We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall a pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Ranked #34 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Overall a pleasant stay”
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We enjoyed our 2 night stay in Babbling Brook room 6 (2nd floor). Highlights were the cleanliness of the room and guesthouse itself, the friendly and welcoming attitude of the owners Paul and Angela, and the substantial breakfast. Also there is no parking available, you have to find space on the street which can be difficult.

Some things that might annoy some (but we weren't bothered by) were the size of the room and ensuite (both small and shower not very powerful), the noise outside as it is next to a main road (on the first night we were woken by a drunken yob shouting on his way home), the fact that they only accept cash not cards, and the blinds being quite thin so light sleepers might be woken by that. Like I say, this did not bother us hugely and we would definitely stay there again. It is perfect for walkers, especially as the breakfast is good and sets you up for the day.

A tip if you're thinking of booking- you can get cheaper rates by phoning them directly (number on website or google it). We booked through laterooms but found out we could have got a cheaper deal.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley-wayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    34
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
115
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

We only saw Paul but he was friendly and helpful and went beyond normal limits to help us out. Room was small but clean and tidy and everything worked. Breakfast was good (even catered for vegetarian and lactose free diet) and there was plenty of it. We'll be going back again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurhamCouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We were pleasantly surprised with how clean & friendly the hotel is.
I was very pleased with the Vegetarian breakfast, and friendly atmosphere.
The only thing I would say, is that we were right on the main road, and had traffic noise all night, Blackout curtains would also have helped with the car lights shining in the room. Other than that, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay & would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnybirdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes,East Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2009

It was lovely to arrive and know immediatly you stepped through the door everything was going to be clean (very important for me) The owners were very friendly and helpful. The room (No 6) was quite adequate with a small en-suite. There was some traffic noise through the night but it was a saturday and i had the window open. The breakfast was delicious. All in all a very pleasant stay if only for 1 night. As we were leaving we were asked if we wanted any fruit for the journey,just little things that make this place so nice. Thank you both

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consett, Co Durham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

My husband and I stayed at The Babbling Brook with my son who was aged 3 yrs old at the time. We were greeted by Paul and Angie (who were so friendly) and they made us feel welcome and at home straight away. Paul has a vast knowlege of the area and hills etc.
The breakfast Angie served was second to none and nothing was too much trouble - everything was freshly cooked and locally sourced produce made this a very tasty breakfast. You help yourself to tea, coffee, cereals and toast which we thought was a great idea as then there is very little waste.
Rooms are very comfortable and the beds are so comfy that you have a good nights sleep.
I would certainly recommend this B & B to our family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.5 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#73 of 175 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rickerby Grange
Rickerby Grange
#7 of 9 in Portinscale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hall Garth Guest House
Hall Garth Guest House
#63 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#62 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lane Head Farm Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babbling Brook Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babbling Brook Guesthouse

Property: Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Address: 1 Wordsworth Street, Keswick CA12 4HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Babbling Brook Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Guesthouse in the Lake District having quality beds and offering superb breakfasts to set you up for the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Babbling Brook Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babbling Brook Guesthouse Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing