We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ferndene Guest House
Ranked #48 of 196 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We spent two nights here in The Suite. Accommodation was lovely and very clean. Hosts very welcoming and helpful. The suite has a bedroom, separate living room area and shower room. It is at the top of the house, the views are fantastic, the only downside is it is accessed by 5 flights of stairs and there is no lift but if you are fully mobile it's great. Breakfasts also very nice but have to be taken between 8.30am and 9.00am which is a bit early. Location is ideal, it's only a few minutes walk to the centre of Keswick.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisE1757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Ferndene is an excellent B&B in a great location. Richard and Christine are good hosts with local knowledge on walks, launch prices etc. Breakfast amazing - sets you up for a long walk! Room was spotless, bathroom was modern and the shower was superb. Highly recommend a stay if you're in Keswick.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here 2nd week in march Richard and Christine had just opened for the season. Lovely happy smiling welcome on arrival .stayed in the suit we were very impressed lovely and clean and the views were just as on the website. Breakfast was great cheers Christine .any thing you wanted or asked about was no trouble to them . great weekend neil and denise ellis

Room Tip: The suit was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Visited in December 2013 for a long weekend and had an excellent stay.

Perfectly located, just a few minutes stroll to Keswick town centre this B&B served as a perfect base for walks in the area. We walked up to Catbells and back (despite the weather conditions) and was great to get started with a full Cumbrian breakfast.

The owners were always very helpful and able to offer advice (even when our car broke down!).

Will be going back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in December and enjoyed every minute. The owners were really friendly and always had time for a chat, offered advice and make us feel so welcome. The breakfasts were excellent and filled you up for the day. The rooms were large, comfortable and very clean. There was a car park at the rear of the property which is a great bonus in Keswick and the shops and restaurants just a short stroll down the road. Brilliant break and will definately stay again and would certainly recommend this lovely B&B

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 552Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Lovely B&B, we returned for the second time and were met by a smiling Richard in the car park with an upgrade to the Suite on the top floor. Still a very snug and well equipped space with absolutely fantastic views from all sides. Breakfast was excellent, fabulous local sausage and fresh ingredients and plenty of it. Couldn't be more handy for the town and a bonus of a great wee well run car park, we shopped in the big local Christmassy market on the Saturday and just did a couple of drop offs to the car over the course of the day, couldn't be handier. Looking forward to next year already!

Room Tip: the suite has fantastic views and absolute privacy at the top of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archie503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the double room suite in the separate annex of the building (very convenient for easy access any time with our own key) for three nights and three tasty breakfasts, and really can't fault the experience at all.
The owners were really friendly and helpful with lots of advice and brochures for local goings-on.
The rooms were nicely decorated, very clean and stocked full of refreshments and a very comfy bed.
And lastly, the location was just what we wanted - easy walking distance to the Keswick's shops and restaurants, and of course the beautiful Derwentwater.
Had a lovely time, would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elfmedicine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.8 mi away
The Beeches Guest House
The Beeches Guest House
#39 of 196 in Keswick
297 reviews
0 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#61 of 196 in Keswick
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oakthwaite House
Oakthwaite House
#51 of 196 in Keswick
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 196 in Keswick
393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#12 of 196 in Keswick
375 reviews
1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndene Guest House

Address: Ambleside Road | 6 St. John's Terrace, Keswick CA12 4DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £74 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richard and Christine welcome you to Ferndene B&B Guest House - A contemporary family run guest house offering high standard, comfortable and friendly bed and breakfast accommodation in Keswick. Ferndene Guest House is quietly situated a short stroll from the centre of the beautiful market town of Keswick in the heart of the Lake District National Park We are the perfect base to enjoy the magnificent scenery whether you wish to walk, cycle and explore the huge range of outdoor activities available nearby or simply to relax in comfort and get away from it all for a relaxing or romantic break. Ferndene Guest House is a pleasant ten minute walk from the Derwentwater lakeshore with its stunning views, boating, lake steamers and the famous Theatre by the Lake. Our traditional Victorian guest house has been comprehensively refurbished while still retaining much of its original character and, with our modern Annexe conveniently located next to our car park (providing free off road parking), has been carefully decorated in a modern style throughout. Rooms in the main house offer magnificent views of the mountains, with our exclusive top floor Suite giving panoramic views over Keswick and the fells. After a restful night's sleep in one of our tastefully furnished bedrooms enjoy a relaxing start to the day with breakfast served in our comfortable dining room overlooking the garden and St. John's Church. Indulge yourself with the famous Ferndene Guest House cooked Cumbrian breakfast, selected from the best locally available and Fairtrade sources. A large selection of cereals, yoghurts, dried and fresh fruit, orange and apple juice (lighter options and vegetarian breakfast always available. Special diets catered for on request prior to arrival). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ferndene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferndene Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing