We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferndene Guest House
Ranked #40 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Another great stay”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Its always a pleasure to visit the ferndene. Chris and Richard are so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them to make your stay enjoyable. Stayed with family and had top suite and room 3,both with fantastic views and very comfortable. Good showers and comfy beds. Full english breakfast that keeps you going all day. Have already booked my next 3 visits. This b&b is my home from home in Keswick

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hullsuedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    17
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
199
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houghton le Spring
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed again with Richard and Christine for three nights over the Bank Holiday weekend. The welcome was consistent with our last visit and the accommodation first class. Richard's local knowledge of History and the Fell's is very good and very interesting. Christine's Cumbrian breakfasts are out of this world and I cannot speak highly enough of the setup. Our only gripe was that we could not stop for longer, but as Arnie Schwarzenegger said "I'll be back" or more aptly "we".

Room Tip: The annexe is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 787Darren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had an excellent five night stay over the august bank holiday. Richard and Christine were lovely, and so well informed about the local area. They are also knowledgeable about gluten free food and the breakfasts were fab. Our room and bathroom was spotless, really comfortable bed. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Owners waited for us until 11pm on a bank holiday weekend Friday to check in, unfortunately God, time and the m6 were against us. Lovely place full of history, the 1000's of people that have stayed there before give it a sense of occasion..

Small, cosy, and a great location being at the top of the high road. You could do better but it would be away from all the action of Keswick! Beds comfortable, room is small but cosy as mentioned.

Most recommended. Do go to the Dog and gun down the road for the goulash, and to see the myriad of 4 legged creatures that Keswick seems to enjoy. The markets in the square are on Thursday and Saturday, and probably more when the Bank holiday crowd turns up. 10 minute walk from the lake, and then a b road away from the other lakes Windmere Amblemere etc.

Check the weather make sure it is reasonable, and for Gods sake bring hiking boots, this is an adventure capital where hiking and dog walking is all you can do!
If you need brownie points with the significant other, this should put you back in the good books and out of the doghouse!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Located approx 5 mins from Keswick centre this is a real gem of a B and B and the pricing is also very good.
On arrival the owners are very welcoming and cant do enough to help if you need it. The B and B is spotlessly clean and well maintained. The bedroom was a good size, lovely comfortable bed, TV etc.. No disturbance from other guests soa good nights sleep was assured.
Breakfast, well, so much to choose from, but the full english really is a must...sets you up for the day.
Parking available to the rear of the building but limited. To the front of the B n B there is a nice patio area overlooking the church, nice place to wind down and relax on a pleasant evening.
I would recommend it to anyone.
Many thanks

Room Tip: Book early!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YOU-you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This B&B has two buildings, the main structure (on the street fronting the old church) and an annex building (over the garage) in the rear, which also fronts a narrow street. We stayed in the annex building. The bedroom was adequately sized and modern with windows for cross-ventilation (no AC). The bathroom was also adequately sized. No elevator. The breakfast was very good ... and our hosts were very hospitable with lots of good information. The walk to city center is short and easy along back streets ... and just a little further walk to the lake. Keswick is the place to stay for exploring the Lake District. The wifi signal was good. If we stayed in the main structure, I'd rate the B&B a 4 or 4+ ... but the annex structure a 3+ to 4. Private parking available next to the annex structure or on the street in front of the garage.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerPromise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The room was small (but it was described as so in the website), but spotlessly clean, recently decorated, with nice furniture and a modern bathroom. Breakfast was very nice too, and the owners very friendly.
Parking is a bit tight (cars are parked in two rows so you'll need to let the owners know if you expect to move your car during the day), but the location is excellent, just two minutes walk from the centre.
Why not five stars? I hate electric showers, and the one in the room, like all the ones I had the misfortune to use in the past, tends not to deliver water at a good pressure and at a constant temperature. Also, flushing anything more than a couple of sheets of toilet papers required several attempts; very annoying.
Apart from that, this B&B is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letspackandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.8 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#14 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.8 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#6 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brookfield B&B
Brookfield B&B
#16 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#46 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#12 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndene Guest House

Property: Ferndene Guest House
Address: Ambleside Road | Ambleside Road, Keswick CA12 4DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richard and Christine welcome you to Ferndene B&B Guest House - A contemporary family run guest house offering high standard, comfortable and friendly bed and breakfast accommodation in Keswick. Ferndene Guest House is quietly situated a short stroll from the centre of the beautiful market town of Keswick in the heart of the Lake District National Park We are the perfect base to enjoy the magnificent scenery whether you wish to walk, cycle and explore the huge range of outdoor activities available nearby or simply to relax in comfort and get away from it all for a relaxing or romantic break. Ferndene Guest House is a pleasant ten minute walk from the Derwentwater lakeshore with its stunning views, boating, lake steamers and the famous Theatre by the Lake. Our traditional Victorian guest house has been comprehensively refurbished while still retaining much of its original character and, with our modern Annexe conveniently located next to our car park (providing free off road parking), has been carefully decorated in a modern style throughout. Rooms in the main house offer magnificent views of the mountains, with our exclusive top floor Suite giving panoramic views over Keswick and the fells. After a restful night's sleep in one of our tastefully furnished bedrooms enjoy a relaxing start to the day with breakfast served in our comfortable dining room overlooking the garden and St. John's Church. Indulge yourself with the famous Ferndene Guest House cooked Cumbrian breakfast, selected from the best locally available and Fairtrade sources. A large selection of cereals, yoghurts, dried and fresh fruit, orange and apple juice (lighter options and vegetarian breakfast always available. Special diets catered for on request prior to arrival). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ferndene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferndene Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing