We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where everyone may not know your name, but they sure do make you welcome!”

The Square Orange Cafe Bar
Ranked #3 of 130 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Description: Please note that we do not take bookings.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Where everyone may not know your name, but they sure do make you welcome!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Square Orange is a great choice for any time of the day: delicious coffee, fresh pastries, scrumptious ciabatta sandwiches, tapas, and a full bar.
The food and drink were more than sufficient to tempt us to stop in a couple of times during our stay in Keswick, but what made it exceptional were its people. There's the friendly feel of a place where locals congregate, and the people who run the place make you feel like you belong there, too.
The decor is, of course, orange, but it's certainly not square. Every surface is decorated to entertain the eye and/or to comfort the body. And the feeling of being able to be completely at ease is no illusion: the last time we stopped in, I left my coin purse on a chair; when I went back two days later, someone had turned it in, and the manager had locked it away. He actually apologized to ME for not being able to call (because I didn't have my name or number in my coin purse). I was very glad to have it back, too, because I had 60 pounds in it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Branwyn_3x3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    172
    31
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Fantastic blend of bar, cafe, coffee house all rolled into one!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Square Orange is fun, hip, cool and the most amazing blend of coffee house, cafe, bar, pub, snack shop all rolled into one! A small space, well organized to include super coffee station with amazing espresso drinks; full bar service; pub-type beer and ale service, on tap and perfectly cask conditioned; tapas bar, sandwich stop, cakes and cookies and tea place -- all combined in a fun and funky, seamless way that really works. I seldom stop twice in the same spot whilst on vacation, let alone twice in the same day . . . but, for the Square Orange, I made an exception! Super friendly staff and value prices. In Keswick, it can't be beat!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holokauahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is such a chilled and relaxed place. Nice little place to eat & drink, good selection of drinks including beers, spirits, cocktails so something for everyone. There's also some games and things available to play which just adds to the fun.

Would happily visit again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Asha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Continental gem”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Been going to keswick for the last 3 years for breaks away and this place is fantastic. Great pizza and tapas all freshly prepared. The aroma of the food is just amazing in there and it has a really great atmosphere, whether it's coffee and homemade cake you want or wine great beer and tapas. All the staff are great in there and very friendly. It's cosy, great vibe, and a little quirky. You will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best bar/coffee shop in town! And then some”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Not an exaggeration to say this is probably the best bar in Keswick

I've been coming here several years and it's always been my firm favourite in Keswick for a drink either with friends or solo.

Good selection of decent beer, always a good couple of real ales on, fantastic chilled out atmosphere, and dog friendly. Also has wifi!

Great place to chill for an afternoon, evening, all day.

Helpful?
1 Thank oh0084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Square Orange Cafe Bar also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Square Orange Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing