We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to Keswick”
Review of Burnside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burnside B&B
Ranked #3 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed at Burnside for 3 nights last week with my wife and we had a fantastic break. This was our first time to Keswick and Sharon was very welcoming and extremely knowledgeable about the whole area and things to do, places to see and places to eat. The room was immaculate and very comfortable. I was surprised that Sharon went in every day, cleaned and made sure that we were topped up with a variety of drinks. We really enjoyed breakfast each morning. Sharon makes a cracking full English and my wife tried some of Sharons' speciality waffles and omlettes. Just the thing before a days walk. We would definately recommend Burnside. Thanks for a wonderful break.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

HI to you both again,
Thank you for writing us such a lovely review, it was a plearure looking after you both.I'm also really pleased you enjoyed my cooked breakfasts, especially the waffles. Hope you have time to visit Keswick again & I can again help you with all the best places to visit.

Best Wishes ,
Sharon x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at Burnside for 4 nights in August 2013, and are very happy to report that the standards are as high as ever. The welcome, quality and cleanliness of the room, beautifully cooked breakfasts and local knowledge are surely not possible to beat. Sharon even provides a teddy bear in each room to keep guests company, and it's surprising how much fun can be had trying to find different places to leave said teddy bear each day!

Thanks Sharon for another great Keswick break, and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjw_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

A massive thank you Peter & Katherine for yet again a fantastic review. It's always lovely to see you both & a pleasure looking after you.I was pleased you were able to get out every day & enjoy the countryside.Hope to see you next time you need a rest.

Best Wishes,
Sharon xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This really is a fantastic B & B. Its not the first time we have stayed and Burnside and it won't be the last. Sharon and Pete are very friendly and welcoming, the rooms are immaculate with lovely decor and the breakfasts are the best!! We highly recommend. Thanks once again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toby065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Lovely to see you both again thank you for all the kind words it means so much.Hope to see you next time you need a well earned rest.

Best Wishes,

Sharon & Pete xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Myself and the wife stayed at Burnside not so very long ago. Would whole heartily recommend to anyone who is visiting Keswick to book in at Burnside. Sharon knowledge of the area is beyond believe, the room are comfortable, and the breakfast "wow" how i miss those breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a fantastic review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed my help finding you the best places to visit & also the best eating houses ect. Also thank you so much for describing my breakfasts as WOW.

Hope to see you again,
Best Wishes,
Sharon & Pete x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This B&B was one of the best I have ever stayed, it was so clean, bright and Sharon was very friendly and helpful, the cooked breakfast was lovely too. I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting Keswick, you can't go wrong!!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jillop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Hi Phill & Jill,
Thank you so much for writing us a great review,it was lovely to meet you both. Hope to see you both next time you need a much needed break. PS how did Vagas go?

Best Wishes with every thing & the best of luck.

Sharon x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We recently stayed here on a short trip to the Lake District. We wanted to be in Keswick and had liked the look of Burnside from what we'd seen on the web. What the web didn't tell us was how nice the owners are and how welcoming they were to us and all of the other guests who's stay coincided with ours. We really felt to be made at home during our stay and it was a shame to leave. It is not centrally located so you need to be prepared for a longer walk into Keswick for dinner in the evening if everyone wants a drink. We had no trouble parking near the B&B.

Room Tip: The B&B is on a road and so if you are VERY sensitive to road noise then ask for a room that'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nessa1432013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for the kind words, hope you enjoyed your break with us.

Best Wishes,

Sharon & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This was our fourth visit to Burnside and it really is our "go to" place when we head to the Lakes.

The rooms are decorated to an excellent standard, there is safe and easy parking opposite and the breakfasts are second to none (the waffles in particular are a winner!). It really is very good value for money (I have paid a lot more for a lot less).

But what separates this from other B&Bs is the warm and welcoming reception from Sharon and Pete. They really do make this a lovely and friendly place to stay. They are always happy to provide recommendations on where to go and what to do.

We would not hesitate to recommend Burnside and it's safe to say that we will certainly be booking again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevEnsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Good evening Bev & Neil,
A massive thank you for yet again taking the time to write us a lovaly review. Lets see how long it will be before the thought of a home made waffle & toffee sauce brings you back.

Thank you once again,
Sharon & Pete x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 189 in Keswick
383 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 189 in Keswick
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#11 of 189 in Keswick
564 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beeches Guest House
The Beeches Guest House
#38 of 189 in Keswick
296 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#8 of 189 in Keswick
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnside B&B

Address: Burnside Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £80 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharon & Peter Garner look forward to welcoming you to their 4 Star B&B 1 mile / 10-15 minutes stroll from Keswick's Market Square; where traditional cosy hospitality complimented by hotel standard bedrooms & breakfasts at B&B prices. Burnside has been refurbished to a high standard reflected by our 'Excellent' Tripadvisor Award. All our meticulously clean en-suite bedrooms have flat screen TVs, thermostatically controlled heating, complimentary, towels toiletries and Fair trade refreshment trays. We also apart from traditional full English breakfasts offer. Vegi English /homemade sausages Home made waffles & toffee sauce with banana & sultanas Smoked salmon + either scrambled or poached free range eggs Omelettes & much more. All can be Gluten free please ask when booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Burnside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnside B&B Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing