We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely time in Keswick at the Ferndene”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ferndene Guest House
Ranked #49 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2013

we spent two fabulous days in Keswick at the Ferndene at the beginning of December in the Suite high in the house. It was lovely, warm and cosy with plenty of room to sit and have a nightcap in the lovely lounge. No need to close any of the curtains are you are so high up and why shut out those stunning views? Breakfast was outstanding and Richard was kind enough to direct me to the farm outside Keswick to pick up some of the fab sausages to take home.

Lovely people, lovely room (although it is a steep staircase to the actual suite)fabulous breakfast and a short toddle to the very heart of keswick, we'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archie503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kesmars, Owner at Ferndene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for review.
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the Suite comfortable and you managed to find the farm to collect your sausages to take home.
We look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Regards
Richard and Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Ferndene for the first time between Christmas and New Year and spent 2 relaxing nights. Richard and Chris were the perfect hosts, friendly and welcoming from our arrival to our departure. We were very happy with our room and would describe the breakfast as delicious, well cooked and certainly plentiful! The guest house is ideally situated for a short walk into town with free car parking available on site. This was our first visit to Ferndene but will not be our last. Thank you for making our first 'holiday' without children so lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anndencleadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kesmars, Owner at Ferndene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. It was lovely to meet yourself and your husband inbetween Christmas and New Year 2012 and we are pleased you both enjoyed your first weekend away without the kids.
We hope you enjoyed your New Year celebrations and we look forward to meeting you both again soon.
Richard and Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

Coming to the end of our 3rd visit this year, but haay booked in for next year! Love this part of the lakes love this place. Return time after time and chris and richard make you feel like theyve seen you the week before. As with our previous review and everyone elses this is a great place to stay. Ive recommended people to stay and they havnt been disappointed. Dont take any notice of the odd iffy review, i look forward to coming back here (and my brysons ceam cake!)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hullsuedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kesmars, Owner at Ferndene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Hi Dave and Sue
Thank you once again for your lovely review. We are pleased that again you had a lovely few days here at Ferndene and we look forward to seeing you both in a couple of weeks time for first of your stays already booked for 2013 with us.
Hope you enjoyed your meal at the Fish before you returned home and all your cakes and biscuits you left in the room rerturned in the post safe and sound (and not too broken).
See you soon
Richard and Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Very comfortabale accomodation and Christine and Richard are extremely warm and friendly. Ideally situated form the centre of Keswick with plenty of walks from the doorstep.Good breakfast and we would certainly have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen194764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kesmars, Owner at Ferndene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Hello Maureen
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you had a nice stay here at Ferndene and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Regards
Richard and Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ferndene last weekend and it is a regular stopping off point for the two of us when we go to the Lakes and Keswick in particular. Christine and Richard are what I can only describe as "salt of the earth" people, friendly, obliging and just fantastic folks. The rooms are varied to suit different types of visitors and the Cumbrian breakfasts are top notch. We have recommended the Ferndene to friends and family and the feedback I have received is similar to our own experiences. This place really is a gem in the heart of the Town and is in my view an essential part of stopping over.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 787Darren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kesmars, Owner at Ferndene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Hello Darren
It was lovely to see you both again last weekend and we are pleased you had a nice weekend. Hope you enjoyed your walk before you headed off home and you had a safe journey back.
Look forward to seeing you both again next year and we wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
All the Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

This was a return visit after missing for a couple of years and we found Christine and Richard were just brilliant hosts. We tried sleeping under a duvet on the first night (something we do not do at home) and found we were too warm, no problem here Christine put a sheet and a throw on the bed and the next two nights we slept log like. As on our previous stays they both offer suggestions on where to go and what to see. We stayed in room 5 which was very nice with a view of both the church and the distant fells. We will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good but room 5 is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kesmars, Owner at Ferndene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

It was lovely to see you again, thanks for your review! Richard and Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

In our last review we visited as a couple, during October we returned after a couple of years but this time as a family. To our amazement the Marsden family remembered our last visit and the names of our children which was so sweet of them and made us feel welcomed once again.

The rooms have been kept really up to date, and developed even more but still had that same clean, warm, comforting feeling to them. The beds were comfortable enough that our early rising 7 year old actually had a lie in!

Breakfast was a treat and I swear there is enough on offer to keep you going for the entire day and every mouthful is declicious!.

The location of the accommodation is perfect for us as a family, being able to wander into the town centre and the lake in minutes with a small child is a god send and the on site parking makes life so easy.

With our next trip back already booked, we definitely won't be leaving it so long again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TandDSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kesmars, Owner at Ferndene Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Thanks for taking the time to compose and post such a lovely review.; it is very much appreciated. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again next time! Richard & Christine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#57 of 189 in Keswick
415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#58 of 189 in Keswick
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#44 of 189 in Keswick
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 189 in Keswick
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harvington House
Harvington House
#41 of 189 in Keswick
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#12 of 189 in Keswick
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndene Guest House

Address: Ambleside Road | 6 St. John's Terrace, Keswick CA12 4DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £67 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richard and Christine welcome you to Ferndene B&B Guest House - A contemporary family run guest house offering high standard, comfortable and friendly bed and breakfast accommodation in Keswick. Ferndene Guest House is quietly situated a short stroll from the centre of the beautiful market town of Keswick in the heart of the Lake District National Park We are the perfect base to enjoy the magnificent scenery whether you wish to walk, cycle and explore the huge range of outdoor activities available nearby or simply to relax in comfort and get away from it all for a relaxing or romantic break. Ferndene Guest House is a pleasant ten minute walk from the Derwentwater lakeshore with its stunning views, boating, lake steamers and the famous Theatre by the Lake. Our traditional Victorian guest house has been comprehensively refurbished while still retaining much of its original character and, with our modern Annexe conveniently located next to our car park (providing free off road parking), has been carefully decorated in a modern style throughout. Rooms in the main house offer magnificent views of the mountains, with our exclusive top floor Suite giving panoramic views over Keswick and the fells. After a restful night's sleep in one of our tastefully furnished bedrooms enjoy a relaxing start to the day with breakfast served in our comfortable dining room overlooking the garden and St. John's Church. Indulge yourself with the famous Ferndene Guest House cooked Cumbrian breakfast, selected from the best locally available and Fairtrade sources. A large selection of cereals, yoghurts, dried and fresh fruit, orange and apple juice (lighter options and vegetarian breakfast always available. Special diets catered for on request prior to arrival). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ferndene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferndene Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing