We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B!”
Review of Burnside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burnside B&B
Ranked #6 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful B&B!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Burnside B&B for two nights over the weekend and couldn't have asked for a more pleasant stay! Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean - a lot of effort has been put into the decoration, resulting in traditional but tasteful accommodation that makes for a really comfortable stay. The owner, Sharon, is really friendly and helpful and gave us loads of great tips about things to do in Keswick. (She also seems to be very waste conscious and uses fair trade produce for the breakfasts which I thought was great!) Breakfast was delicious and generous, loads of cereals to choose from, toast, fruit, juices, great coffee and a variety of cooked food. Yum!

I highly recommend Burnside B&B, it really helped make our weekend and is excellent value for the top quality welcome and comfort it provides. I will definitely go back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Lizzy,

I'm so pleased I made a difference to you both enjoying the best places to go & eat ect.

Thank's for all your lovely kind words also about your trip & staying here.

I'm so pleased you loved the decor & yes it did take us a long time planning everything, but we think it's all worth while.

We would love to welcome you both again next time you are up this way.

Best Wishes,

Sharon xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
461
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights (one of which we spent on top of Helvellyn to watch sun set and sun rise)
Sharon is lovely, we are seasoned walkers and visit regularly. This was our first visit to Burnside B&B, but it won't most definitely be the last. Would highly recommend this to all. we stayed in room four, it was very spacious absolutely spotlessly clean and fresh, smelled lovely. Breakfast was most enjoyable (both times, Sharon kept the late slot for us as we didn't get in till 7am after coming down from Helvellyn, which enabled us to have 2 hours sleep) especially the local free range eggs.If you are like us and just want to walk the fells till late and want a home from home that is welcoming to lay your tired head and aching legs then you could do no better than Burnside.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donamcguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Good evening to you both,

Many thanks for your very kind words.

It was lovely to meet you both & thank you for booking with us.

Hope you have recovered after your long night out on the hills, should have had a mini bed up there for you, would it have helped?

Hope to see you both again ,

Best Wishes to you both,

Sharon xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had a great stay for 4 nights, the breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice Sharon was very welcoming and provided plenty of local walks and places to visit which for us was very useful as it was our first visit to the area. We stayed in room 4 which was spacious and immaculately clean. I will definitely stay here again on my next visit to the area.

Rob & Shirley Warwickshire

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rparry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Rob & Shirley,

Many thanks for booking with us it was my pleasure looking after you both here at Burnside.

I'm really pleased you enjoyed everything in the lakes & the weather was really kind to you also.

Thank you for your lovely review & hope you get chance to come & see us again soon.


Maybe some larger hill or not!!


Very Best Wishes to you both,

Sharon xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just returned from spending 5 nights at this excellent B&B. Sharon served super breakfasts with lots of choice. She was also helpful with local information like walks, bus rides and best places for evening meals. Beautiful part of the country, can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are larger, though probably a bit of road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrissieC95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi to you both,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a kind review thank you.

Hope you both enjoyed the lakes & call again when your up to see your son next time.

Best Wishes,

Sharon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just stayed here for 3 nights.
Sharon is lovely, helpful, friendly, very hospitable, we enjoyed our choice of breakfast.
We slept in Room 2, spacious, exceptionally clean, road frontage with some road noise but it didn't disturb our sleep, after a busy day driving and walking the lovely countryside.
Parking just across the road, easy access with your luggage.
No hesitation in recommending this B&B.
Please see their web site for full details on room configuration before you book.

Kevin & Cherie, Auckland, NZ
ps sorry clicked on pool in error no pool at this B&B

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev-Cherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Reading previous reviews ,we can only agree with all that has been said,we found not just a place to stay, but a friend as well.shall we be going back? you can bet your life we will.Sharon will advise you where to eat, where to walk, what to see, the only thing it seems she does not control, is the weather, but would you believe, on our trip, it was warm and sunny.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi David & Ann,

The review you have taken time to write for me is so very sweet thank you so much.

I also feel like I have met 2 very lovely friends.

I was pleased you were able to get your walk round the lake & the boat trip also.

Thank your son for recommending us once again & hope you get time to come & visit us again.

Finally not forgetting thank you so much for the fantastic card you sent me it's beautiful.

Your painting looks brilliant .

Hope to see you soon,

Best Wishes,

Sharon xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I have just spent a lovely week at Burnside B+B.A warm welcome met us on arrival. Sharon and Pete could not have done enough for us. Our room was spacious and comfy,and the excellent breakfast helped us to walk all day. Have booked again for September.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 and it was cosy and spacious was happy to return to it after a good days walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hi you two,

Well thank you very much for a lovely review & once again for staying here with us at Burnside.

I'm really looking forward to you both coming to stay again in September, who knows what I've got planned this time!

Best Wishes to you both,

Sharon xx See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
591 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
600 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#2 of 175 in Keswick
351 reviews
0.9 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#10 of 175 in Keswick
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnside B&B

Property: Burnside B&B
Address: Burnside Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharon & Peter Garner look forward to welcoming you to their 4 Star B&B 1 mile / 10-15 minutes stroll from Keswick's Market Square; where traditional cosy hospitality complimented by hotel standard bedrooms & breakfasts at B&B prices. Burnside has been refurbished to a high standard reflected by our 'Excellent' Tripadvisor Award. All our meticulously clean en-suite bedrooms have flat screen TVs, thermostatically controlled heating, complimentary, towels toiletries and Fair trade refreshment trays. We also apart from traditional full English breakfasts offer. Vegi English /homemade sausages Home made waffles & toffee sauce with banana & sultanas Smoked salmon + either scrambled or poached free range eggs Omelettes & much more. All can be Gluten free please ask when booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Burnside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnside B&B Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing