We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for eat in fish & chips”
Review of Old Keswickian

Old Keswickian
Ranked #17 of 130 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for eat in fish & chips”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

For us fish & chips after a fellwalk is an essential part of the Lakes experience. It was Wainwright's favourite too so the precedent is strong! Is you want to eat in, this is Keswick's best. Not posh but lively and cheerful. It can get very bust at times. As with many chip shops the quality can vary a little depending on when you go and how freshly they have cooked, but the variation is always within the good to excellent range. A Keswick institution well worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gordon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    338
    95
    46
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fish & Chip Heaven”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Wow! I'm not a great fish & chips fan; if I get something I would usually choose a pie or even a sausage. The notice on the wall saying all the fish was skinless changed my mind this time. How glad I was. Crispy batter, soft delicious fish and some of the best chippie chips ever.

The queue, at nearly 11pm, was an indication of greatness and I wasn't disappointed.

Can't wait to get back to Keswick.

Yummy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmsterDaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

after reading some of the other reviews I was a little confused this place is absolutely lovely the staff the food everything . maybe some of the people that gave out bad reviews are confused about where they have been and are writing about the wrong place . as far as im concerned you cant go to keswick without going to the keswickian best place to be

Helpful?
1 Thank 79tasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best chips ever!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We've been using this chip shop for years - every time we visit Keswick we get chips from this chippy and stand in the market square enjoying! Nothing better on a cold day....or actually any day. Last time it was glorious sunshine and they tasted just as good. They are the best we've ever come across and would highly recommend to everyone visiting Keswick - get them on your way to the Lake or if you need to justify chips then get them on your way back from the Lake!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Never going back”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I have tried many chippys around the country over the last 50 odd years no matter how bad they were it has never made me want to go farther than just complain to the people im with . This place price , portions , taste they tick none of the boxes here its only location,location,location if your pound means more to you go to Gregs next door a tenner go way farther.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank MrGeorgeRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Keswickian also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Old Keswickian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing