We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Appletrees Guest House
Ranked #127 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great weekend”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

stayed at the Appletrees Friday & Saturday night very clean rooms, quiet until the central heating kicks in at 6am, breakfast could be better but overall ideal for a short break, would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    12
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
5
29
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Comfortable room with good views as described. Meagre 'Hospitality Tray' in room, not replenished on second day. Breakfast good, but another slice of bacon or another sausage would have been appreciated! The owner is polite, says 'all the right things' but the impression given is that it's just a job - no warmth evident.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed here with my wife for. 2 night midweek break, last minute booking through, Keswick Tourism website, quoted £144.00.
All though I've said it was disappointing, the Appletrees is very clean, but could do with updating, and Sue was very nice, but didn't see her husband.
We had booked room 7, which was at the back, with views of Skidaw, and Latrigg, again needed updating, very small TV, and the en-suite, again was very clean but tiny, with shower unit behind door, and a toilet you couldn't really sit on (only at an angle) due again to its position. The bed was a double pine slat bed, and was extremely uncomfortable. The Breakfast, was again nice, with a choice of cereals, and either apple, or, orange juice, however the cooked breakfast was disappointing with 1, small slice of bacon, 1, thin sausage, and a spoonful of mushrooms, and beans, with hash brown, and half a tomato, and choice of either fried, or scrambled egg, I looked at my wife with disappointment , and the following day, she had a full breakfast, and gave extra to me.

On leaving, I queried the price as we where quoted £144.00 (£36.00), but only looking at the Tariff notice near the front door, it said a double was £34.00 for 2-6 nights, the tariff itself was very misleading as it says ( Double/Twin en - suite was £36.00 for 2-6 nights, and below it then quoted a Double Room 2-6 nights at £34.00).
We were told it was size of room, and ours was a bigger room, would like to see, how small some of the rooms where.
We were thanked for bring there attention to the issue, and they would change the wording, but did not accept the price difference, it will be interesting to see, if it gets changed.

Overall the Appletrees, and very clean, nice, but needs updating, but we wouldn't return, other B&B s on the Heads, seem nicer, although a bit more expensive, but I suppose you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillingeBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed with my mum and two daughters in 2 rooms overlooking Hope Park. Stunning views. A very flexible checking in time was given, some places only allow a 2:00 check in. Sue and John were very helpful and did us a lovely breakfast both mornings. I would definitely choose to stay here again. Thanks.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esbs2159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights whilst visiting Keswick Jazz Festival. The rooms are good size, the beds are comfortable, everything is clean and very well presented. Full English breakfast was very well cooked and just right to set one up for busy and enjoyable days. Situation excellent for all the festival venues and the view from the breakfast room was wonderful. Will use this again

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have marvellous rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We enjoyed a lovely 2 night stay in October 2012. The location is great - a few minutes walk from central Keswick, and the views quite something (especially from the front facing rooms). Welcoming hosts and a really lovely breakfast. We had room 7, spacious, comfortable, and a very good shower. Ample free parking on the street outside. Definitely one to come back to!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticobaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I stayed in a twin room which had an amazing view.In the morning i woke to a heavenly sight and so peaceful. The room was immaculate and the breakfast scrumptious. Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts and there was no difficulty parking and 5 mins walk to the centre .What more can one want.I definately reccommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ms m marcus m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
4.7 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Maple Bank Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parkfield Guest House
Parkfield Guest House
#35 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
#52 of 175 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincoln Guest House
Lincoln Guest House
#122 of 175 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appletrees Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appletrees Guest House

Property: Appletrees Guest House
Address: Appletrees The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Appletrees Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing