We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay.”
Review of Burnside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burnside B&B
Ranked #5 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay.”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Warm welcome, lovely hosts, very helpful with local knowledge. Rooms pristine and very comfortable. Breakfast very good with a wide selection, lovely coffee. Would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely B&B.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 & 4 are larger double but they do mention this on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
It was a pleasure looking after you both once again, I'm pleased you always enjoy Keswick just as much as we do.Hope to see you both again soon.

Best Wishes,

Sharon xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
468
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Last minuet booking perfect choice. Spotlesly clean decorated to a high standard .
The lady Sharon was very friendly and helpful good local knowledge .
Great choice for breakfast set us up for the day.
Would return in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, it was lovely to meet you both & hope you will find time to visit us again.

Best Wishes,

Sharon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The other reviews on the page say it all really, Sharon and Pete are warm hosts and have a beautiful B&B with a welcoming atmosphere. Even the smaller rooms should suit a couple on a short stay prefectly well, and we found everything to be in working order, not to mention the room's handsome decoration and spotless condition. Keswick town centre is a pleasant 15 minute walk away down a quiet railway footpath, and the famous Castlerigg Stone Circle is even closer (well worth a visit).

Me and my girlfriend have stayed here twice now and would not want to stay anywhere else in Keswick, as we're both sure we've already found the best! Next time, I'll try the waflles for breakfast...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you Rob for taking the time to write us a lovely review. It was brilliant to see you both again so soon & yes you must try my home made waffles next time you come.

Hope you both did manage to get some time together after Christmas & wishing you both a Happy New Year. Hope to see you soon.

Best Wishes,
Sharon & Pete xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This was my second time at Burnside and Sharon and Pete didn't let me down. The friendliness and care they gave to me was as if I was a member of their own family which as a lone traveller was very much appreciated. I try something new each time I stay in Keswick and this time it was archery and as Sharon and Pete are keen archers we had some lively discussions about this pass time. Once again my room was delightful with a friendly little teddy bear on the bed to greet me. Breakfast was a very warm affair with Sharon paying great interest in what I had planned for the day without being intrusive. Again for the lone traveller having someone to talk to first thing makes such a difference to your day. Sharon kindly asked each day if she could provide me with a sandwich for lunch and even offered to drop me at the bus station on my last morning as it was pouring down with rain. The last thing I talked to Sharon about as I left was when I might be coming back ! I don't think I can give higher praise than that !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylB774LT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Hi Cheryl,
Thank you for writing us a lovely review. It was a pleasure looking after you again, we enjoy talking to you.Hope you keep up with the archery & we will look forward to hearing all about it next time you come.

Hope you have a lovely Christmas,
Best Wishes,
Sharon & Pete xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Just stayed at Burnside for the second time and have booked to go back again next May. There's such a lovely feel to the place...so homely. The breakfasts are excellent (I can thoroughly recommend the waffles) with a varied menu and the wood burner in the breakfast room was a cosy touch. We have stayed in rooms 1 and 2. Both were lovely, spotlessly clean and nicely decorated.
We have stayed in several B&Bs in Keswick over the last few years and this one is by far the best one we have found. Looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottJulieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Good afternoon Julie & Scott,
Thank you for taking the time for writing us a fantastic review.Looking forward to seeing you both in May , keep up the training & I'll have the waffles ready for you when you're finnished.

Hope you have a fantastic Xmas,
Best Wishes,
Sharon & Pete x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

If repeat custom is a good indicator of quality then we must rate Burnside as excellent as we have stayed 3 times over the past year and a half and the last two occasions have brought friends and their families with us.The location is just 10 minutes walk from the centre of Keswick.The rooms are well decorated, the Victorian styled rooms are really special. The rooms have always been spotless with nice towels and bedding. The breakfasts are great - there is a good choice of breakfast options and we enjoy trying these - including smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, full English breakfast and also waffles with banana and toffee sauce. The hosts are lovely and we have enjoyed chatting to Sharon who always gives helpful advice about what to do in the local area and has given us suggestions of walks which we have enjoyed. We would always come back to Burnside.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeandAaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Hi Zoe & Aaron,
A massive thank you for taking the time to write us a fantastic review,
It's always a pleasure to see you both & thank you for each time nearly booking the whole house. Sorry it's taken me time to respond to your review but we've been in Berlin for our 25th wedding anniversary, it was a fantastic place to visit.

Hope you will have the time to visit us next year,
Happy Xmas,
Sharon & Pete x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My fiancée and I stayed here over the last weekend and had a lovely time. We both slept soundly on all three nights, and the breakfasts were excellent every morning. It takes a lot to drag me away from the full english but the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon was sublime!

It's a short cab ride (less than £3) from Keswick centre which didn't really bother us as there's always a taxi waiting in the square. Bit lazy perhaps but we'd been hiking all day...

Sharon was a really friendly and welcoming host and Keswick and it's surrounds make for a lovely break. Recommended!

Room Tip: We had the smaller room at the back of the house. It's not huge but absolutely fine for a weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMA_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Hi to you both,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review.Hope you both enjoyed your time in the lake district . I was pleased I was able to offer you both a lift back to Penrith rather than the bus as it gave you afew hours extra to look around Keswick.Hope you have a great Christmas & good luck with the wedding.

Best Wishes,
Sharon & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
623 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
625 reviews
1.0 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 173 in Keswick
590 reviews
0.9 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#11 of 173 in Keswick
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnside B&B

Property: Burnside B&B
Address: Burnside Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharon & Peter Garner look forward to welcoming you to their 4 Star B&B 1 mile / 10-15 minutes stroll from Keswick's Market Square; where traditional cosy hospitality complimented by hotel standard bedrooms & breakfasts at B&B prices. Burnside has been refurbished to a high standard reflected by our 'Excellent' Tripadvisor Award. All our meticulously clean en-suite bedrooms have flat screen TVs, thermostatically controlled heating, complimentary, towels toiletries and Fair trade refreshment trays. We also apart from traditional full English breakfasts offer. Vegi English /homemade sausages Home made waffles & toffee sauce with banana & sultanas Smoked salmon + either scrambled or poached free range eggs Omelettes & much more. All can be Gluten free please ask when booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Burnside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnside B&B Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing