We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avondale Guest House
Ranked #2 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just returned from a short stay at Avondale,Keswick. From the outset both Linda & Stephen were outstanding hosts and ensured my stay was so very enjoyable. The variety of breakfasts come highly recommended . Can I thank Stephen for always looking out for my return from my daily fitness run to Portinscale and back to Avondale.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macbeth_james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for your, "outstanding", review. We're so happy that you enjoyed your visit so much. We pride ourselves on the variety we offer for breakfast. These days, many guests don't only want the traditional Full English, they want to have something a bit different. We love to introduce guests to the fantastic ingredients that we have available to us in Cumbria. We're also in the unique position to offer them a taste of Scotland with our Stornoway Black Pudding or Haggis. It was lovely to meet you and we sincerely hope you make a return visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

Had wonderful week with Linda and Stephen in June 2013. The weather was perfect and house spotless. The breakfasts got better by the day. We were given the benefit of their local knowledge. Will definitely stay there again if back in Keswick. Grace & Robert. Gourock.

Room Tip: First floor best at rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertW H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Many thanks for reviewing us. Happy that you had such a good time here in Keswick. You certainly found plenty to do, what with the theatre and all those bus tours. You fairly packed it in. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we look forward to a return visit sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stephen and Linda work hard to ensure their guest house is kept immaculate and modernised to the highest standards. They always make you welcome and help in any Wednesday they can. Their hospitality is without question and anyone considering staying here would not be dissapointed. A big plus is for the breakfast which can be tailored to suit an individual's needs and the quality is excellent. Our satisfaction means we return time and again.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for reviewing us on your new Tablet. Predictive text takes a bit of getting used to :-)
It was lovely to see you both again and get a look at you wedding photos. Fabulous! Sorry we were only able to offer you the one night, it's just so busy at the moment. Thanks again and hope to see you both soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Just back from a few days in Keswick and stayed in The Avondale which was recommendation--
well this place is more than perfect. Stephen & Linda are wonderful hosts and make your stay so enjoyable-- and they are great fun too. Lots of info about the area and the such comfortable beds.
The breakfasts are amazing and very personal as they will take your choices and ''mix & match''.
This place is a treasure and it was always a delight to come back Avondale after a day out & chat to Stephen & Linda.
Don't just take my word for it--do try it for yourself!!!

Room Tip: The twin room is slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thanks for your lovely review. It's fantastic when first time guests enjoy themselves so much. We could see you were having a wonderful time looking around the area. We just loved your enthusiasm. We're sure you'll be back, so thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you again next year, if not before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We have just had the most wonderful 1 week holiday at Keswick, the scenery is stunning and the weather for us was beautiful.

We stayed at the Avondale Guest House, I had mixed thoughts about a guest house, for we usually choose 4/5 star hotel, but the Avondale had been recommended, well I would definitely go there again, Bed & Breakfast was as good as it gets, I promise you, you will not need a lunchtime meal... the breakfast is a 'big beast' cooked to perfection.

There was the lovely friendly atmosphere that you do not get in a hotel and this can only be put down to the 2 wonderful host in Linda and Stephen, so friendly so helpful and so, funny... everyone there joined in the gentle banter.... well done Stephen and Linda ... for making your home our home for the week ....... great 4* Guest House, great hosts, great food .... oh! and the scenery not bad either .... ' In the words of Arnie ' I'll be back . ....

Room Tip: only saw our room, so can't comment. Our room was great, tea + coffee in the room comfy bed, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johngillam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

A zillion thanks for reviewing us and writing such wonderful things. It's a fair old drive from the South coast, so we're glad that both Keswick and our guest house lived up to the recommendation you were given. At least you won the bet that you wouldn't be able to finish the breakfast. Well done! Hope to see you both real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

As usual Linda and Stephen were exceptional hosts. Always so friendly and welcoming, become friends now rather than hosts of the best guest house in Keswick. Always look forward to our stay with them (although Stephen needs to practice his darts abit more for our nights in the local club. Ha! only joking Stephen. don't punish me by not letting me have one of your fantastic breakfast.)

Breakfast is best to none. Even have scrambled egg and salmon at home now, although its not as good as Stephens. Linda is always so friendly and jolly on a morning serving breakfast, and can't do enough to please everyone.

Avondale is the perfect place to stay. Always immaculately clean, the rooms are modern and furnished to a very high standard and have everything you need for your stay in the Lakes.

Cant compliment Linda and Stephen enough for being such great hosts, friends and for running such a high quality guest house. Although I better stop otherwise they will get so busy we will never be able to get a room!

Oh and by the way Tania says thank you for her birthday card.

Hopefully see you again soon

Thanks Karen xx

Ha! sorry got carried away doing ratings and clicked excellent for swimming pool and don't know how to get it off. Stick a bath-tub in back garden.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

What a brilliant review. Thanks for visiting us yet again and saying such nice things. It's always great to see you and catch up. Stephen is going to hone up his dart skills after that last dismal attempt. Maybe we should have a word with planning about your idea for a swimming pool :-) Can't wait till your New Year stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Thanks again to Linda and Stephen for a wonderful stay, as usual you excelled in your hospitality. the room, bed and breakfast were faultless. The veggie breakfast was fresh, lots of variety and plenty on the plate. I can't believe the trouble you go to to ensure fresh fruit as well as the cooked breakfast option. You are two shining stars.

Room Tip: I have now stayed here 4 times and each time I have had a different room, I could not chose one over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogawalk54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Congratulations on being our 100th reviewer!!!!! It's fantastic to see all these guests coming back to us again and again. You're all becoming more like friends than guests. We must be doing something right but it's the guests who are the real shining stars. Thanks again. When did you say you were coming back :-) Ha Ha.
A big thank you to all the guests that have given us such wonderful reviews over the past 3 years. We really do appreciate them all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 189 in Keswick
412 reviews
0.8 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#3 of 189 in Keswick
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#8 of 189 in Keswick
611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#11 of 189 in Keswick
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 189 in Keswick
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale Guest House

Address: 20 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £90 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avondale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avondale Guest House is a traditional Victorian townhouse located less than 2 minutes walk from Keswick town centre. We have 4 Doubles, 1 Twin and 1 Single room. All rooms are fully refurbished with en-suite facilities. Visit England Breakfast Award since 2012 and Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award since 2012. Variety of breakfast options available including Full English and Vegetarian options and is included in quoted rates. Special diets catered for. Free Wi-Fi available. We provide free bottled water in your room along with fresh milk delivered daily. Bathrobes are provided for your comfort during your stay. Rooms are now equipped with USB sockets for charging purposes. We offer direct booking discounts as well as seasonal special offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Avondale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avondale Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing