We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome”
Review of Burnside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burnside B&B
Ranked #3 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed at the Burnside B&B on Friday 16 September in room 2, We were welcomed by Sharon who ensured that we had everything we needed for our stay. The room was cosy, warm, clean and very well presented. There was a comfortable settee in the room, tea/coffee/biscuits and a flatscreen tv which added to the homely feeling of this B&B.

We both had a good nights sleep and woke refreshed and had an excellent well-cooked breakfast before we set off up to Scotland.

We will be staying here again very soon. Thank you Sharon and Peter for your hospitality and allowing us to share your lovely home and making us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: Look at the photos of the rooms and choose before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in Room 4 which was spacious and spotlessly clean, Breakfasts were superb and cooked to order using quality produce, utilising Sharon & Peter's pre-order service whereby you let them know the night before what you want and when. Sharon made us feel very welcome and was on hand for recommendations on where to visit in the area, which was very helpful. A real home from home, this B&B!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill_B0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed two nights in room 3, which was perfectly clean and delightfully decorated. We have stayed in many different hotels in many different countries due to my husband's profession, but could easily state that Burnside was the best ever. The bathroom was so clean that we did not even need to wear slippers. Our hosts, Sharon and Peter, were very friendly and kind enough to provide us with some information about the region. They also advised some restaurants/pubs for good food and drink. As Sharon is a very good cook, breakfast was amazing. We had vegetarian English breakfast on the first morning and home-made waffle on the second, both of which were extremely delicious. We felt home. We look forward to be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OSD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I have to admit that my initial impressions were not good at all for one reason and that reason was the traffic noise from our room, which was No 2. I had an awful nights sleep on the first night and I was very frustrated. I am a reasonably light sleeper to be fair but when I say the noise was loud I mean it was VERY loud. The room only has single glazing and hardly keeps any noise out which didn't help and I had visions of demanding another room or getting our money back. Gradually though, I was won over and the reason is simply because of the owner of 'Burnside', Sharon. She was very sympathetic and even bought me a pair of ear plugs to help out and I did sleep better on the second night so things definitely got better.

Room 2 is large and very clean indeed and if you are a heavy sleeper then it would be perfect for you. Nothing was too much trouble for Sharon at all and she was helpful, polite and totally genuine. Parking is off road and opposite to the B+B on a sloping road but this wasn't a problem at all. We are reasonably quick walkers and it took us a good 15 minutes to walk to the town centre. The breakfast was very nice and even though I filled in the request form wrongly the evening before, Sharon just smiled and made breakfast there and then without any problem. We didn't really see too much of Peter so can only really comment on Sharon and she deserves credit for her ever smiling approach.

To sum up, yes, we would use 'Burnside' again but would try and avoid room 2 even though it is a lovely, clean and spacious room. If you are a light sleeper then you had best ask which room you are going to be booked into and perhaps try one of the other rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid room 2 if you are a light sleeper as the traffic noise is very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Whitey1459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

We're disappointed this reviewer had their stay compromised and glad that the solution offered went some way to remedy the situation.

We are obviously aware that we are located on a reasonably busy road and that room 2 with a large Victorian Bay is less suitable for lighter sleepers. It's for this reason that we provide online descriptions of all our rooms and make it clear that lighter sleepers will find rooms to the back of the B&B more suitable.

To put the matter in perspective we now have over 200 reviews on Tripadvisor only 4 of which have had an issue with disturbance in room 2 - less than 2%. Our B&B is a period property and we have strriven to maintain and add to it's integrity. We have therefore resisted the temptation of ripping out all the original sash windows etc. and replacing them with upvc units. In the longer term we do hope to address the issue sympathetically with double glazed sashes and or secondary glazing. Though we acknowledge this isn't the cheapest or quickest option.

To avoid disappointment we would respectfully suggest travelers support their research on Tripadvisor with the information and room descriptions we provide online and elsewhere before they book. So they can best match their requirements with what we offer.

Peter Garner
Burnside B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed for three nights in room 2 which is both large and bright. The decor is of the highest standard and the room was immaculately clean! High quality toiletries and soft large towels were an added bonus.The owners are extremely welcoming and go out of their way to make you feel at home, even helped us with planning our day, suggested walking routes as well as other activities. The breakfast is fantastic, we sampled most of it and loved it all, and YES, you do have to try the waffles! The location is perfect for exploring the district as well as taking walks around Keswick. We highly recommend the Burnside B&B and can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Aslaug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed for 2 nights Sept 9/10 - the bedroom was extremely clean, warm and comfortable (Room 4). Sharon made us so welcome and couldn't do enough for us. Free view, tea/coffee, and a king size bed what more could you want. The breakfast was wonderful and Sharon's knowledge of the area was useful - recommending a walk that we both enjoyed. Keswick is a wonderful part of the world. We will be making a return visit and will certainly be recommending Burnside to family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank donstron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed for two nights in room four this has a very comfortable king size bed and is beautifully furnished with everything you could want. Breakfast was wonderful we tried almost everything between us and could not fault anything. We have to say that Sharon (we did not see much of Peter) has a lovely warm friendly personality and is very helpful. Keswick has much to offer including lots of b&b's having stayed in many all over the country this is up with the best.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 189 in Keswick
386 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 189 in Keswick
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hazel Bank Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#11 of 189 in Keswick
570 reviews
18 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 107 in Windermere
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnside B&B

Address: Burnside Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £80 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharon & Peter Garner look forward to welcoming you to their 4 Star B&B 1 mile / 10-15 minutes stroll from Keswick's Market Square; where traditional cosy hospitality complimented by hotel standard bedrooms & breakfasts at B&B prices. Burnside has been refurbished to a high standard reflected by our 'Excellent' Tripadvisor Award. All our meticulously clean en-suite bedrooms have flat screen TVs, thermostatically controlled heating, complimentary, towels toiletries and Fair trade refreshment trays. We also apart from traditional full English breakfasts offer. Vegi English /homemade sausages Home made waffles & toffee sauce with banana & sultanas Smoked salmon + either scrambled or poached free range eggs Omelettes & much more. All can be Gluten free please ask when booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Burnside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnside B&B Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing