We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice clean hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
George Hotel
Ranked #57 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
washington uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice clean hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

stayed at the george hotel.clean rooms,staff great.breakfast very nice this was our 3rd time stayed here.we will go back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimWashingtonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    77
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
39
105
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

Didn't stay at this hotel but dined in the restaraunt on three occasions,the food was first class,ample portions especially the Cow Pie,worth the challenge.The saff were on the ball at all times and friendly,if in Keswick well worth a visit

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

We were recommended this hotel after being turned away from another that was fully booked, and Im glad we took him up on his suggestion. We initially planned to camp in Keswick but everwhere was fully booked due to an event, but Im very glad I got to stay at the George, I will definatley go back!
Initial reaction was not great to be honest, comes across as a bit dark and old, with reception being a hatch doorway into a poky office. The girl was quite abrupt really and insisted she finished doing what she was doing before helping us. When given the room key etc she rattled off the familiarities in a very bored and slightly annoyed tone, gave us he keys and showed us the car park - then went off to pet someones dog and let us try to find our room ourselves. She just said 'yeah up there'. Not helpful at all!
She also insisted we book to eat in the restaurant, I said we had only just got to Keswick and wanted to loo around first, to which we got quite a sharp reply insisting the George restaurant is THE BEST in Keswick unless all you want is Indian or Chinese.
We didn't book, but did come back and were really lucky to geth the last table for 2, after us they were turning people away. The restaurant was very busy, the menu was fab and all the meals looked delicious. The staff were efficient, friendly and very helpful.
I had duck breast but my Husband had their famous cow pie and it was ENORMOUS! The meat was very tender and tasty but the portion was massive! Definatley not for the faint hearted.
I loved the location of the hotel, the parking facility was excellent, the room was spotless and spacious. I will definatley stay here again without a scond thought.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therasaHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

We did not stay at this hotel but we did have an evening meal here.We went for a drink the night before and saw them turning diners away they were so busy, so we booked for the next night. We had heard about their famous COW PIE so we both had a half portion at just under £10. each.It is excellent value for money as it was massive, i dont know who could eat a full portion, it was packed with large chunks of melt in the mouth beef with jellied gravy about 2.5" thick. We saw people eating the fish and chips or should i say whale and chips. We would definately return for another meal here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linzie-Howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

Have stayed in the George before and enjoyed the stay and especially the food - but this time the food was BAD. When asked why we were told they had changed their suppliers. This reflected in the quality of the food. I understood that they used Woodall's of Waberthwiate before and then the food was of a high quality - especially the belly pork but now it was very inferior. In future we will look elsewhere to eat and would not recommend it to anyone.
John

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RW123187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

Hotel with plenty of character, with central location in Keswick. Food and service were OK (we only sampled breakfast) We thought that it was overpriced in view of the scabby TV in our room, no bath, no hairdryer. However, overall fine for a short weekend break.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janrockchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

our stay at the George was very pleasant. The service was very good , room was spacious and very clean,breakfast was excellent nice to be served at the table. The restaurant meals were excellent. The position of the hotel was central without being too rowdy. We parked the car and did not move it for the three days plenty to do in Keswick. Take a walk to castle head about 20 mins from the hotel What a veiw for only a little effort.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordshireKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak at Keswick
The Royal Oak at Keswick
#47 of 177 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#20 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Property: George Hotel
Address: 3 St. Johns Street | 3, Keswick CA12 5AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing