We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, modern restaurant and excellent food”
Review of A Different Taste - CLOSED

A Different Taste
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stylish, modern restaurant and excellent food”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This small restaurant has a fresh feel to it with smart furniture and table lamps. The staff are great and will ensure a great experience. We ate some excellent main dishes and puddings. A real find and not to be missed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob from Roches... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    70
    26
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Relaxed dinning”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The food was delicious, wasn't too busy, service was a tad slow but not anything to complain about or stop us revisiting! They were very happy to swap mash on my meal for potatoes without any fuss. Would recommend for a relaxed dining experience with good food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rebeccacharnley88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lucky find”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Spending a few nights in Keswick and would usually try to eat somewhere new each night. We tried A Different Taste on the first night and the food and service were excellent. We came back to try different dishes on our last night and were similarly impressed. The restaurant became busier later in the evenings and I would recommend booking just to ensure a table.
Excellent service, delicious food and good value for money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Charged more than stated on menu, clumsy service”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Firstly, the place has quite a nice look and atmosphere about it, and we managed to get a table at short notice which was good. The table we were given was wobbly, and no attempts were made y staff to rectify this in any way even after it was bought to their attention. (I'm not expecting flawless furniture but folding up a piece of paper to put underneath isn't that hard!)

The staff were friendly but clumsy and when asking about the flavour of certain drinks and dishes appeared to be guessing everything instead of having any knowledge or checking with somebody else. Items were put on the bill at more than stated on menu, probably out of the same clumsiness.

The food itself was average. Starters were ok but a little bland and unimaginative. My main course (vegetarian stroganoff) was also hit and miss- the stroganoff itself was actually very flavourful, but the accompanying rice was dry and tasted like packet food, and side vegetables weren't a whole lot better. Overall it was ok.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Asha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girvan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A WEE HIDDEN GEM”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This restaurant is faultless, I took my husband here for his birthday,
We did book it because it is a small restaurant.
The food was amazing and the staff are such good workers nothing was too
much bother to the 2 girls that were ran off their feet
The prices are very good we had 3 courses, a bottle of wine and a beer
£62.00 it was treat….Yummy !!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bookie149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Different Taste also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing