We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Burnside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burnside B&B
Ranked #7 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
“A gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Beautiful B&B, with some unique features, especially the Teddy with a sense of humour, appearing in various places in the room over the course of our stay, a welcome diversion from tired feet at the end of a days walking. Clean and comfortable, wide range of delicious breakfast choices. Friendly, helpful host. It takes a lot to impress my 17 year old daughter! I will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi you two,
Are you feeling rested after you long journey back home? It was my pleasure to meet you both & I was so pleased you enjoyed my humor.
Thank you for all your very kind comments on our room, I'm pleased you enjoyed staying here.

Best of luck next week with exam results & I look forward to seeing you again when you get the chance to plan some more walks.

Best Wishes,

Sharon.xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
452
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We have always stayed in self-catering apartments on previous trips but opted for b & b as we left it so late. Good choice, we will always b & b from now on and would definitely recommend Burnside. I was on my own for the first part of the trip and felt so relaxed and welcome and the breakfasts were lovely. The room was really nice as well, thanks Sharon for a great stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank caraobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi Cara,

Many thanks for writing us a brilliant review.
It was my pleasure to have you both here at Burnside & I'm pleased you're converted.
I'm pleased you enjoyed my breakfast choices & even made one up yourself.
I' managed to go to the Threlkeld tea room finally & yes it is lovely ,now I know why you went back again.
Hope next time you need to stretch your legs on the hills you will give us a call.It would be great to see you both again.

Best Wishes to you,

Sharon.xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at this b&b for 4 nights and had a very pleasant time. Our room was lovely and very clean with a comfortable bed (however the shower was a bit small). The breakfast's were lovely although there could have been a wider choice available.We were always offered extra toast which meant the breakfasts were great value for money as well as being offered extra bacon when my girlfriend did not have an egg on her full english. We had a very comfortable stay and Sharon was very friendly and helpful. We had excellent weather and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If we are in the area we will definitely be back again for a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 126happycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi Happy couple,
Many thanks for writing us a review & for staying with us.
Thank you for all your kind comments. I only wished you had tried some more of my breakfast choices, you would have loved them.
I was pleased you had lovely weather for most of the time & even got in the Lake for a swim,how lovely.
Best of luck with your new start at uni.

Best Wishes,
Sharon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkirkara, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed for 6 nights in this excellent B&B in Keswick. Breakfast was simply delicious and our hostess was so kind and helpful. We all felt very welcome and our son always looked forward to go back in the evenings to see where teddy was hiding. Rooms were spotless and very comfortable. I would absolutely recommend this B&B. Thank you Sharon for such a lovely stay xx

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xerin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hi Sharon,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
It was an absolute pleasure looking after you all here at Burnside & hope you will get the chance to return one day.

I was really pleased the weather was so kind to you , I did tell you when you booked a year ago that I would order you some sunshine & I did.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay here, it was great to meet you & your lovely family.

Hope your journey back to Malta went well.

Best Wishes,

Sharon.xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely b&b! Stayed after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and they were not wrong. The b&b is exceptionally clean and the hostess Sharon is lovely. Excellent breakfast in the morning too. Will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi Katie,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a really lovely review.
Well what a holiday you had who needs to go anywhere else with weather like you got.FANTASTIC!

Are you both having a rest after all your hard work on the hill tops?

Hope to see you both soon & don't work too hard.Lovely to meet you both.

Best Wishes,

Sharon. xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed for one night in this beautiful B&B in the Lake District. We booked online while travelling & were welcomed on arrival by the lovely hostess Sharon. We had a top floor room, which may be a problem if you are unable to climb stairs, we were quite happy with it, I am sure you could request a lower room. Our room was delightful, as was the whole place, from the friendly, smiling owner, to the beautifully decorated rooms with many added extras. The room itself was spacious and clean and quiet, even though it is at the front of the house. Nothing was too much of a problem for the owner and the breakfast served in the dining room was delicious. We were offered hints on places to eat and visit as well as information about the B&B during our stay. I would not hesitate in recommending this place to visitors to the area.

Room Tip: Request a lower room if you are unable to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholiday08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Hi you two,
A huge thank you for taking the time to write us a fantastic review I know how busy you are fitting everything in so thanks again.

Hope you are enjoying the rest of the country as much as the lakes & maybe you will have time to come over here again some day.

Best Wishes to you both,

Sharon.xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I recently spent three very comfortable nights at this lovely B & B. It was absolutely spotless and nothing was too much trouble for our host, Sharon who made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were delicious too. If anyone is planning a break in Keswick we can highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenidav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Hi to you both,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a lovely review.

It was my pleasure looking after you both & once again thanks for all your kind words.

Hope you can get the time to visit us again,

Best Wishes,

Sharon.xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#10 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.9 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#3 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnside B&B

Property: Burnside B&B
Address: Burnside Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharon & Peter Garner look forward to welcoming you to their 4 Star B&B 1 mile / 10-15 minutes stroll from Keswick's Market Square; where traditional cosy hospitality complimented by hotel standard bedrooms & breakfasts at B&B prices. Burnside has been refurbished to a high standard reflected by our 'Excellent' Tripadvisor Award. All our meticulously clean en-suite bedrooms have flat screen TVs, thermostatically controlled heating, complimentary, towels toiletries and Fair trade refreshment trays. We also apart from traditional full English breakfasts offer. Vegi English /homemade sausages Home made waffles & toffee sauce with banana & sultanas Smoked salmon + either scrambled or poached free range eggs Omelettes & much more. All can be Gluten free please ask when booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Burnside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnside B&B Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing