We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of Burnside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burnside B&B
Ranked #3 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights and it was truly a home from home the whole place is spotlessly clean and the food was excellent the owners Sharon and Pete were exceptionally friendly and helpful with guides and routes for us too take advantage of the beautiful and breathtaking walks Keswick has too offer they made us feel so welcome and at home that we will be staying there again on our next visit to Keswick.

Lisa and Thanos x

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hodgepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed here during the Mountain Festival weekend and Burnside was a great location for us as it's close enough to walk into Keswick without being in the thick of town. Sharon was a good host and presented us with excellent cooked breakfasts for our 2 night stay. Our room was comfortable and spotless. If you like to stay somewhere near enough but far enough from town this B&B is lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Sharon and Pete, our friendly hosts, provided us with a lovely breakfast each day and Sharon,s knowledge of local walks was a tremendous help to us! Only 50 yards from Burnside is a lovely secluded walk on the old railway line. This is perfect for walking into keswick town centre. The disused railway line (now a foot/cycle path) is ideal for walking or cycling into Keswick and a canopy of trees keeps you cool on a warm day. Burnside is a spotlessly clean house and Sharon provided a first class breakfast each morning - We fully recommend this B and B for your stay in the English Lakes.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rs042114b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Burnside continues to set the highest standards in every aspect of what I expect from a great B&B. The welcome, local knowledge, hospitality and breakfasts are all excellent.

Rarely is it possible to find a place where the hosts genuinely take care to ensure that guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjw_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This was the cleanest place we have ever stayed. The rooms where cosy, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Sharon the owner has thought of everything for the bathroom, it was very well stocked.
The owners couldnt do enough for you, friendly and very organised. Breakfast was freshly cooked and the cereals and fruit in the dining room always fresh and well stocked.
This was our first ever stay at a bed and breakfast and we struck very lucky to stay at such a lovely well run BB.
Very much recommended
Ross & Debi McMahon. Lancs

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossMcMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Our stay at Burnside could not have been more wonderful. After 40+ years of visiting Britain, this is the most immaculate and beautifully decorated bed and breakfast we have seen. The establishment is well-maintained and extemely comfortable, the breakfasts are appetizing and varied, and the proprietor Sharon is delightfully warm. You can pay more, but you cannot get more in the way of a welcoming environment in a great location. The owners' attention to detail in this guesthouse elevates it above the commonplace.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraMae50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

It's a shame there isn't a rating option of 'perfect' as my fiancee and myself would have deinitley given the Burnside such a rating. The rooms were clean, comfortable and worth every last bit of the 4* star rating they have been given. The choice of breakfast was very good and as a Yorkshireman I couldn't have asked for more from my Full English to set me up for long walks through the day. Sharon was extremely welcoming and was quick to help us out with advice for walking routes and places to eat and drink in Keswick. We took her advice for a walk up to Walla Crag and back down and around the Lake which was a fantastic day out. The only so-called 'negative' side to the hotel was the 15-20 minute walk from the hotel to the centre of Keswick. However, if you're traveling to Keswick you are probably doing so for the scenery, and the walk from the hotel into the centre along the river is beautiful and a very easy stroll. Both myself and my fiancee felt this was actually a plus point for our stay and we intend to stay again before the year is out. Thanks for a perfect weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kippaxwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 189 in Keswick
386 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 189 in Keswick
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hazel Bank Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#11 of 189 in Keswick
570 reviews
18 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 107 in Windermere
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnside B&B

Address: Burnside Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £80 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharon & Peter Garner look forward to welcoming you to their 4 Star B&B 1 mile / 10-15 minutes stroll from Keswick's Market Square; where traditional cosy hospitality complimented by hotel standard bedrooms & breakfasts at B&B prices. Burnside has been refurbished to a high standard reflected by our 'Excellent' Tripadvisor Award. All our meticulously clean en-suite bedrooms have flat screen TVs, thermostatically controlled heating, complimentary, towels toiletries and Fair trade refreshment trays. We also apart from traditional full English breakfasts offer. Vegi English /homemade sausages Home made waffles & toffee sauce with banana & sultanas Smoked salmon + either scrambled or poached free range eggs Omelettes & much more. All can be Gluten free please ask when booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Burnside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnside B&B Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing