We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burleigh Mead Hotel
Ranked #120 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and we loved it. The room was clean and modern with amazing views. The breakfast was good and the owners were really friendly. During breakfast we had the table with the best view. The wifi is not really reliable. They offer a few parking spaces at the back of the hotel. Which is a good thing, as the parking in front of the hotel is very busy. The location is really good. I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wvdv88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Burleigh Mead Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

Unfortunately, we had to cancel our visit to the Burleigh Mead Hotel as we were involved in a very serious traffic accident. I wanted to write a review, however, because I was so touched that the owner, Gill Newton, followed up with us "out of the blue" a couple of months later just to see how we're doing and to wish us well. You certainly don't get that at a big hotel! I have to imagine that someone with that degree of care and concern would provide GREAT customer service. Thanks, Gill, for your concern. We are hoping to come back and will DEFINITELY stay at the Burleigh Mead Hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank geegeesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We loved the location and views from this B&B but were disappointed by the innkeeper's demeanor. She seemed irritated and impatient when asked for suggestions or directions. Perhaps she just had a few bad days while we were there, but innkeepers running a B&B are usually more sociable and accomodating to their guests. Though the rooms and breakfast were okay, equally nice B&Bs lined the streets, so we will try a different one next time.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank foofpoofkazzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We states for two nights in room6 top floor the room was clean and the bed was comfy.We was offered a hot drink upon arrival the full english breakfast was věry nice the burleigh mead is in a great location with great views.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjayne1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This is was our third stay, but we won't be going back. Having agreed a room with views over the park when we booked, on arrival we found ourselves in a rather cramped room at the back. Shower could have done with a clean, WiFi didn't work in our room. Felt really uncomfortable during our three nights and the huffing, puffing and sighing of the owner especially at breakfast added to the feeling. We asked for bacon and beans one morning and were told that wasn't possible, and yet beans on toast is on the menu! Such a shame as this B&B is in a prime location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank darleen548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We spent two nights here and enjoyed ourselves immensely. We had a huge room with a wonderful view of the lake and surrounding fells. The room was furnished nicely and everything was spotlessly clean. We were refreshed with a pot of tea upon our afternoon arrival and were made to feel most welcome. Wonderful breakfast, full English, and also other options. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The room was adequate although tiny. The weather was hot so Gil offered a fan which was most appreciated. Great breakfast and very accommodating service. The entire experience was very good. If you visit in the summer, be sure to catch one of the plays at nearby Lake Derwentwater.

Room Tip: Parking is a bit of a problem but once your parked, it is close enough to everything to walk. Great...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.6 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#11 of 17 in Keswick
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West View Guest House
West View Guest House
#69 of 189 in Keswick
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkfield Guest House
Parkfield Guest House
#26 of 189 in Keswick
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howe Keld
Howe Keld
#11 of 189 in Keswick
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burleigh Mead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burleigh Mead Hotel

Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — Burleigh Mead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Burleigh Mead Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing