We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect days in Keswick”
Review of Burnside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burnside B&B
Ranked #5 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We spend four nights in Burnside B&B and can highly recommend it to everyone who come to Keswick. Sharon gave us a lot of recommendations for eating and walking and she is always keen to help with information. We stayed at room 2, a cosy and pretty nice furnished room. The breakfast menu has a large selection of delicious variations. There's surely something for everone. Try out the wafels with banana and sultanas in a toffee sauce, mmmh.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hardyuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi Christine & Hartmut,

It was a pleasure to meet you both & thank you for choosing to stay here at Burnside.
A huge thank you for all your very kind words , it was my pleasure looking after you both.

Hope you get the chance to visit the lakes again it would be lovely to see you again.

Best Wishes,

Sharon xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
There are newer reviews for Burnside B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

I can highly recommend the Burnside Bed & Breakfast, we have stayed twice now and are already booked for next year, if not before holidays allowing.
Sharon & Pete are fantastic hosts, nothing is to much trouble.
Rooms are lovely and the food is gorgeous.
Can't wait until I return.
Thank you Sharon & Pete for another great stay
Pam & Jimmy xx

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam01110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi Pam & Jimmy,

A huge thank you for writing us a lovely review it's very kind of you both.
It was lovely to see you both again & thank you for booking with us next year. Hopefully the sun will be beaming for you again & you can enjoy the beer festival & look at the views at the same time.

Hope you get time off so you can visit again & don't have to wait a year to enjoy the countryside.

See you both next time,

Best Wishes,

Sharon xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Sharon never fails to give the warmest of welcomes whatever time of day or night. My room was spotless ,warm and spacious I had the family room for the single rate - perfect. Early breakfast - no problem and includes smoked salmon, full English or whatever takes your fancy! Excellent all round value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynneW156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi Lynne,

Thank you so much for your lovely review it's so kind of you to make time for doing this when I know how busy you are.
It's always a pleasure to welcome you back here & I was pleased I could offer you room 2 as you loved it.

Hope you do get time to visit your family soon.Looking forward to seeing you next time your in Keswick.

Best Wishes,

Sharon xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We've lost count of the amount of times that we've stayed at Burnside now, but this won't be our last visit! A fabulous and warm welcome from Sharon who remains an excellent host and ensures a warm and welcoming stay. The rooms are beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean. The breakfasts are superb - you certainly won't leave hungry! We would recommend Burnside to any body.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevEnsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Good evening Neil & Bev,

A massive thank you for posting us such a fantastic review again.
It's always lovely to see you both & thank you for always coming to stay here.
You were so lucky the weather was fantastic for you huge walk well done.
Looking forward to seeing you both next time you have some spare time.

Best Wishes,

Sharon xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Back for the second time in 4 years. Friendly hosts went out of the way to make sure we had an enjoyable stay. The breakfasts were fantastic - especially the homemade waffles! One of the best breakfast's we had in our 2 week trip. Sharon helped to provide us with several ideas for good hikes and even packed us sandwiches on the day we departed, for our bus trip/train ride to Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shebeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi Shirley & Michael,
Thank you very much for booking with us once again it means so much especially when you come from the other side of the world to do so.
Yes & thank's for all your kind words especially mentioning the waffles which you still remembered after 4 years.
I really hope the rest of your trip went well & you've got some great memories again. Hopefully you'll get the chance to come & sample the waffles again some day.

Very Best Wishes,
Sharon xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Once again we have been back to this B and B for our 4th stay and have to say it has been another great experience. Everything we could ask for from the comfortable bed to the delicious breakfast .. We were once again welcomed by Sharon who we have to say is an excellent host and is very knowledgeable of the surrounding areas, we were made to feel at home and have to say we will be back very soon, actually we have booked again for October and are looking forward to it, again, many thanks Sharon.. Mark and Lynn....

Room Tip: Room 2 is great....
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi Mark & Lynn,
A huge thank you for writing us yet again a fantastic review. It's always a pleasure looking after you both & I'm looking forward to seeing you both again in October. Hope the week end went well & not too many bad heads Mark.

I did manage to save Pete some of the ginger bread thank you once again.

Best Wishes,

Sharon. xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This really is an excellent B & B and Sharon is an outstanding hostess. We appreciated the warm welcome we received, the comfortable clean and tastefully appointed room and the delicious breakfasts. Sharon's knowledge of the area, places to visit and the best local restaurants were very helpful and enhanced our stay. The whole area is just beautiful and we would highly recommend a visit to Keswick and staying at Burnside.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lissyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hi Lissyann,

Many thank's for taking the time to write us such a fantastic review.
It was my pleasure looking after you both & thank's for choosing to stay here with us.
I really enjoy talking to my guests & always want them to get the best out of Keswick & the surrounding area.
Once again I'm thrilled I managed to do that for you both.
Hope to see you again soon,
Best Wishes,
Sharon xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
734 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
645 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#1 of 189 in Keswick
388 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#8 of 189 in Keswick
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnside B&B

Address: Burnside Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £80 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharon & Peter Garner look forward to welcoming you to their 4 Star B&B 1 mile / 10-15 minutes stroll from Keswick's Market Square; where traditional cosy hospitality complimented by hotel standard bedrooms & breakfasts at B&B prices. Burnside has been refurbished to a high standard reflected by our 'Excellent' Tripadvisor Award. All our meticulously clean en-suite bedrooms have flat screen TVs, thermostatically controlled heating, complimentary, towels toiletries and Fair trade refreshment trays. We also apart from traditional full English breakfasts offer. Vegi English /homemade sausages Home made waffles & toffee sauce with banana & sultanas Smoked salmon + either scrambled or poached free range eggs Omelettes & much more. All can be Gluten free please ask when booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Burnside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnside B&B Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing