We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B in Keswick? I'd say so!”
Review of Burnside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burnside B&B
Ranked #6 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boroughbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best B&B in Keswick? I'd say so!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

If you're looking for a clean, beautifully decorated, well priced, friendly B&B in Keswick that offers a wide variety of breakfast options (all of which taste amazing) with lovely hosts who make every effort to make your stay enjoyable then Burnside is the place to go. We've been several times and it has never disappointed. I honestly can't think of anywhere else we've stayed in the UK that tops Burnside!

Room Tip: All rooms decorated beautifully with William Morris wallpaper and magic teddy-bears...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simplesimon1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Hi Simon & Kate,
Many thanks for writing us such a lovely review, it was great to see you both again & who knows where ted will be next time you come.
PS. Yours was the best one so far, had to get the ladders up to it. Hope you enjoy your holidays & thank you once again for coming here .
Best wishes,
Sharon & Pete x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
457
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilling East
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We booked the Burnside again following a most excellent stay a couple of years ago. Safe to say we were warmly welcomed upon our return. It was great to see Sharon maintaining the most excellent hospitality and working up those delicious homemade omelettes & waffles for breakfast!

Burnside continues to deliver as an excellent Keswick B & B and still constitutes great value. Spotlessly clean, comfortable and well-equipped with modern en-suite facilities. Also, there are some nice little additions since our previous visit including a good, fast WiFi connection.

It is evident that this well-run family business is keen to evolve for the benefit of its guests and we really look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PottergateTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Hi to you both,
We're so pleased you enjoyed your first wedding anniversary here at Burnside & thank's for spending it with us.
Hope to see you soon,
Best Wishes,
Sharon & Pete x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at the Burnside B&B for four nights and could not have asked for better accommodation. The room and en suite was spotlessly clean and comfortable with attention to detail (including WiFi) - no request was too much to ask for. We worked our way through the breakfast menu during the four days and concluded that we have never had such lovely omelettes! Sharon was always on hand to answer questions and has a vast knowledge about the local area. She provided tips on everything from where to eat to the most scenic drives including road maps. Do consider Burnside B&B if you visit Keswick, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lstof01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
It was fantastic to meet you both, thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review as i know how buisy you both are.Wishing you both all the best for your new baby & a few weeks rest from your hard work.

Best Wishes,
Sharon & Pete x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

stayed here three nights in july 2013, we had the top bedroom with kingsize bed which was lovely, comfortable and clean. the owner sharon was excellent, she gave us advice on where to eat, where to goon day trips and this really made our stay excellent. we definitely will stay there again. breakfast was fantastic and apeed of service was brilliant. i would give this bed and breakfast top rating.

Room Tip: the top floor front room was quiet and comfortable. excellent two seater sofa for watchin tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valerie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Hello to you both,
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay in room 4 with the comfy bed & relaxing sofa & it's a pleasure to cook breakfast for you both,thank you for your lovely comments.

Best Wishes,
Saron & Pete x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Burnside and were very impressed. Sharon's hospitality, local knowledge on the best walking routes and wonderful breakfasts were second to none. We stayed in the room at the front of the property above the breakfast room; extremely clean, very comfortable and free of road noise. This was our first ever visit to Keswick and it was made all the more enjoyable by staying at the Burnside. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review, i'm pleased you enjoyed the walk's i helped you plan as i like my guests to find the best possible places to visit to make the most out of their holiday.Thank you & hope to see you again also.
Best Wishes,
Sharon & Pete x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Many, many thanks to Sharon for the most perfect stay at a B and B that we have ever had! Beautiful rooms, spotlessly clean with everything you could possibly need and fabulous breakfasts too.
A perfect spot to explore the Lake District. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Many thanks Lois & Ben for writing us a fantastic review. It was great to meet you all & hope to see you again when you try out the boats you made.Hope we get some fantastic weather again for you all.

Best Wisher,
Sharon & Pete x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

After a long drive and late arrival Sharon's warm and friendly welcome soon dispelled any stress. Fabulous breakfast, comfy, spotless room. Will definitely return! Thank you Sharon for going the extra mile.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneW156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Hello Lynne,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a lovely review.Hope next time your here for work you'll stay here, it was a pleasure to look after you.

Best Wishes,
Sharon & Pete x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#11 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.9 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#2 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnside B&B

Property: Burnside B&B
Address: Burnside Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharon & Peter Garner look forward to welcoming you to their 4 Star B&B 1 mile / 10-15 minutes stroll from Keswick's Market Square; where traditional cosy hospitality complimented by hotel standard bedrooms & breakfasts at B&B prices. Burnside has been refurbished to a high standard reflected by our 'Excellent' Tripadvisor Award. All our meticulously clean en-suite bedrooms have flat screen TVs, thermostatically controlled heating, complimentary, towels toiletries and Fair trade refreshment trays. We also apart from traditional full English breakfasts offer. Vegi English /homemade sausages Home made waffles & toffee sauce with banana & sultanas Smoked salmon + either scrambled or poached free range eggs Omelettes & much more. All can be Gluten free please ask when booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Burnside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnside B&B Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing