We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Birthday at Burnside”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Burnside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burnside B&B
Ranked #7 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant Birthday at Burnside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

What an amazing an relaxing place to stay. Myself and my wife stayed here for two nights to celebrate my birthday and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The room was lovely, clean and beautifully decorated. Sharon and Pete were excellent host and provided really good information about walks and things to do. The breakfast was also amazing. An excellent base for exploring keswick. We would definately go back there for another stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewdmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
452
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

My wife and self together with our daughter and partner stayed for three nights whilst walking and birdwatching in the lakes. The accomodation was fabulous, the breakfast were fantastic with a good choice and Pete and Sharon were really nice and helpful. The accomodation was about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Keswick and ideally situated. Car parking was no problem. The rooms were spotless and extremely comfortable and each one has a teddy bear which can be found in a different place every day....dont ask... but bit was fun and a nice touch.
The Yorkshire birder

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in October 2011. We stayed in room four, a large room on the front of the house. The room was decorated to a high standard, was immaculately clean and very comfortable. The hosts are very friendly and were happy to advise on places to visit, walking/driving routes, restaurants, etc. They also serve a great breakfast! Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sthooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

This is the latest of a number of visits to Burnside and each time we are more than happy with the warmth of the welcome and the high standard of accomodation. Sharon and Pete have worked hard to get it right and in our opinion there is nothing more they could do. The room we always use, number 2, is roomy, light and airy, with a spotless and well equipped en-suite. The generous complimentary refeshments are good quality and most welcome when relaxing in front of the flat screen TV before going out for the evening. Although the room is at the front, with a few cars passing at peak times, traffic noise is not excessive and is insignificant considering the comfort and quality of the room, with its view over woodland. To crown it all is the first rate breakfasts, that really set you up for the day.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

This is our second stay at Burnside and have stayed in room 2 on both occasions primarily because of the generous room proportions and the very tasteful decor and facilities provided. We have had a very comfortable and relaxing stay and both Peter & Sharon have been tremendous hosts. Breakfast was as we remember the first time,generously prepared by Sharon and a great start for a good day's walking. Talking of which the location is very handy for one of our favorite walks, Castlerigg Stone Circle & Walla crag, as well as Latrigg & Skiddaw. A perfect retreat for a relaxing break and have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ango1Stoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We have just come back from three nights at Burnside in Keswick and we are already looking at when we can go back! The quality of the rooms was exceptional: lots of space, beautiful decor, spotlessly clean and a good selection of extras (tea, coffee etc). Can't mention Burnside without mentioning Sharon and Pete. They were warm, friendly and full of ideas of what to do and where to go, and what wildlife to see. The breakfasts were also top notch! Best poached eggs ever!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevEnsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We have just had a last minute 2 night break at the Burnside joining friends staying at the Kings Arms Hotel. By comparison we were very happy with our choice. Hosts were welocoming and knowledgeable about the area. Lovely breakfasts and nices touches in the bedrooms (fairtrade tea and coffee, handcream, tissues etc)

Room Tip: Room 1 is at the back and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahM4014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#10 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.9 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#3 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnside B&B

Property: Burnside B&B
Address: Burnside Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharon & Peter Garner look forward to welcoming you to their 4 Star B&B 1 mile / 10-15 minutes stroll from Keswick's Market Square; where traditional cosy hospitality complimented by hotel standard bedrooms & breakfasts at B&B prices. Burnside has been refurbished to a high standard reflected by our 'Excellent' Tripadvisor Award. All our meticulously clean en-suite bedrooms have flat screen TVs, thermostatically controlled heating, complimentary, towels toiletries and Fair trade refreshment trays. We also apart from traditional full English breakfasts offer. Vegi English /homemade sausages Home made waffles & toffee sauce with banana & sultanas Smoked salmon + either scrambled or poached free range eggs Omelettes & much more. All can be Gluten free please ask when booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Burnside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnside B&B Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing