We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accommodation for walkers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
Ranked #66 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Perfect accommodation for walkers”
Reviewed 5 June 2012 via mobile

Friendly service, clean and comfortable rooms and herty breakfasts and convenient locationmake Lynwood perfect for walkers

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eugene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    19
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
116
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warton Preston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed at the Lynwood, over the 4 day Jubilee Weekend, taking in the Keswick Beer Festival like we have done for the last 3 years,stopped in room 6 which is light and airey, usual subtle touches like a bottle opener/corkscrew, and a bottle of water provided each day. Provided me with my vegetarian breakfast, which Melissa had remembered her about. Much give a MASSIVE thank you to Melissa dor helping out with the suprise for Hilary, my wife...Already booked for next years Beer Festival weekend and might even try New Year up thefre as well...Keep up the good work Paul and Melissam, from Mike and Hilary.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheShuttleKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is a small B&B with only 6 rooms. After 10miles walk in the Lake District, the lady owner told us there was no twin room available as our request on my reservation and there was only a double room left. This made our stay was not perfect. However, she didn't deny it's her mistake that she forgot to write down our requirements on the book. I do appreciate her honesty and effort to solve the problem by adding a single bed in our room.

The beds and bathroom were very clean. Also, the hotel is maintained in a good condition. The phone, TV and Internet receptions are bad but I think the problem may be the area and nothing the owners can do.

In addition, I should highlight the excellent service from Mr. owner when he served our breakfast in the morning. Everything served hot and freshly prepared. Apart from the traditional English breakfast, they also served some fresh fruit which you should not miss. Definitely recommend this place and I will visit again for my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leanne0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Lynwood is highly recommended for the location (5 min walk into Keswick town) but in a nice quite side street, the rooms are clean and tidy and the house is in a very well kept manner. I stayed in room 5 and the view across to Skiddaw was stunning. Breakfast is varied and plentiful and caters for just about everyone, but the highlight of Lynwood are the owners Paul & Melissa, they are both really friendly and helpful and have a good sense of humor along with a good knowledge of the fell walks / climbs to be had locally. There are many guest houses to choose from in Keswick but I would highly recommend this one for a comfortable stay in the Northern Lakes.

Room Tip: Room 5, overlooking Skiddaw & Blencathra (Shower room slightly small)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emu72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Some friends and i stayed at Lynwood B&B over the last weekend in May. Perfect location, about 5 mins walk from the main square in Keswick. The view from my room window was stunning. We were greeted by the owners Paul and Melissa (hope i got the names right), who were friendly, helpful and always happy. The rooms were nicely decorated, very clean, and the bathroom was modern and again, very clean. Breakfast was great, lots of choices and filling. Overall....excellent. If you feel the urge to go to the Lake District anytime soon, then you don't need to look any further than this place. Dog friendly too......
See you again soon

Room Tip: Room 5 (my room) had a stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay, close to town (10 min walk).. Service was good and friendly rooms were clean and spacious. Only downside was that we had issues connecting to the wifi but apart from that we enjoyed our stay very much

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SXW29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Having been before approximately 3 years ago, Lynwood had changed ownership since our last visit. However there is no need to worry, as the excellent standards of before have been maintained by Paul and Melissa. The rooms are very clean and comfortable , the breakfast excellent. Being a dog owner, it is nice to know there are dog friendly places to stay of this high standard.
Paul and Melissa are very friendly people who try to do their best to make your stay enjoyable.
The location is excellent, being only a short walk into the town centre and with many walks on the doorstep you can leave your car for the whole holiday if desired.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this as a place to stay in Keswick and hope to go again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Littlefield Guesthouse
Littlefield Guesthouse
#94 of 175 in Keswick
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#41 of 175 in Keswick
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#54 of 175 in Keswick
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tarn Hows Guest House
Tarn Hows Guest House
#82 of 175 in Keswick
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#48 of 175 in Keswick
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ferndene Guest House
Ferndene Guest House
#40 of 175 in Keswick
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynwood Guesthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynwood Guesthouse B&B

Property: Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
Address: 12 Ambleside Road, Keswick CA12 4DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A large Victorian property in a quiet location but with easy access to all that Keswick has to offer. The Town Centre with all its restaurants and pubs are only a five minute stroll away and Derwentwater and the Theatre by the Lake is ten minutes away. All of our rooms have ensuites which have recently been updated. The rooms are large and other than one all have views of Keswick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lynwood Guesthouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing