We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room and great hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferndene Guest House
Ranked #38 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful room and great hosts”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Ferndene is an excellent B&B in a great location. Richard and Christine are good hosts with local knowledge on walks, launch prices etc. Breakfast amazing - sets you up for a long walk! Room was spotless, bathroom was modern and the shower was superb. Highly recommend a stay if you're in Keswick.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    17
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
198
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here 2nd week in march Richard and Christine had just opened for the season. Lovely happy smiling welcome on arrival .stayed in the suit we were very impressed lovely and clean and the views were just as on the website. Breakfast was great cheers Christine .any thing you wanted or asked about was no trouble to them . great weekend neil and denise ellis

Room Tip: The suit was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Visited in December 2013 for a long weekend and had an excellent stay.

Perfectly located, just a few minutes stroll to Keswick town centre this B&B served as a perfect base for walks in the area. We walked up to Catbells and back (despite the weather conditions) and was great to get started with a full Cumbrian breakfast.

The owners were always very helpful and able to offer advice (even when our car broke down!).

Will be going back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in December and enjoyed every minute. The owners were really friendly and always had time for a chat, offered advice and make us feel so welcome. The breakfasts were excellent and filled you up for the day. The rooms were large, comfortable and very clean. There was a car park at the rear of the property which is a great bonus in Keswick and the shops and restaurants just a short stroll down the road. Brilliant break and will definately stay again and would certainly recommend this lovely B&B

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 552Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Lovely B&B, we returned for the second time and were met by a smiling Richard in the car park with an upgrade to the Suite on the top floor. Still a very snug and well equipped space with absolutely fantastic views from all sides. Breakfast was excellent, fabulous local sausage and fresh ingredients and plenty of it. Couldn't be more handy for the town and a bonus of a great wee well run car park, we shopped in the big local Christmassy market on the Saturday and just did a couple of drop offs to the car over the course of the day, couldn't be handier. Looking forward to next year already!

Room Tip: the suite has fantastic views and absolute privacy at the top of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archie503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the double room suite in the separate annex of the building (very convenient for easy access any time with our own key) for three nights and three tasty breakfasts, and really can't fault the experience at all.
The owners were really friendly and helpful with lots of advice and brochures for local goings-on.
The rooms were nicely decorated, very clean and stocked full of refreshments and a very comfy bed.
And lastly, the location was just what we wanted - easy walking distance to the Keswick's shops and restaurants, and of course the beautiful Derwentwater.
Had a lovely time, would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elfmedicine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at the Ferndene for 3 nights in November. From arriving to leaving, we were made to feel so welcome. Our room was lovely, very spacious, modern, warm and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was great, piping hot and very tasty, just what you need to set you up for a day on the fells. Have already recommended the Ferndene to friends and will definitely stay again when we are next in Keswick. Thanks again Richard and Christine

Room Tip: Stayed in room 5 - lovely spacious room with good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheryl a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.8 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#13 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#6 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brookfield B&B
Brookfield B&B
#18 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#44 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#12 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndene Guest House

Property: Ferndene Guest House
Address: Ambleside Road | Ambleside Road, Keswick CA12 4DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richard and Christine welcome you to Ferndene B&B Guest House - A contemporary family run guest house offering high standard, comfortable and friendly bed and breakfast accommodation in Keswick. Ferndene Guest House is quietly situated a short stroll from the centre of the beautiful market town of Keswick in the heart of the Lake District National Park We are the perfect base to enjoy the magnificent scenery whether you wish to walk, cycle and explore the huge range of outdoor activities available nearby or simply to relax in comfort and get away from it all for a relaxing or romantic break. Ferndene Guest House is a pleasant ten minute walk from the Derwentwater lakeshore with its stunning views, boating, lake steamers and the famous Theatre by the Lake. Our traditional Victorian guest house has been comprehensively refurbished while still retaining much of its original character and, with our modern Annexe conveniently located next to our car park (providing free off road parking), has been carefully decorated in a modern style throughout. Rooms in the main house offer magnificent views of the mountains, with our exclusive top floor Suite giving panoramic views over Keswick and the fells. After a restful night's sleep in one of our tastefully furnished bedrooms enjoy a relaxing start to the day with breakfast served in our comfortable dining room overlooking the garden and St. John's Church. Indulge yourself with the famous Ferndene Guest House cooked Cumbrian breakfast, selected from the best locally available and Fairtrade sources. A large selection of cereals, yoghurts, dried and fresh fruit, orange and apple juice (lighter options and vegetarian breakfast always available. Special diets catered for on request prior to arrival). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ferndene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferndene Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing