We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at great B&B.”
Review of Burnside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burnside B&B
Ranked #6 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay at great B&B.”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in October 2011. We stayed in room four, a large room on the front of the house. The room was decorated to a high standard, was immaculately clean and very comfortable. The hosts are very friendly and were happy to advise on places to visit, walking/driving routes, restaurants, etc. They also serve a great breakfast! Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sthooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
462
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This is the latest of a number of visits to Burnside and each time we are more than happy with the warmth of the welcome and the high standard of accomodation. Sharon and Pete have worked hard to get it right and in our opinion there is nothing more they could do. The room we always use, number 2, is roomy, light and airy, with a spotless and well equipped en-suite. The generous complimentary refeshments are good quality and most welcome when relaxing in front of the flat screen TV before going out for the evening. Although the room is at the front, with a few cars passing at peak times, traffic noise is not excessive and is insignificant considering the comfort and quality of the room, with its view over woodland. To crown it all is the first rate breakfasts, that really set you up for the day.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This is our second stay at Burnside and have stayed in room 2 on both occasions primarily because of the generous room proportions and the very tasteful decor and facilities provided. We have had a very comfortable and relaxing stay and both Peter & Sharon have been tremendous hosts. Breakfast was as we remember the first time,generously prepared by Sharon and a great start for a good day's walking. Talking of which the location is very handy for one of our favorite walks, Castlerigg Stone Circle & Walla crag, as well as Latrigg & Skiddaw. A perfect retreat for a relaxing break and have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ango1Stoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We have just come back from three nights at Burnside in Keswick and we are already looking at when we can go back! The quality of the rooms was exceptional: lots of space, beautiful decor, spotlessly clean and a good selection of extras (tea, coffee etc). Can't mention Burnside without mentioning Sharon and Pete. They were warm, friendly and full of ideas of what to do and where to go, and what wildlife to see. The breakfasts were also top notch! Best poached eggs ever!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevEnsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We have just had a last minute 2 night break at the Burnside joining friends staying at the Kings Arms Hotel. By comparison we were very happy with our choice. Hosts were welocoming and knowledgeable about the area. Lovely breakfasts and nices touches in the bedrooms (fairtrade tea and coffee, handcream, tissues etc)

Room Tip: Room 1 is at the back and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahM4014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Hi all -

Just got back from a lovely weekend in Keswick - and stayed at Burnside. Peter and Sharon's hospitality was fantastic, as was their great breakfast. They go far beyond the standard "Full English", and offer everything from waffles to smoked salmon with scrambled eggs.

Delicious.

Rooms were spotless, and very comfortable - although the showers are a bit tight. Flat-screen TV, and a bunch of small touches - from teddy bear on the bed, to make up remover and other toiletries in case you forgot.

Outstanding place and a great value.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CUPAR
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed 4 nights from 6/10/11. This was our second visit to Burnside and we were greeted with a big smile by Sharon who clearly recognised us. This made us feel very welcome. We stayed in Room 1 which is very comfortable and clean and has all you need for a great stay. Breakfast was excellent and substantial with lots of choice. Burnside is well located with a short walk along the course of the old railway line into Keswick and for other walks around the area. We shall definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRIAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
689 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
603 reviews
0.9 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#3 of 175 in Keswick
321 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#2 of 175 in Keswick
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnside B&B

Property: Burnside B&B
Address: Burnside Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharon & Peter Garner look forward to welcoming you to their 4 Star B&B 1 mile / 10-15 minutes stroll from Keswick's Market Square; where traditional cosy hospitality complimented by hotel standard bedrooms & breakfasts at B&B prices. Burnside has been refurbished to a high standard reflected by our 'Excellent' Tripadvisor Award. All our meticulously clean en-suite bedrooms have flat screen TVs, thermostatically controlled heating, complimentary, towels toiletries and Fair trade refreshment trays. We also apart from traditional full English breakfasts offer. Vegi English /homemade sausages Home made waffles & toffee sauce with banana & sultanas Smoked salmon + either scrambled or poached free range eggs Omelettes & much more. All can be Gluten free please ask when booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Burnside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnside B&B Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing