We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Salisbury Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Ravenstone Manor Hotel(Bassenthwaite)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Pheasant Inn(Bassenthwaite)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
US$303
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
284
11
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
284
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbooks and dvdshost peterlake districtguest househis knowledgelocal areaan excellent hostearly checkuseful tipsfirst classlocal walksminute walk to the centrewalking routesbreakfast was excellentbreakfast tablea lovely stayfeel very welcome
Filter
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had two nights here at the beginning of September. We found the whole property spotlessly clean and everything neatly and tidily in its place. The welcome on arrival was first class and definitely focused on our needs not the owners'. Our bed was comfortable and breakfast was served with a smile and just the right amount of interest in what we were going to do for the day. Our fellow guests - family members and friends - were equally impressed, especially by the offer of a bespoke breakfast for the athletes in the party at a time when the rest of us were still in dreamland!

Of the 187 (so it is said) establishments in Keswick this must surely be the very best in terms of value and comfort. If you need further evidence of this, just read a sample of the reviews below!

Room Tip: The best room is number three, at the front, even though you pay a little extra for the greater space.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

If anyone (as two in your party did) has the drive to get up at 5.45am, swim in Ullswater, cycle up 38 miles of mountain passes and run up Helvellyn in one session then believe me the bespoke breakfasts were not a problem!! Thanks for noticing the detail of Salisbury House and for posting your opinion in your review. Hope to welcome you again in the future. Peter and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and i just spent 2 wonderful nights at Peter and Alex's guesthouse. The room was very comfortable, nicely decorated and very clean. All rooms have ensuite, tvs with dvd players and tea and coffee making facilities. The 2 nights were extremely reasonably priced. Breakfast was a choice of cold or hot food - we both had a cooked breakfast which was extremely delicious. Peter is very knowledgeable about the local area and has a variety of maps. We will definately return!

Thank funkiestginger
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

I like the title of your review :-) Seriously though, it was great to have you here and we try to give as much information and value for money as we can here at Salisbury House. We love Keswick and want our guests to leave with the same passion for the town so if we can provide a relaxing stay here and provide the standard we believe people want then we are all happy. Many thanks, Peter and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at this lovely, clean and convenient B&B. Peter is an excellent host who generously provides information and extra amenities - such as books, maps and DVDs - to borrow. A lovely place to stay.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Right R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review us and see you again. All the best, Peter and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I recently visited this B&B with my boyfriend and his parents. We spent 2 nights there and we were thoroughly impressed with the place. The place is so clean it looks like it has just been refurbished. The bathrooms are spotless and high quality finish, the beds are extremely comfortable and again very good quality bed linen. Breakfast was delicious with perfectly cooked eggs every morning and a great selection. Peter is extremely knowledgeable of the local area and is clearly proud of it. he is extremely willing to share his knowledge and provide his opinion on where to go and what to as there is lots to do. His guidance we found very useful. The quality and value for money we received was second to none! Will most definitely go back if visiting Keswick! HIGHLY RECOMMEND

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

It really means a lot that you no only appreciate the standard we are striving to attain but also the detail you have gone into in your response. Thank you all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night, in room 1. Peter was very welcoming attentive and knowledgeable of the local and surrounding area. Room was immaculately clean and my partner and I both slept very well. Approx 3 minute walk to Keswick centre, lovely breakfast and good value for money. Decor is clean and modern and no chintz! Definitely would recommend to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisychain27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Big thank you for your review. Much appreciated by all here and hope to see you again sometime. Peter and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews