We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brian Watson”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abacourt Guest House
Ranked #97 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Third time visit means the first 2 visits we're fantastic. And there will be a fourth. Food is good and the people we're great too. Strongly recommend it. I only use another B and B when The Abacourt isn't available.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank brianwawatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Been looking to find time for a break and to use The Abacourt as we are old friends of the owners, John & Heather. This weekend we were lucky to book room #1 with the bay window. All the rooms are clean, well decorated and excellent B&B standard.
Our room had the chairs in the window to enable a quiet cuppa and watch the world go by or watch the weather over the distant hills.
Breakfast was excellent too which one would expect from an experienced top chef which I know John is! His photography adorning the walls is eye catching too.
We've already booked two more weekends.
Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JSR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I would highly recommend this B&B to friends and family. During our stay, we found this house to be superbly comfortable and well-maintained. Our room and bathroom were spacious and perfectly clean. The room had nice cabinet space and comfortable chairs. The bed was comfortable and the sleep was excellent in this quiet neighborhood.

The breakfast room was bright and pleasant. The breakfast was tasty and filling, with an additional buffet of cereals, yogurts, and fresh fruits.

The owners are both quite pleasant and engaging, and they gave good information about the area, including walks in the surroundings and the theater. Furthermore, when we made the reservation they provided excellent information about train and bus connections, including sending the web site for the regional bus.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ruppbenn_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This was our third stay and unfortunately was only for one night. However, we were treated as warmly as if it had been longer. Great room with views to Skiddaw and Cat bells when the weather allowed! Keswick is excellent to visit at any time of year and the Abacourt being only 2 minutes walk from the centre of town is an ideal base with the off street parking being a real advantage. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Abacourt guest house. The rooms are cosy and comfortable and the breakfast was superb!Great central location as close to town centre but off main street so quiet and peaceful at night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We actually came in the middle of October... sorry I write this review so late. We were a family of 4 and it was really a nice experience staying at Abacourt's. Lovely place and great hosts, I should say. The rooms were cozy and quiet. The house is just 2 minutes walk to the town centre and there you can buy fresh and cheap fruits and all kinds of goods in the local market everyday. What's most impressive is the breakfast. The coffee must have been boiled from coffee beans and they are so much better than all the bagged coffee we received for breakfast at other places. And all these came at a quite low price comparing with other lodges around. Very good place to stay in Keswick. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 68shaneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We had a lovely room, a yummy breakfast and off road parking. Perfect. We have been very well looked after by John and Heather. A very convenient location for Keswick shops and restaurants while being in a peaceful area. We slept very well every night and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#6 of 17 in Keswick
662 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunsford Guest House
Dunsford Guest House
#43 of 189 in Keswick
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ellergill
Ellergill
#101 of 189 in Keswick
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#12 of 189 in Keswick
560 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lincoln Guest House
Lincoln Guest House
#170 of 189 in Keswick
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bluestones Guest House
Bluestones Guest House
#116 of 189 in Keswick
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abacourt Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abacourt Guest House

Address: 26 Stanger Street, Keswick CA12 5JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £89 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abacourt Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are assured a warm, friendly and informal welcome to our, Visit England; 4 Star Silver & Breakfast Award Winning Traditional Lakeland Victorian Guest House. All five of our rooms are double bedded with full en-suite facilities. Free Wi-Fi available for guests. Abacourt is situated very close to the centre of Keswick, just a less than a 2 minute walk from its many shops, cafes, bars, restaurants and numerous other attractions and amenities, yet we are located in a cul-de-sac which makes for quiet evenings. Keswick is a great place to explore from on foot; a walk can start from our doorstep. We have guide books and maps you can borrow, whether your wish a gentle low level walk or something more demanding.Car parking in Keswick is at a great premium. To the rear of the house there is private off street parking. May we take this opportunity to point out that Abacourt is strictly NON-SMOKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Abacourt Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abacourt Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing