We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anchorage Guest House

The Anchorage Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Anchorage Guest House
Ranked #156 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

very friendly, rooms clean and comfortable lovely breakfast choice stayed a few times now and will return just wish there was a lift and the entrance gate was clearer away from the bushes

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank special l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAnchorage14, Owner at The Anchorage Guest House, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Thank you for your good review - you will be pleased to know those bushes have had a thorough prune!! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at the anchorage for a long weekend in mid March and dispite the typical Lakes weather enjoyed our stay. Linda was very welcoming and helpful.
Both room number 2(double) and 4(Triple) were clean and satisfactory with views of the surrounding mountains. The only down side to the Anchorage is the slightly narrow car park if you have a large car(SUV).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lealealeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

A lovely find! We had a very pleasant stay; our room was clean, tidy and comfortable; Linda and Andrew were very welcoming; breakfast was excellent.
Would definately stay here again!

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

The anchorage is a lovely b&b with a car park round the back. Very useful especially with all the cars parked on the street!
Linda and andrew are very nice, friendly and were very helpful.
The room was very big with a stylish en-suite. Tv with DVD player and brilliant comfy beds! A nice touch was the bookshelf on the landing and also a small DVD library as well.
The dining room was also beautifully decorated and the breakfasts were marvelous. Full English for me and salmon for my girlfriend. A very good selection for breakfasts.
The location is good too. A 2 minute walk into town and close to some very nice walks.

All in all a very enjoyable stay. Would definitely recommend everyone to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dodododojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Our eagerly anticipated stay did not meet expectations. The loft room was small, the floor sloped, items rolling down the bedside table, wardrobe was a grotty cupboard, with a previous guests discarded belongings. The 'ensuite' shower was a fight to get in each morning and evening. The television was, as a previous reviewer claimed, the smallest you couldn't see and DID NOT have a dvd player, which was a claim made by the proprieters. The landing was a noisy thoroughfare, which didnt help for an undisturbed sleep. The radiator was broken so the heat was pumping out, making it too warm.
Breakfast was ok although on one ocassion I found a rather large bone and a strand of hair.
We dont do BnB as a rule and if this is the norm then we'd rather stay at home.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Anchorage Guest House, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
The Anchorage dates from 1849 and sloping floors in houses of this age could be considered part of the character and charm of an older property. Unfortunately the wardrobe is in a corner of the room with a dark interior which is possibly why we missed seeing the items of clothing left in there (not a normal occurrence!) & these have now been sent back to their owner. The TV is of a standard size for B&Bs and some rooms have larger ones, they are part of our ongoing upgrading. The TV does have a built in DVD player and there are instructions in the drawer of the (very nice!) chest of drawers it stands on. Unfortunately it appears that the radiator cap was worn so that the valve could not be turned either on or off, a 2 minute job to replace once we knew it was faulty. Also if guests return to their rooms during the day to sleep, they should be aware that there will be other guests coming and going, as well as general house cleaning and occasional maintenance.
Sometimes there are bones in smoked salmon which are not immediately visible when serving up and obviously there shouldn't have been a hair in the breakfast .Over the 3 days this couple were here we had quite a few friendly conversations over breakfast and at other times during the day, so I am at a loss to understand why they never mentioned any of these issues then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Myself, my mum and aunt all stayed in the one room and were very comfortable. The owner was very friendly and accommodating and cooks up a lovely breakfast! Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

This was our second stay with Andrew & Linda and we would not hesitate to visit again.They are very friendly and take a genuine interest in their guests.Very good choice for excellent breakfast.
Clean and comfortable accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
#63 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acorn House Hotel
Acorn House Hotel
#65 of 177 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#43 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hunters Way
Hunters Way
#135 of 177 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ferndene Guest House
Ferndene Guest House
#40 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rickerby Grange
Rickerby Grange
#7 of 9 in Portinscale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Guest House

Property: The Anchorage Guest House
Address: 14 Ambleside Road, Keswick CA12 4DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of few Guest Houses in Keswick with private parking for all guests, we are ideally situated in a quiet residential area yet only a few minutes walk from the town centre with it's many quality shops, pubs, cafe/bars and restaurants, Derwent Water and nearby fells. After your day out exploring the spectacular scenery, why not relax in your room and watch a DVD from our well stocked DVD library!Come away and feel at home here at The Anchorage Guest House for comfortable, stylish bed & breakfast accommodation in a friendly, relaxed setting. Breakfast is served in our sunny dining room, where you can relax whilst planning your day ahead over a traditional cumbrian breakfast, or lighter options such as scrambled egg & smoked salmon on a lightly toasted bagel. Vegetarian options available as are soya or rice milk, fruit or herb teas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing