We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Toastie heaven !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Square Orange Cafe Bar

The Square Orange Cafe Bar
Ranked #3 of 126 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Please note that we do not take bookings.
doncaster uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Toastie heaven !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Had lunch here,toasted ciabatta of pulled pork,red onion and salad garnish,washed down with a glass,or was it two,of merlot.best i have ever had.dog friendly,staff friendly,we will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pinkynperky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    154
    29
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb cafe/bar - excellent staff, well run and exceptionally great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had coffees and alcoholic drinks during the day, every day whilst in Keswick for the week.

The Square Orange is a quirky well run establishment with a great staff, exceptionally good service and the best pizzas and tapas in 22 years !!

The food on offer is freshly made to order, and is truly delicious. Their pizza's and tapas are exceptional, and this was also the opinion of friends who ate with us. Top marks guys, please continue giving your all, it is THE best place to eat and drink in Keswick, filled daily with both locals and tourists. Looking forward to our next vacation already !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IndecisiveYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
168 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, staff and beers.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

As this was near to the house we were staying at we used this Café bar quite a bit for drinks. The service was always excellent, the range of beers a welcoming break from Jennings and the atmosphere warming and wonderful. We always planned to eat but never got around to it (they don’t take bookings) but I am sure on the next visit it’s on the list.

A nice change with here and Magnolia serving great local ales with a relaxed atmosphere in a more modern atmosphere a nice break.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duderoo1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic little cafe/bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The owner of the B&B we were staying in recommended this place and we're so glad we listened. It's not big and brash and could easily be missed as it's not on the main street. The decor and atmosphere is just so laid back and relaxed, a great place to unwind and enjoy some continental drinks and some simple but fresh food. We tried a pizza and a ciabatta and they were both great. We stayed here for much longer than we hand planned and enjoyed sampling some different drinks while playing cards, reading the paper etc... Great Place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quite simply the best place in to eat and drink in Keswick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We visited this quaint little place numerous times during our week long visit. The selection of beers is vast (make sure you try the Kwak and Poretti) and all reasonably priced too. The food is absolutely to die for! Between 6 of us we sampled roughly 8 Tapas dishes, a pizza, 2 different ciabattas and a wrap. All of the dishes were fantastically cooked and the wait was minimal for such a good standard of food. The atmosphere of the place is friendly and vibrant, mostly due to the quirky decor and the extremely chatty and witty staff. Although the place does have limited seating, the staff were very accommodating of us as a large group and I would certainly say that we will visit again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Square Orange Cafe Bar also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Square Orange Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing