We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very happy 40th!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avondale Guest House
Ranked #7 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very happy 40th!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is a gem of a guest house located round the corner from the main streets in Keswick, handy for the pubs, shops, market and of course the lake.

We were staying there with friends for Friday and Saturday night to celebrate my 40th birthday and Linda and Stephen could not have been nicer, from the minute they took the booking through to the minute they waved us goodbye at the door. They honestly couldn't do enough to help us, we have never felt so welcome in any hotel anywhere in the world.

The guest house is very nicely decorated, bedrooms are very clean and comfy and the en-suite made me positively jealous! yummy toiletries too.

The breakfast was the stuff of dreams!! I have never before had Staffordshire oatcakes but I am now hooked, the only problem is you may well want to try everything on the very generous menu. The food was local, fresh and fantastic and we left each morning so well fed that lunch wasn't necessary.

Honestly can't fault the guest house or praise Linda and Stephen enough - thank you and we will be back again!!

Room Tip: both of the rooms we had were beautiful and the quiet location meant we had a great night sleep. Tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Well, how can anyone top your review! You make us blush with all your kind remarks, thanks so much. All we can say is that we're really happy that you all had such an enjoyable time and savoured our breakfasts so much. Keswick is a fantastic place to visit and it looks like we may be seeing you again soon. Can't wait :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
182
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was my first trip to Lake District & was relatively circumspect about the timing as well (Christmas). Linda & Stephen have done a great job with the place & have made the most of the resources.
Great food & a well kept premise makes this B&B more than efficient. Needless to say, Keswick is a beautiful place & worth more than a single trip. (Don't miss Steve's signature 'Glen-soaked porridge' :)
Cheers,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShridharKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It's so nice to see a first time visitor to Keswick enjoy their visit so much. It's even better when they tell us that staying with us helped to make their break that little bit special. We hope you'll make it up to the lakes again and stay with us once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

My husband and I return to this guest house every year because of its first class accommodation and service.
We are always greeted with a warm welcome and nothing is ever a bother to Stephen and Linda, who go out of their way to make you feel special, and make even the wettest day in the lake district a good one.
The rooms are modern, immaculate, and the beds are very comfortable. The sitting room is spacious and is a nice addition to make you feel at home.
Breakfast is par excellent and offers a wide variety of choices. I particularly love the fresh fruit every morning.
I highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review our guest house. It's always a great pleasure to have such fantastic guests as yourselves stay with us. As well as the guest lounge, we've now completed our refurbishment of the dining room. We're sure you'll love it. We very much hope to see you again this coming year come rain or shine :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have stayed in this guest house on many occasions in the past but not with the current owners. If anything they have greatly improved the quality and the overall experience. We will definetley make this guest house our first choice in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johno48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It's nice to see that you were impressed with what we've done to the house and we look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Our trip was made at the last minute and we were fortunately able to be accommodated at short notice. When we arrived we were made most welcome and shown to our immaculate room. It had everything we needed including toiletries. We chose a scottish breakfast and were delighted with our choice. The blackpudding is awesome and am ashamed to say that I didnt clear my plate due to the quantity. The mattresses and pillows were extremely comfortable. I would highly recommend this guest house and hope to return to my favourite place soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 143price
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
What a lovely review you've given us. Thank you very much. It's a fabulous boost for us when first time guests enjoy their stay so much. We'll have the Stornoway Black Pudding waiting for you on your return visit :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Once again Stephen and Linda ensured we had a wonderful break . We have been coming to Keswick for more than 30 years and although there are many good guest houses there is only one great one . It is faultless in every respect from the cleanliness, comfort, breakfast choice,quality and presentation and finally Stephen and Linda's hospitality .
We would not stay anywhere else .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank basiakamali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
We're so pleased that you enjoy staying with us so much. Given the number of years that you've been visiting Keswick, it's quite something that you rate us as the best. We look forward to many more visits from you in the future, as it's always our pleasure to look after you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGrange, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Besides the wonderful clean & spacious rooms,breakfast was the best.Stephen's whiskey infused porridge was excellent.Besides a large bowl of awesome porridge,you still can choose a full British breakfast.We were full until dinner!We would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words. That's quite an accolade you've given us but we have to agree that we think so too! We'd love to tell you the secret recipe but it wouldn't be secret any more :-)
Glad you enjoyed your stay and if you do ever get around to coming back over, "The Pond", please look us up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.2 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#13 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#9 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale Guest House

Property: Avondale Guest House
Address: 20 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avondale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avondale Guest House is a traditional Victorian townhouse located less than 2 minutes walk from Keswick town centre. We have 4 Doubles, 1 Twin and 1 Single room. All rooms are fully refurbished with en-suite facilities. Visit England Breakfast Award since 2012 and Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award since 2012. Variety of breakfast options available including Full English and Vegetarian options and is included in quoted rates. Special diets catered for. Free Wi-Fi available. We provide free bottled water in your room along with fresh milk delivered daily. Bathrobes are provided for your comfort during your stay. Rooms are now equipped with USB sockets for charging purposes. We offer direct booking discounts as well as seasonal special offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Avondale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avondale Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing