We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avondale Guest House
Ranked #4 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester
2 reviews
“Definitely recommended!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a lovely three night stay here, Linda and Stephen were very welcoming hosts indeed. The room was cosy, the bed was comfy, and the breakfast would set you up for Everest! We will be booking here again as it was everthing we wanted for a long weekend in Keswick...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank partynurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Well thank you so much for that wonderful review. We don't know about Everest but the award winning breakfast we serve certainly sustains a lot of walkers on the fells around Keswick. That's so good to hear that you had a great time here and we will hold you to your promise of returning :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
201
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Attentive hosts...great location...very clean with everything you would want. The breakfast is varied and very well presented...loved it!
We had a very relaxing experience and Stephen and Linda were always there should we need anything to make our stay better. We had a short break without the dog, which was nice.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review our guest house here on Tripadvisor. We know how hard it can be when you're apart from your dog, so we're extra happy that you had such a good experience while staying with us. You certainly appeared to be having a great time out and about in Keswick. Our award winning breakfasts seem to have delighted you and it looks like we have another convert to our Charles MacLeod Stornoway black pudding! We look forward to the next visit from Paul and yourself in the not too distant future, whenever you can bear to leave your beloved pooch behind again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

A last minute decision for a weekend away, a blind booking and I drew up outside Avondale in the heart of Keswick and back in our beloved Lakes with little perception of the treat in store. From the moment I was introduced to Linda & Stephen I felt welcome, relaxed, slightly spoilt and firmly at home. The sharp Glaswegian humour delivered with gentle self effacing charm endears you to this delightful couple from the start. Nothing too much trouble, old fashioned good manners, attention to detail coupled with a fine establishment, make for a great introduction. Their clear love of food provide a high calibre breakfast menu cooked impeccably along with sound advice on the right choice of evening meal among the many offerings in the town. You will also benefit from their knowledge of the locale in Keswick and beyond. Clearly a couple dedicated to their profession and in my opinion unlikely to disappoint. I'm not one to normally return to the same venue, but have to say I left Avondale wanting just a little more......
P.S. Stephen - I'm still saving for the Big Stopper, but it's on my list ;)
Take care, AP and LL

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your tremendous review of our guest house. We must get that stand in couple back again, they were obviously a hit with the guests :-) We hardly recognised ourselves there for a moment with all those compliments. You're too kind. It's great to hear that your weekend break turned out so well and you had such a good time here at Avondale. It was lovely to meet you both and we certainly hope that you manage back sometime in the near future. Remember to check out the Blipfoto site that we talked about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Linda & Stephen are fabulous hosts, who go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. The Avondale is beautifully refurbished, and the breakfasts are excellent and could be presented in any 5 star luxury hotel. Would recommend to everyone for an enjoyable break in the Lakes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Manager at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
That's a lot to live up to but we'll try our best. Many thanks for such glowing comments. It's good to hear that guests have genuinely enjoyed their stay with us. You'll be happy to know that we have just been awarded a Breakfast Award for the third year running and gained a score of 100%!Hopefully you'll be able to visit us again and have another great trip to The Lakes. Until then, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Big thanks to Linda & Stephen. Just spent the Easter weekend there, everything about their guesthouse exceeded our expectations, bedroom and rest of house spotlessly clean, food (especially the blackpudding at breeakfast) and hospitality superb. We were greeted with a nice warm welcome and made to feel at home. We will have no hesitation in returning or reccomending to others. Val & Trev.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 869Trev007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We're really chuffed that you had such a wonderful first visit to our guest house. Easter can be such a busy time but we try to spend as much time with guests as possible, making sure that they get the most out of their break. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast. The Stornoway Black Pudding is fast turning into everyone's favourite. We dearly hope that you manage another visit in the future and look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stephen and Linda were perfect hosts for us and seemed to make time to talk to all the other guests as they came and went. I came with my 87 year old Dad for one night and it really helped that they gave him a room on the 1st floor. I slept soundly as it was quiet and a very comfy bed. The en suite had all new fittings and everything worked. The breakfast had just got 100% from an inspector - I can see why as it was tasty and perfectly presented (see photo). The location is ideal, being on a quiet street, but just round the corner from the town centre. Stephen made sure I knew where to go for dinner (cow pie in the bar at the George Hotel - the half portion is more than enough!) and set us up with instructions for a lovely drive on the morning that we left. I'll be going back with my wife.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank alpaca182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thanks so much for such a lovely review. It was great to meet both you and your father and we 're glad that you had such a pleasant time here. That is a lovely drive you went on. Save the photos for us so that we can see them. Now that we know that you have a healthy appetite, when you next visit with your wife, we'll feed you up on the whisky porridge before your Full English! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We loved our stay at Avondale. Stephen and Linda were brilliant hosts, so friendly and helpful, we felt right at home! They helped us with walking maps and dining tips- nothing is too much trouble. Stephens cooked breakfasts are the best. Try his home made porridge and the full English breakfast will keep you going all day! The location is perfect, a two minute stroll into town. Keswick is a gorgeous place and we are so glad we found this beautiful bed and breakfast to stay in!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
That was very kind of you to write such a fantastic review. You were certainly keen to get your thought's down in writing, as you had posted it even before you checked out ! We're so happy that you had such a terrific stay with us, especially as it was part of your honeymoon trip all the way from down under. You were so lucky to have such sunny weather for your walk up Catbells. Glad we were able to give you a proper walkers breakfast to fill you up for your hike. Thanks again and if you ever manage to return to the Lake District, we'd love you to come visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#1 of 173 in Keswick
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#11 of 173 in Keswick
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale Guest House

Property: Avondale Guest House
Address: 20 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avondale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avondale Guest House is a traditional Victorian townhouse located less than 2 minutes walk from Keswick town centre. We have 4 Doubles, 1 Twin and 1 Single room. All rooms are fully refurbished with en-suite facilities. Visit England Breakfast Award since 2012 and Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award since 2012. Variety of breakfast options available including Full English and Vegetarian options and is included in quoted rates. Special diets catered for. Free Wi-Fi available. We provide free bottled water in your room along with fresh milk delivered daily. Bathrobes are provided for your comfort during your stay. Rooms are now equipped with USB sockets for charging purposes. We offer direct booking discounts as well as seasonal special offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Avondale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avondale Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing