We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cow Pie spectacular”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
George Hotel
Ranked #65 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Cow Pie spectacular”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

A Family of 9 of us went to the George on Thursday night and I was brave enough to tackle the Cow pie, this is a huge portion of lovely tender home cooked beef in short crust pastry. The others had duck, half a portion of chicken pie chicken wings and onion rings, noodles and chicken and chicken with a Jack Daniels glaze. All were served fresh and hot by polite and professional staff. Yes I did eat the whole Cow Pie with chips and veg and a sweet on top. Most of us had sweets which were home made and delicious All the meals were very good and everyone had a great time. One tip is to book in advance as they get very busy, and listen to the staff when they advise you to have half a portion of pie!
Many thanks to all staff we will be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBsTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    80
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
46
112
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed for one night at the end of July. Room was small but not cramped, bathroom was spacious just a shame there was no bath. The room was comfortable, but unfortunately we were woken at 1am from street noise and at 4.30am by beer deliveries. If you asked for a room away from the street, it would be a near-perfect experience. Staff were friendly and happy to help, especially with parking. Breakfast was delicious. Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxed and comfortable stay very near the town centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJC2426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at the end of July and cannot fault it. Excellent location in the centre of Keswick and parking not a problem as you are given a parking permit which is a major attraction for any central Keswick Hotel. Nice clean room, with a few creeks but this goes with the age of the Inn, but above all a superb breakfast which keeps you going on a long day out - will stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor at the front but found the window quite low down, so felt a bit on vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed for three nights earlier this month. Parking is not good, we got a space on arrival and didn't use the car for a day and a half but once we moved it off the car park we had to use the pay and display around the corner and keep feeding the machines. The hotel is nicely located, the food is good, the staff and service are mostly brusque but they get the job done, not exactly service with a smile. We didn't ask for a room with a bath, it never occured to me that I'd have to consequently we had a shower cubicle in the corner of our bathroom, not the same as a long hot soak after a day out walking. For these reasons I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Do they have baths?? Probably best to check if you would like one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepperpig1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed at the George for the Keswick convention , when we got there the staff were fantastic nothing was to much trouble,the room we had was Brill. very big very very clean the staff even helped with taking the cases upstairs. The food was good with a great breakfast, apart from burnt Yorkshire puds on the Sunday,I cannot fault it.

Room Tip: ask for a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0njan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The first thing you notice about The George Hotel is the smell of beer. It makes for a good old fashioned local rather than trying to be a wine bar or gastro pub. Didn't eat there so can't comment on food but the place was full on Friday & Saturday night. If you are planning to use the car park be prepared for a disappointment. You'll need luck to find space, the car park is shared with several other buildings and there's only about 12 spaces. There is a long stay car park a couple of minutes walk away.The hotel is at the top of the High Street and a 10 minute walk from the lake

We had room 9 on the second floor. Good sized room with 1 double & 1 single. Basic bathroom, machinator toilet and a dribble of a shower. That's the good news. In the 3 nights we stayed the towns party crowd kept us awake till 2.30. The room is double aspect so you you are on the return route for the town's pubs and club. Friday morning we were woken at 7 by a beer delivery. Friday morning at 5.15 by the setting up of the market stalls in town. Thankfully Sunday morning seems to be OK. To be fair the six friends we were with all had rooms on the other side of the hotel and had no noise issues. Unless you sleep like the dead ask for a room away from the street. The lights fused on the last night to add to the fun.

The bed was made everyday but the bathroom wasn't cleaned and the waste baskets weren't emptied. Customer relations are brusque. The hotel lacks warmth in it's care of the guests. Bar one waitress the staff are all male and it is run like a no nonsense pub. Two of our friends walked back into the pub with the remnants of a Costa coffee and were told to go finish them outside as they sold coffee and we hadn't bought theirs.

Do not think about coming down to breakfast a second after 9.30 if you want to eat anything hot. Again being fair the cooked breakfast was good but on the last morning we came down at 9.33, asked for 2 fried eggs and were told we were too late. They were already clearing the decks.

I wouldn't go back. It claims to be a 4 star hotel but it's a two star at best.

Room Tip: Don't have a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atkins888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

A truly great choice of accommodation in Keswick. Perched at the top of the High Street the George is ideal for a stroll in the town, or as a base for visiting the wider Lake District. The rooms were large and very pleasant, but the place comes in to it's own in the food and drink department. A great bar downstairs (the oldest in the town I believe) is cosy and friendly, and serves a wide range of drinks. The breakfast was a delight too, good range of food and very tasty fry-ups available.
We ate dinner in the restaurant one of the two nights we stayed, and following many previous reviews I went for a half-sized cow pie. My fellow reviewers have not exaggerated the size of this beast! I have a ferocious appetite and I was absolutely stuffed after this. The couple on the table next to us told us that with wide-eyed wonder about the time they saw someone complete the full-sized pie. It's made with 2 1/2 pounds of meat! The pie not only looked like a royal banquet, but it tasted excellent and was great value for money.

If we return to Keswick this will be the first place we check availability for.

Room Tip: Room 9 is a large room with a window that lets you look down the High Street. Recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary_The_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
626 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
202 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak at Keswick
The Royal Oak at Keswick
#66 of 173 in Keswick
605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#39 of 173 in Keswick
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Property: George Hotel
Address: 3 St. Johns Street | 3, Keswick CA12 5AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing