We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Burnside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burnside B&B
Ranked #3 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

From the time you arrive to the sad departure, you feel very welcome at Sharon and Pete's B&B. The standard of the rooms and the extras provided make your stay comfortable and relaxed. You know at the end of a tiring day you will go back to a warm and cosy room where you will be able to get a good rest for the next enjoyable day. In the morning you are given a cheery greeting and a wonderful breakfast to get you energized for the day ahead. This has been a lovely stay and I would recommend Sharon and Pete's B&B to anyone visiting who wants a friendly and relaxing stay.
We will be back as soon as we can.
Fiona.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FionaSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

A warm and welcoming place to stay. Sharon and Pete really make you welcome and have lots of local knowledge that they are happy to pass on if asked. The rooms are top notch, clean and comfortable, with all you need for a relaxing stay. The breakfast menu provides for a variety of diets and there is always enough to set you up for the day. We will continue to visit this really great B&B, because we are never disappointed, no matter what time of the year we are in the lakes.
Thanks to Sharon and Pete.
Rob

Room Tip: Room No.2 is a family room, but makes a really spacious double room for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank frazappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was our second visit to burnside and we loved it just as much as our first visit, if not more! Sharon is a really lovely lady and a great host. Rooms are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Breakfast is second to none and we would heartily recommend the waffles as the perfect start to any day exploring keswick and the surrounding area. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emj2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hi Emily,
Great to hear from you again. Did you have a lovely day a your friends wedding after you left?
Hope the sun came out for you.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a fantastic review ,it means so much to us.

Well I know you really love the waffles 3 days in a row proves that.
Hope to see you both again soon I'll have the waffles ready for you.

Best Wishes,

Sharon.xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Beautiful B&B, with some unique features, especially the Teddy with a sense of humour, appearing in various places in the room over the course of our stay, a welcome diversion from tired feet at the end of a days walking. Clean and comfortable, wide range of delicious breakfast choices. Friendly, helpful host. It takes a lot to impress my 17 year old daughter! I will return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hi you two,
Are you feeling rested after you long journey back home? It was my pleasure to meet you both & I was so pleased you enjoyed my humor.
Thank you for all your very kind comments on our room, I'm pleased you enjoyed staying here.

Best of luck next week with exam results & I look forward to seeing you again when you get the chance to plan some more walks.

Best Wishes,

Sharon.xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have always stayed in self-catering apartments on previous trips but opted for b & b as we left it so late. Good choice, we will always b & b from now on and would definitely recommend Burnside. I was on my own for the first part of the trip and felt so relaxed and welcome and the breakfasts were lovely. The room was really nice as well, thanks Sharon for a great stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank caraobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hi Cara,

Many thanks for writing us a brilliant review.
It was my pleasure to have you both here at Burnside & I'm pleased you're converted.
I'm pleased you enjoyed my breakfast choices & even made one up yourself.
I' managed to go to the Threlkeld tea room finally & yes it is lovely ,now I know why you went back again.
Hope next time you need to stretch your legs on the hills you will give us a call.It would be great to see you both again.

Best Wishes to you,

Sharon.xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at this b&b for 4 nights and had a very pleasant time. Our room was lovely and very clean with a comfortable bed (however the shower was a bit small). The breakfast's were lovely although there could have been a wider choice available.We were always offered extra toast which meant the breakfasts were great value for money as well as being offered extra bacon when my girlfriend did not have an egg on her full english. We had a very comfortable stay and Sharon was very friendly and helpful. We had excellent weather and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If we are in the area we will definitely be back again for a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 126happycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hi Happy couple,
Many thanks for writing us a review & for staying with us.
Thank you for all your kind comments. I only wished you had tried some more of my breakfast choices, you would have loved them.
I was pleased you had lovely weather for most of the time & even got in the Lake for a swim,how lovely.
Best of luck with your new start at uni.

Best Wishes,
Sharon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed for 6 nights in this excellent B&B in Keswick. Breakfast was simply delicious and our hostess was so kind and helpful. We all felt very welcome and our son always looked forward to go back in the evenings to see where teddy was hiding. Rooms were spotless and very comfortable. I would absolutely recommend this B&B. Thank you Sharon for such a lovely stay xx

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank xerin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Hi Sharon,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
It was an absolute pleasure looking after you all here at Burnside & hope you will get the chance to return one day.

I was really pleased the weather was so kind to you , I did tell you when you booked a year ago that I would order you some sunshine & I did.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay here, it was great to meet you & your lovely family.

Hope your journey back to Malta went well.

Best Wishes,

Sharon.xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 189 in Keswick
383 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 189 in Keswick
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#11 of 189 in Keswick
564 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beeches Guest House
The Beeches Guest House
#38 of 189 in Keswick
296 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#8 of 189 in Keswick
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnside B&B

Address: Burnside Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £80 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharon & Peter Garner look forward to welcoming you to their 4 Star B&B 1 mile / 10-15 minutes stroll from Keswick's Market Square; where traditional cosy hospitality complimented by hotel standard bedrooms & breakfasts at B&B prices. Burnside has been refurbished to a high standard reflected by our 'Excellent' Tripadvisor Award. All our meticulously clean en-suite bedrooms have flat screen TVs, thermostatically controlled heating, complimentary, towels toiletries and Fair trade refreshment trays. We also apart from traditional full English breakfasts offer. Vegi English /homemade sausages Home made waffles & toffee sauce with banana & sultanas Smoked salmon + either scrambled or poached free range eggs Omelettes & much more. All can be Gluten free please ask when booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Burnside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnside B&B Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing