We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb customer service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Babbling Brook Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Ranked #34 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Babbling Brook over Easter. Don't be put off by the fact it was once a shop, the rooms have been very nicely renovated. Your host Paul is a font of knowledge with regard to all types of sporting activities. I mentioned that I didn't eat egg whites, but liked scrambled egg yolks, and that I preferred Earl Grey tea to ordinary tea - both were available for me the next morning - well done!

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the mountains, but if you want a quieter room go for one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brownbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    33
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
111
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for three cosy nights and had such a lovely time, we were sad to leave.

The warm welcome, flexibility over things like check in times and dietary requirements (we are veggie/vegan) were much appreciated.

The location is perfect, as all Keswick has to offer is a stone's throw away, as are those enticing mountains, which can be seen from the bedrooms and dining room!

I'm looking forward to our next visit :)

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KateSteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

we stayed overnight in the Babbling Brook and it really is just about four minutes walk from the town centre which is excellent. The host Paul is the sort of host that all Bed and Breakfast establishments should have, warm, engaging and charming and nothing was a trouble for him, he suggested three places to eat that night and we ended up at the curry house he had recommended and he also told us how to get a 30% discount on the meal!
the room we stayed in was at the top of the house with views to the hills, it was cosy and comfortable.
the breakfast was delicious especially the sausages. all in all i would recommend this to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Keswick the parking was good as well. very enjoyable stay. And on a final note we were in a room at the front and didnt notice any traffic noise at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sootyandpebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Stayed a night with my husband during the Keswick Convention, and everything was ok. Just that, ok. Nothing wonderful, just ok. The coffee at breakfast was instant - which I dislike - and the room wasn't very quiet as it faced the busy road. Otherwise it was very clean and the price competitive for high season. Won't be going back, though.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducklet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Lovely greeting from very friendly host, we arrived at 12 and were able to check in early which was excellent. Our host took time to advise us of nice walks in the area and ask if we had anywhere booked for tea (which we did have) as he had recommendations of where we could go. The room was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated with a superb view of the hills and the river. Very comfy bed and all the facilities you could need for a pleasant stay. Breakfast the next morning was excellent, all fresh local produce cooked to order, and the host's "Velcro" dog who we got to meet and make a fuss of was beautiful! Our only regret was just booking one night! We will be back :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyL9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

The host was incredibly welcoming and helpful in every way - from recommending places to eat, to giving directions, to helping plan a fantastic walk for the next day! We turned up quite late and out of the blue on a Saturday evening, yet the welcome could not have been warmer. As for the room - it was a generous size, decor was modern and bed was comfy, there was a TV and kettle with plenty of tea and coffee. The breakfast was very nice, and the food was good quality as well as generous! We arrived there after dark, and so I had such a great surprise in the morning when I opened the curtains to see the view of the mountains and river - that was a treat!! Paul - if you read this, we had a great time heading out towards Gable, (Sprinkling Tarn was frozen solid!) and we hope to come back again some time.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Babbling Brook in January this year. We were looking for a cheap but nice room in Keswick. The Babbling Brook was lovely inside and out and we were greeted by the owner, Paul, who was a very genuine and friendly person. Our room was cosy, clean and the bed was very comfortable! The breakfast in the morning was great and the B&B was right next to the town. We couldn't have asked for more. We had no criticisms at all and left very happy. We are a young couple but I would recommend this B&B to anyone of any age. Highly recommended for the friendly, comfortable atmosphere and the lovely B&B overall! Perfect. Thank you Paul!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Rickerby Grange
Rickerby Grange
#6 of 9 in Portinscale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#64 of 177 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hall Garth Guest House
Hall Garth Guest House
#62 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
6.8 mi away
Lane Head Farm Country Guest House
0.2 mi away
Hunters Way
Hunters Way
#135 of 177 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babbling Brook Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babbling Brook Guesthouse

Property: Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Address: 1 Wordsworth Street, Keswick CA12 4HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Babbling Brook Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Guesthouse in the Lake District having quality beds and offering superb breakfasts to set you up for the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Babbling Brook Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babbling Brook Guesthouse Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing