We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place To Stay”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
George Hotel
Ranked #70 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place To Stay”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

My husband and I spent a week at the Goerge. It was fanastic. Everything was exceptional and I cannot praise the staff enough. From the cleaning to the food it was top class. One of the best holidays weve had. Didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: The rooms were very spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayReviewSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    80
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
45
112
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Came home Monday from a weekend at the George in Keswick staff very helpful and friendly, the breakfast was outstanding plenty of it I got the full Cumbrian both mornings and that was me full for the day, and im a bit of a fat lad.

The wife had the full breakfast first morning but second chose the continental, which was ham with an assortments of cheeses with ripe tomatoes and a touch of salad, also juice and cereals and fresh fruit, could not fault it one bit.

The evening meal was the same, quality produce and if you like fish the chefs special lemon sole was the best I have tasted.

Or room was a double on the first floor and was comfortable not the biggest I have stopped in but enough room to get about, canny on suite shower, not enough shelve space and room to hang towels but just very minor things.

One thing I did-not like was the beds were not made from the night before and no one had been in to clean our room while we were out for the day.

Overall a very pleasant stay and the weather was scorching, which is a major plus in the lakes.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moe149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

I haven't stayed here but as others have don, I just wanted comment on the food.

I have eaten here several times, and on each occassion after a long walk my friends and I visit here for the famous cow pie challenge. It is absolutely massive and a really challenge. It is of good quality and very reasonably priced. I've managed to finish the pie on one occassion. Well worth a visit for the challenge.

Service has always been good.

Sorry I can't help in relation to the hotel.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jimbob317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We have stayed at The George now on numerous occasions over the last two years and it is a place we will continue to visit as regularly as we can.
We have visited both as a couple with freinds and I personally stay here when I have work to do in the Cumbria area, never have I been able to fault it in any way.
The staff have always been friendly and helpful as well as attentive, the locals actually recommended it to me on my first stay in Keswick (at another hotel for work purposes) when I went on my scouting mission of the pubs and accomodation in the town, and it was the only place where the locals did make me feel very welcome when I enquired about the accomodation making me want to stay here all the more and now we know why.
The food is excellent with very generous portions I have tired and been unable to finish the famous half cow pie - did not need a starter of desert, have also tried several of the other offerings on the menu over time and have never been dissapointed. and I like my food! Breakfast is always good and food is locally sourced.
The rooms in my opinion are well appointed and always clean and well presented, the beds very comfortable, large towels which we like and some toiletries provided.
Now free wi fi is available to guests - have not tried this as we have our own mobile internet access and although parking is limited at the back of the pub they now provide parking permits for the local car parks - a refundable deposit of £20 get a car park pass.
We have recommended this place to all our friends, some of whom have stayed here as well as others we see on a regular basis and have also stayed here with some of our friends and family, not one of whom has had a bad word to say about the place! Many have gone back for a second visit on thier own or with their own family and friends and continue to recommend the virtues of this old coaching inn.
Traffic noise is minimal - what do you expect with a building of this age with sash windows? The pub is locked each night at 11.30 and we have never experienced any noise from residents etc after this time.
We as a couple, a family and I as a lone female traveller who appreciates the security and confort this place offers without the need for overnight staff will continue to holiday here and visit when working for as long as we can.

Room Tip: Book direct with the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

stopped at the george fantastic been to keswick many times had at great time at the george the food is great the staff very freindly will go again and again

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcwholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Good Things: this is a really lovely 300 year old pub with old wobbly floors etc, fanastic location in the middle of Keswick, our room (number 6) was nicely decorated and well appointed. The bed was large, clean and comfortable. It was easy to control the room temperature. The towels were thick and large. We got one of the few carpark spaces in the pub carpark. Lovely breakfast on our first morning, good dinner on our first night, lovely female staff.

Not-So-Good Things: one rating star lost for a very shabby bathroom, quite out of keeping with the rest of room 6, needs completely gutting (generally clean enough to use, but not £100 a night standard), no hooks or rails in the room not even for towels. Another star lost for variable food (revolting "vegetarian sausage" which was a soggy potato croquette with peas and carrots in it, and "Boston Beef" so vinegary as to be inedible, no wifi for guests in an area with rubbish mobile phone signals, and some of the male staff were very surly.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalamityJaneUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the george. we had booked at another hotel but was put off by the reviews, glad we were, this is a little gem, not the poshes, but old fashioned quaint. Staff very friendly and helpful, food very good (and huge portions) The rooms are warm and spotless, and the bathroom was massive, the water was red hot every evening and morning. Do agree with a previous review that the noise from outside can be a little loud, but didnt keep us awake.
The pub is always busy at night and used by locals and guests alike, will be back again at some time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianspoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
607 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak at Keswick
The Royal Oak at Keswick
#61 of 173 in Keswick
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Property: George Hotel
Address: 3 St. Johns Street | 3, Keswick CA12 5AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing