We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic cowpie!!!”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
George Hotel
Ranked #70 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic cowpie!!!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just back from a short break to Keswick. Called into the George Hotel after a days walking. Decided to have the half portion of cow pie (pleased I didn't plump for the full portion as couldn't finish the half portion I was so full). Just in case you are wondering cow pie is a pie crammed full of tender steak. Absolutely delicious. My friend plumped for the chicken version and declared it "amazing" If you are in Keswick I highly recommend popping in for a bar meal. Plenty to choose from and a full gluten free menu too.

Thanks to Craig and his staff. We shall be back!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claireabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    80
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
45
112
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Have just returned from a 3night stay at the George. We were a group of 4 couples on a 3 day walking reunion and 3 couples had very nice spacious rooms with bathrooms, all very nice but unfortunately we where given Room 5 at the back of the hotel which was smaller and extremely uncomfortably hot because it was over the boiler room and kitchens. We had an electric fan which was not adequate to control temperature. We did not have bath and the toilet had a plastic seat which eventually collapsed as it had been glued in place. We were charged the same rate as our friends but sadly our stay was not 4star!

We ate in the restaurant on the first and last night. Sadly on our last night we were shocked to witness a couple refused their table because they arrived late. They had two small children in a push chair and the mother had two walking sticks and obviously disabled. There were plenty tables available and sadly we were shocked at the treatment they were given.

I will not recommend the George based on my experience. Keswick is a lovely town with lots of nice shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Request one at front with bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
george h, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We are also disappointed !

That Margo L did not enjoy her experience at The George. We our proud of the fact we have many guests who return time after time and recommend us to friends and family. We set ourselves very high standards in the delivery of customer service and clearly have not delivered them on this occasion.

I would like to give a balanced view on how the management team reacted to Margo L’s complaint of the room being too warm. At no point did Margo L mention during her stay that she felt the room was to small. Room 5 is one of our standard double rooms with more than adequate space in the room, it is not the largest room that we offer. Room 5 is also not situated over the kitchen or over the boiler room.

1, When Margo L mentioned she felt the room was to warm she was offered at once a complementary upgrade to our sister hotel in Keswick which is only 5 minutes walk from The George. We could not offer an alternative room in The George as the hotel was fully booked at that time. This offer was declined as she was with a group of friends, which is understandable.

2, To resolve the immediate issue of Margo L feeling the room was to warm. The hotel offered a mobile air conditioning unit for the room to ensure the Margo L was comfortable. The weather in Keswick was extremely warm at this time. This offer was also declined.

3, During the period of her 3 day stay other rooms did become available in the hotel and again Margo L was offered the opportunity to move rooms. Again this offer was declined.

At no point during her stay did Margo L make any comments or complaints about the size of the room. The matter was only mentioned on checking out of the hotel.

The comment regarding the toilet seat being glued is totally untrue. The toilet seat had become loose at the fixings / hinges this issue could have been fixed immediately had it been reported during her stay.




Margo L’s perception and her report of the situation that took place in the restaurant needs clarification. The party of four concerned had made a table reservation in the restaurant but they failed to arrive at the allotted time and turned up over one hour late. No contact was made with the hotel to advise they were running late.

Our restaurant was fully booked that evening and demand for tables was very high with people waiting in the bar area for tables to become available. Hence the table in question was given over to other customers. The party of four who had reserved a table and turned up over one hour late demanded a table immediately. They were advised that due to not showing up for the table at the agreed time and that we had held the table for over half an hour the table in question had been given to other diners. The party concerned were offered another table and advised it would be a wait of circa half an hour before another table would be available. That offer was declined by the group and they left the premises. The comment that other tables were available at that time was due to the fact they had also been reserved for other diners and were awaiting for those guests to arrive.

We do take customer service and the comfort of all our guests very seriously indeed and is our number one priority. We firmly believe we tried to do all we possibly could in the circumstances to resolve the situation of the room being too warm for Margo L. It is clear from the report on Trip Advisor that she feels we have fallen short on customer service on this occasion.

Ps, The rest of the group on checking out of the hotel were very complementary of their stay at The George Hotel!

Craig Marsh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Have stayed here years ago ( before I used trip advisor) and called in for lunch the other day . Not disappointed . Hearty food from a varied menu . Delicious.
But the best bit was there was a lovely dog free room ( only knew as someone with a dog tried to access it) maybe promote this a bit more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RioSriOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Been to The George Hotel many times as a visitor to the excellent bar, and frequenting the restaurant from time to time, but never had I stopped, until now. Three nights bed and breakfast.
Lovely large, clean and tastefully decorated double room with spacious bathroom. Very comfy bed. A nice touch was the shampoo / shower gel dispenser in the shower cubicle instead of the usual fiddly little bottles you get elsewhere. My room was facing St John's Street, which was a bit noisy first thing on a morning (not the Hotel's fault!) especially when the council collects the glass for recycling at 06:57!!! Smashing job, lads.
That said, the breakfast in the dining room was really nice, many hotels serve in really hot and stuffy environments but not here. Delicious black pudding and light tasty scrambled egg, along with Cumberland sausage, mushrooms, fried slice, bacon and beans (you can also have tomato and potato with your Full English, but I chose not to). Piping hot tea and good service.
It has to be said that the staff at "The George" are all very efficient and friendly.
I shall certainly be back to stay, if there's room; but if not I'll still be visiting for a Jennings "Viagra" or other tasty tipple!
There's a loyalty card for accommodation and food, but not, unfortunately, behind the bar! On checking out I forgot to hand over my card...Duh!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoomTriker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Didn't stay in the hotel but went there for food every day. My goodness, was it good! I must say that the staff were very good at their jobs, were very proactive and it actually felt like they enjoyed working there. They were very friendly at the same time and looked after me and my two friends extremely well. I am a Coeliac and so needed to eat Gluten Free - this they coped with with ease! A complete gluten free menu (which included items battered - much to my delight) and a kitchen that knew all about how to deal with it in every way. A complete weight off my mind and food to die for! Thank you all for a wonderful experience :-).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We thought we had the deal covering the evening meal when we booked, but found it had finished a month before we arrived. Also, they put two people using walking sticks on the top floor and no lift or help with bags, and I had to go down and fetch toilet rolls. Room was comfortable and generally quiet. Very little parking, but they give you a permit for public carpark 5 minutes walk away.
Food was excellent in quality and quantity, both for breakfast and evening meals. Only try half a cow pie if you are really hungery - it was huge! Don't see how anyone could eat a whole portion. Wide range of real Cumbrian ales, plus a few others. Bar area was packed from late afternoon onwards, and the restaurant fully booked unless you are very lucky. Service in restauant very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Upper floors are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Didn't stay in the Hotel but ate twice there in the week we were up and on both occasions had a great meal and excellent wine/beer.
Warm, cosy feel in low beamed rooms as you enter and feel the heat from the coal fires. Small but efficiently run bar with knowledgable staff guiding you through the selection of beers on offer. Bar usually busy and thats a good sign!
Restaurant wasn't cheap but you got plenty of good food served on hot plates. Lots of choice but beware of having the full pie - it is enormous even after a day on the fells. Staff always on hand and courteous. Thoroughly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PaulBYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
608 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak at Keswick
The Royal Oak at Keswick
#61 of 173 in Keswick
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Property: George Hotel
Address: 3 St. Johns Street | 3, Keswick CA12 5AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing