We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly fantastic”
Review of Burnside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burnside B&B
Ranked #3 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed in room 4 which was on the 2nd floor and had a lovely view. The room was a good size with nice furnishings. Everything we needed for a great stay. The room and en-suite was kept spotless every day, this went for the whole house too. Sharon looked after us very well both at breakfast and in general. The breakfasts were lovely, plenty of choice and quality. We were given some good advice and ideas of places to go, eat and things to do. Overall a great stay and certainly well worthy of all the other excellent reviews. Wayne & Jane.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1969ws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

We had an enjoyable stay at Burnside,on arrival we were shown our room, by Sharon, which was spotlessly clean.Sharon then advised us on the best eating places( which did not dissappoint),she also advised us on walks and loaned us a map for us to use.The breakfast was first class,being of good quality and quantity.We would certainly use Burnside ,if we were to visit the Lakes again.Many thanks Sharon for your hard work.CliveJac

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clivejac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We booked the Burnside on the stregnth of reviews from this site, hopefully you will read this review.
After a lovely warm welcome and handy tips on local walks and where to eat out, we were shown to our room, which was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.
There is wi-fi, tea and coffee making facilities and tv with freeview
A perfectly cooked and piping hot full English breakfast was served and will keep you going untill mid afternoon, there are many breakfast options, but this was the perfect one for us, full tums ready for the day!
After a good day walking, we returned to our freshly turned over room, plus one happy teddy (you will see why)....which made us laugh!!.....What a lovely warm and very friendly place to stay. We are looking forward to staying here again in the future, highly recommened. Thank you so much..mandy and Alan :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I have shied away from b&b's as an adult for many years due to childhood experiences but was persuaded to give this a try by my husband.I was very pleased with the overall experience.We were met by Sharon who was very pleasant, offered choices of places to eat and local amenities.The room and property was spotlessly kept with tea/coffee facilities, large wall mounted tv, wi fi access, in fact all that is needed for a comfortable stay. Breakfast was freshly made with plenty of choices. We took the full English option which was very good and served with a cafatiere of steaming coffee.Would have no hesitation in recommending this property

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sbmyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

What a lovely B&B, great value compared with what some in Keswick charge and don't be put off by its location. The walk to the town along the disused railway line is really pleasant and all of 10-15 mins. Parking is no problem either.
As with the other reviews the place is spotless and breakfast was fab.
Thank You.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We found this Guest House very easily and were made to feel very welcome by our hosts. After signing in we were shown to our room which was immaculate. A television with freeview were present along with tea and coffee making facilities.
We were recommended places to eat and drink and even where to park for free in Keswick.
Breakfast was lovely( full english) with ample tea, coffee and toast provided.
I would thouroughly recommend Burnside to anyone wanting to book a guest house in Keswick, its that good we are hoping to go back in October

Room Tip: Room 4 nice and quiet but whole house was
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We booked this b&b on the strength of the reviews on this website. We went for two nights in may and were looking to have wonderful weather. When we arrived we accidentally parked in the next door b &b must to the owners annoyance. Obviously we apologized not realising our mistake which was met with 'did you not see the sign?'. Again we said it wasn't clear and were basically just told to leave straight away despite us having our bags in our hands and at the end of the drive seconds away from the b and b. after a bad start our welcome at burnside was the complete opposite! They had seen us park wrongly and were hugely apologetic about their neighbours! There is parking on the road opposite which is fine and safe area to leave it in. We stopped in the small room at the back which was absolutely spotless and lovely. The breakfasts were lovely and the hostess genuine and lovely. All in all a wonderful stay, weather was fantastic, thoroughly enjoyed seeing the lakes in the sunshine without the tourists.

Cannot recommend this place enough.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank TraveliteYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 189 in Keswick
386 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 189 in Keswick
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hazel Bank Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#11 of 189 in Keswick
570 reviews
18 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 107 in Windermere
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnside B&B

Address: Burnside Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £80 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharon & Peter Garner look forward to welcoming you to their 4 Star B&B 1 mile / 10-15 minutes stroll from Keswick's Market Square; where traditional cosy hospitality complimented by hotel standard bedrooms & breakfasts at B&B prices. Burnside has been refurbished to a high standard reflected by our 'Excellent' Tripadvisor Award. All our meticulously clean en-suite bedrooms have flat screen TVs, thermostatically controlled heating, complimentary, towels toiletries and Fair trade refreshment trays. We also apart from traditional full English breakfasts offer. Vegi English /homemade sausages Home made waffles & toffee sauce with banana & sultanas Smoked salmon + either scrambled or poached free range eggs Omelettes & much more. All can be Gluten free please ask when booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Burnside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnside B&B Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing