We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal was lovely ...but !!!!”

Highfield Restaurant
Ranked #60 of 130 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meal was lovely ...but !!!!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The rooms were beautiful , food was absolutely delicious but female member of staff made a couple of rude comments to my partner whilst we were dining , not very professional !
The service by other staff members was exceptional and faultless

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    21
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well set for 2014”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My wife and I visited on 31st January, the first day of service after the low season. The food was excellent. Service was slightly too attentive for our liking, but others would find it reassuring. If you want a high quality meal in Keswick, think slightly outside the town centre for this hotel restaurant. We were staying in a B&B.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wirralians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Gem in The Lakes”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Our host at the B&B down the road recommended this as somewhere a little more special. And WOW was it! From the moment we walked in we were treated like royalty. We had drinks and canapes in one of the lounges while we looked at the menu and made our choices. My wife wanted the salmon but not with what it came on the menu. No problem - chef would do something specially for her. And so it went on: delightful food, attentive service, good selection of wines ( we had the Villalta Valpolicella Ripasso - great wine and great value ). A very special meal. Shame we live 300 miles away.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great meal once again”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

we stayed in keswick recently and booked the highfield again for what would be our fifth visit and it did not dissapoint,the food again was superb,the staff were excellent especially the gentleman who greeted us,and all i can say is when in keswick if you want fine dining you will struggle to find a better restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phil047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halfmoon Bay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing top notch experience...”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We dined here on our first night in Keswick. The reservation had been made for us by our B and B host down the road. It was as close to perfection as we had on our whole Trip. The service was impeccable and the presentation of the meal was exceptional too. The quality of the food lived up to the visual impression. It was a delight to have our appies in one room, go to the dining table for the mains and then take dessert and coffees in another area. We never felt rushed and simply proceeded with a fantastic meal at a nice leisurely pace. The wait staff are very well trained and not overbearing at any time.
The wine selected was equally as impressive as the meal and all in all it was a top notch experience in a place that we hadn't known existed before we went there. Even the loan of umbrellas for our walk back was most appreciated.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highfield Restaurant also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Highfield Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing