town. There is a supermarket a few minutes walk away and plenty of great places to eat in town. The car park is a bonus in the centre of keswick and you do not have to move the car during your visit unless you really need to. The bus service is great to any where within the lakes.
I enjoy staying at crow park for all the above reasons and i feel safe as a single traveller. If i am going out walking i know that Ian and his team will know if i am not back, or if i ring they will do all they can to help me (as i have found out too late one year!)
Its not 5 star, unlike some other guest houses, but it concentrates on providing a good comfortable stay, and rememeber if you do have a problem let the staff know at the time so they can can do something about it!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cornishmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    88
    35
    4
    6
See reviews for
33
139
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

I would like to rank the Crow Park as good rather than very good. It is clean, the food is quite good and the service is ok but the rooms are very small, basic and slightly overpriced.

We were not shown to the rooms and there was no offer to help with cases. In all other respects the service was quite good though. The waiting staff were attentive and efficient.
For each day that we planned walking the owner made us hot thermos flasks of tea, free of charge. The owner was also generally pleasant and helpful.

The furniture was basic although the beds were very comfortable. The single rooms are extremely small. We have stayed in the family room in the past which is a reasonable size, so this was quite a shock. There are a number of guest houses nearby all with cheaper tariffs. I'm sure those rooms wouldn't be any smaller and would mostly likely
be bigger. The rooms were very clean and were well cleaned each day. The desk space was extremely small. There was no clock so I used my blackberry as an alarm clock.

There a few indicators of cheapness. There are no hooks on the doors for hanging coats, bathrobes etc. The tumblers in the en-suite are plastic instead of glass. The toiletries are not topped-up every day (presumbly they get replenished when they run out completely), the hospitality tray didn't have any biscuits, water or hot chocolate, but at least they used real milk (UHT) instead of powdered. The shower head in my sons room broke during normal use (we reported this and they said they would fix it but this happened on the morning we were leaving so we don't know if they did fix it). There is a TV in each room but no satellite channels and the screen is extremely small. We brought laptops with us and used those instead. The hotel provides free wifi (password protected) and we connected to it with no problems. The connection was good.

Breakfast was quite good but lacked a bit of finesse. The toast was served cold so we learnt to ask for it near the end. The fried bread was only fried on one side. There were no baked beans, mushrooms or black pudding. But what there was was good. The coffee was very good. The muslei was also good quality. The so-called fruit juice tasted
like it had been watered down. Officially breakfast does not start until 08:15 but they started at 08:00 for us, which was appreciated since we like an early start.

I would consider staying at the Crow Park again despite the criticisms, some of which are quite minor. We enjoyed our stay and it is in a great location with a free car park so this seemed to offset some of the negative points.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apm35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crowparkhotel, Owner at Crow Park Hotel Keswick, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
Dear apm35,

Thanks for taking time to review Crow Park.

I accept everyone is entitled to an opinion. A problem with hotel review sites, is that they can attract reviews from people who are neither qualified nor experienced in the trade.

On arrival, after formalities you are handed keys to the rooms reserved. The receptionist confirmed the floor & room number, then points you to the stairs. Each of the stair landings has a sign showing the way to the rooms on that floor. Its not difficult to self navigate, but quite impractical to have a receptionist running up & down to 28 bedrooms.

As you know from a previous stay we do not offer a portering service. Health & safety requires a manual handling certificate and a method statement including the bags weight. As stairs are involved this again becomes a near imposible task, but is it expected or required in a 2 star hotel. The Tourist Board certainly dont think so.. I understand some Guest Houses may offer a porter service, but that will be done by the owners and at there own risk. I am sure, not by employees.

Room 2, the en-suite single room you occupied measures 4300 x 2430. I wouldnt say its the largest single room, but no where near as small as you suggest. Obviously its not as large as the family room prevoiusly used but compared to a cabin on a cruise ship or overnight compartment on a train, its a good size.

Desk space in the room may be limited, but it is not designed as a work area. We have two comfortable lounges for working in and both have free wifi.

Bathroom soaps, shampoos, conditioners & shower gels are replaced generally when empty. They hold too much for a single use & non of us like waste, but if guests require more, its not a problem.

Glass and bathrooms just do not go together I am afraid. Fresh wrapped plastic cups are far more hygienic and a lot safer, its not a cheap option.

You are correct we do not have alarm clocks in the bedrooms. However most guests have mobiles with alarms. Our 19" flat screen tv with umpteen digital channels also has an alarm function, (if ever anyone can set it), and if all else fails just ask reception for an early morning call, simple.

Hooks on bathroom walls and bedroom biscuits are a fair point. We are introducing those along with bedroom tissues for the 2011 season. No need for bottled water though. We have the best water in the country, straight from the tap & its free.


Your comments regarding our food and service are unbelievable.

Each morning you were first in for breakfast, easily 25 minutes before other guests. Having immediate service and the full attention of the waiting staff on duty, how can this be any thing but excellent service.
Cold toast and watered down juice is just a ridiculous thing to say & beans are on the menu, but hey, its your review.

How can you comment on the food. A little bacon & eggs aside, you didnt have any. Your reservation was on a bed & breakfast basis, you didnt have an evening meal nor a drink from the bar.

Your reference to cheaper Guest Houses next door is true. What you have failed to take into account though is the overheads we pay. 20% vat, full business rates, employing staff with all the entitlements and running costs of a 200 year old building.

I am pleased you appreciated the free wifi, free flask filling, free private car parking & felt at liberty to call several times before your arrival enquiring about weather conditions, footware, out door shops and possible walking routes , we always aim to be helpfull.

I hope this responce helps to clarify some points and is taken in the context intended.

We look forward to welcoming you at Crow Park once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

what a gem this place is........friendly, clean great breakfast and lovely staff!!!
arrived and was given a choice of rooms both with great views.
really loved our
stay.
what i really loved about the place was that guests and staff all chatted together,
extended our stay we were having such a good time
thank you to all concerned
emma and garry( portsmouth)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmawallingtongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

I was taking my very elderly mother to the lake district and she can hardly walk more than a few steps. I explained this on booking and we discussed her having a room on the ground floor and that the 2 steps into the room she would just be able to manage,
. So it was a big suprise and worry when we arrived and found there were about 15 to 20 steps up to the front door! Pity that had nt been mentioned.
Also we had rung the day before and asked for evening meal as well as breakfast. So when we went to the dining room at 7.15 it was another dissapointment to be told that we had nt been booked in and the cook
had gone home. I asked if a sandwich could be made as my Mum could nt walk into town. I was told that was nt possible.
The hotel itself is nice enough and the location is great but it seems that a bit more customer care is needed. Breakfast was nice

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teresa_pearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crowparkhotel, Owner at Crow Park Hotel Keswick, responded to this review, 30 September 2010
At the time of booking you are correct we did discuss the front steps. You were advised to use the rear access to the hotel which has two steps and a ramp to the ground floor bedroom. Access to the hotel and all rooms are described along with all accessibility issues in our compulsory Access Statement available on our website and available on request.

I fail to see how it could have been such a surprise, and a complaint of the hotel that you failed to follow directions on such an important matter for your mother.

Your original booking was on a bed & breakfast basis. On arrival at registration the usual checking in procedure is to confirm the number of guests in the party and if dinner will be required. Once this has been established, keys are issued and meal times are confirmed.
How a dinner reservation was missed at this point, I do not know, but can only apologise.
I understand 19.15 appears early to finish dinner. But on occasions we have early dinners for Theatre go-ers, unfortunately this was one such evening.
Because we had been unable to provide an evening meal and as a show of goodwill a suggestion was made that you could use the bar area and eat sandwiches bought from the town
If we remember rightly you put your mother back into her bedroom with a sandwich, while you and your partner went out.

This review is a surprise to us as during your stay and at check-out you did not voice these concerns. At breakfast your mother chatted away happily and on check out your partner talked for some 15 minutes getting directions etc. We feel that the 175 negative words and only 3 positive words are unjustified.

Regards

Crow Park Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

Paid extra for a "Premier" room but very disappointed. Not shown to room and no offer to help with cases. Furniture basic although beds comfortable. Bath but no shower, two tap heads, one on sink and one on bath turned the wrong way and were not fixed to taps. Hospitality tray did not include biscuits or water. Bar tariff indicated that a glass of ice would cost £1, however as the ice machine was broken there was no ice at all. Warm lemonade, lovely. Breakfast ample but grapefruit segments warm. View from room was very good when the mist cleared! The premises seemed to be stuck in a "time warp" . Adjacent hotels seemed to offer more for less.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
184 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

The location is close to the lake and close to the center of town, with a great view out front and a great view out back.

Free wi -fi. Nice, friendly staff. My room was on the top floor - a bit warm, wish there had been a small fan in the room, and a little small, but I've been in smaller rooms. Bathroom was a nice size.

Great view of the mountains out the window (looked out the back). Quiet -didn't hear the other rooms

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swisstourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2009

ADVANTAGES: Great location, it was only a trot across the road to the town centre. Service was good, although there were no biscuits on the tea tray! Staff were extremely friendly, and ready to help at all times. Fantastic view from the room (some rooms face the golf course, others like ours face Blencathra), the window was a bit 1970's and not really in keeping with the surroundings, but it was "panoramic" so the style could be forgiven. Breakfast was excellent, plenty to eat and a good selection for vegetarians also. We didn't eat in the hotel in the evenings but if the breakfast was anything to go by, you will not be disappointed.

DISADVANTAGES: Room was a bit bleak but functional. There weren't enough plug sockets and there were none at all by the bed so we couldn't plug in our alarm clock next to us (no clock in the room either). The bathroom had a bath and a hand-held shower so it could only be used for rinsing hair whilst in the bath. The central heating was obviously on a timer which kicked in in the morning and early evening, so if you wanted to come back to regenerate on a wintery mid-afternoon you would have to leave your thermals on to keep warm!

We only booked this hotel because we decided to visit Keswick at short notice and there were no B&B's available. Understandably, hotels can charge more than B&B's for similar service, but it was only the room that really let this hotel down which was, in our opinion, not very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotel_mazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#36 of 176 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crow Park Hotel Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crow Park Hotel Keswick

Property: Crow Park Hotel Keswick
Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Crow Park Hotel Keswick 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Crow Park Hotel Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crow Park Hotel Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing