We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We can't wait to check in again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avondale Guest House
Ranked #2 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was our first time in Keswick and the guest house was easy to find and situated in a great central location with everything within walking distance. Parking on local streets wasn't an issue although we did leave the car for the whole of the weekend.

The owners had great local knowledge and more than enough recommendations regarding activities for the day and eating out on a night. Within minutes of arrival our bags were wisked upstairs ahead of us and a fun, cheerful and fully informative introduction to the guesthouse and local area was delivered. Linda recommended a neat 15 minute walk to a nearby viewing point with excellent views of the Lakes and Keswick which really set up the weekend.

The owners are superbly friendly and approachable with stories of their own experiences and what seems like a genuine interest in your own. There friendly approach to hosting people within the guesthouse really added personality and an additional dimension to the stay.

The guest house was very clean and in a great decorative state with everything described on the booking websites. The bed was extremely comfortable after a hard days walking it was just difficult getting out of it in a morning. The shower was hot! What else can you ask for?

Yum .. based on trip advisors reviews of breakfast I couldn't wait to get stuck in and the home made breakfasts didnt let down at all. My partner throughly enjoyed his Macmuffin and Scottish breakfasts and the black pudding is not to be missed. There is something the caters to everyone and every appetite.

This was a great guest house that we would definitely check into again.

The only negative is the wifi, it is perfectly adequate for catching up with emails etc however it isnt the best for video streaming. The signal is much better in the communal living area than the third floor, my advice, get off your phone/tablet and have a chat with these wonderful people instead!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McClusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Waaaow! How do we respond to that. What a fantastic review. Thank you so much for all the lovely comments you made. No need to ask if you had a good time, as it's pretty obvious that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. That's music to our ears. Any time you're ready, we'll be waiting to check you back in. Until then; thanks once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Excellent location in the heart of Keswick, comfy and clean bedroom with en suite kept amazingly clean, food amazing every last detail taken care of a wide selection to choose from. Stephen and Linda couldn't if done more to make us feel welcome, even helped me with a stain on my shirt!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ttttsssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review of our guest house. We're happy to hear that your stay with us was so, "perfect". Strong praise indeed! Hope the stain came out your shirt OK and if you plan on returning to Keswick some day, please look us up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stephen & Linda were fantastic hosts and couldn't do enough to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. The accomodation was lovely, clean and comfortable. I would definitely reccomend staying here! ...........

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley_KM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking time to review our guest house. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and even happier that you recommend us to other visitors. Hope to see you both again next time you get the urge to visit the opposite end of The Lake District :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Great rooms, great hospitality, great breakfast. Back for year no 2. Stephen and Linda are very genuine hosts and made our stay and go the extra mile. If you want a nice welcome, comfortable stay and lovely shower after a long day in the hills then the Avondale is perfect. Remember don't tell anyone!
They have great local knowledge and are great company outside the B and B.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thanks so much for reviewing us again and for all the nice things you've said. It was great to have you guys back for the Mountain Festival this year. Glad you enjoyed your time with us. If you bring good weather with you like that, you can come back any time! See you next year :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I would recommend Avondale to all, as a great place to stay and enjoy. Linda & Stephen are very welcoming hosts and their high standards shine throughout! We have been coming here for a number of years and things improve each year, as they continually work to make their own mark on a very lovely building! Their breakfasts are second to none, are individually cooked and can be adapted to meet all tastes!

I look forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very good, with fittings of the high standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Many thanks Peter for reviewing us so favourably. It's always such a pleasure to have you both stay with us. Glad you both enjoyed your latest visit. Yes, the work continues apace but we're nearly there now! Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a lovely three night stay here, Linda and Stephen were very welcoming hosts indeed. The room was cosy, the bed was comfy, and the breakfast would set you up for Everest! We will be booking here again as it was everthing we wanted for a long weekend in Keswick...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank partynurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Well thank you so much for that wonderful review. We don't know about Everest but the award winning breakfast we serve certainly sustains a lot of walkers on the fells around Keswick. That's so good to hear that you had a great time here and we will hold you to your promise of returning :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Attentive hosts...great location...very clean with everything you would want. The breakfast is varied and very well presented...loved it!
We had a very relaxing experience and Stephen and Linda were always there should we need anything to make our stay better. We had a short break without the dog, which was nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review our guest house here on Tripadvisor. We know how hard it can be when you're apart from your dog, so we're extra happy that you had such a good experience while staying with us. You certainly appeared to be having a great time out and about in Keswick. Our award winning breakfasts seem to have delighted you and it looks like we have another convert to our Charles MacLeod Stornoway black pudding! We look forward to the next visit from Paul and yourself in the not too distant future, whenever you can bear to leave your beloved pooch behind again :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 189 in Keswick
414 reviews
0.8 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#3 of 189 in Keswick
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#11 of 189 in Keswick
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#8 of 189 in Keswick
614 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hazel Bank Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Underhill Guest House
Underhill Guest House
#24 of 189 in Keswick
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale Guest House

Address: 20 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £90 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avondale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avondale Guest House is a traditional Victorian townhouse located less than 2 minutes walk from Keswick town centre. We have 4 Doubles, 1 Twin and 1 Single room. All rooms are fully refurbished with en-suite facilities. Visit England Breakfast Award since 2012 and Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award since 2012. Variety of breakfast options available including Full English and Vegetarian options and is included in quoted rates. Special diets catered for. Free Wi-Fi available. We provide free bottled water in your room along with fresh milk delivered daily. Bathrobes are provided for your comfort during your stay. Rooms are now equipped with USB sockets for charging purposes. We offer direct booking discounts as well as seasonal special offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Avondale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avondale Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing