We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Break in Keswick”
Review of Burnside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burnside B&B
Ranked #6 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Break in Keswick”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Have just spent a lovely few days in Keswick staying at the Burnside B&B and been made to feel most welcome. The owner Sharon couldn't have been more helpful, always there to answer any queries we had concerning eating out, nice places to visit and anything else we needed to ask her and always with a big smile on her face. Our en suite room was spacious and spotlessly clean with everything you would expect, the added extra being the teddy bear, who's position changed on a daily basis on our return to our room, we always wondered where he would turn up next!! Plenty of choice on the breakfast menu and very well cooked and served in a lovely cosy room with a wood burning fire, by the ever smiling Sharon. I had a different choice of breakfast every morning and was never disappointed, I can also vouch for the full English, as my partner enjoyed it every morning, all good quality ingredients. Located a 10/15 min walk from the market square, or a £2.90 taxi fare from our friendly taxi driver Eric. Spoiled for choice for eating places, we tried The Pheasant Inn and Sienna's, both excellent, and you must try the renowned Goulash at The Dog and Gun.....delicious! Agree with the other reviewers that this B&B is a little gem.

Room Tip: Quite a few stairs to top floor, request a lower room if any walking difficulties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhairi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
457
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for four nights. The b&b was lovely and homely. Sharon was very friendly and helpful from the start to the end.

The breakfasts were lovely with a large selection. They kept us full for a large proportion of the day. The porridge was lovely and creamy and my partner was very taken with the omlettes.

I would definitely recommend the place and was in a good position to explore the lakes. We went all over the south, central, West and east lakes.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

From the time you arrive to the sad departure, you feel very welcome at Sharon and Pete's B&B. The standard of the rooms and the extras provided make your stay comfortable and relaxed. You know at the end of a tiring day you will go back to a warm and cosy room where you will be able to get a good rest for the next enjoyable day. In the morning you are given a cheery greeting and a wonderful breakfast to get you energized for the day ahead. This has been a lovely stay and I would recommend Sharon and Pete's B&B to anyone visiting who wants a friendly and relaxing stay.
We will be back as soon as we can.
Fiona.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A warm and welcoming place to stay. Sharon and Pete really make you welcome and have lots of local knowledge that they are happy to pass on if asked. The rooms are top notch, clean and comfortable, with all you need for a relaxing stay. The breakfast menu provides for a variety of diets and there is always enough to set you up for the day. We will continue to visit this really great B&B, because we are never disappointed, no matter what time of the year we are in the lakes.
Thanks to Sharon and Pete.
Rob

Room Tip: Room No.2 is a family room, but makes a really spacious double room for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frazappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was our second visit to burnside and we loved it just as much as our first visit, if not more! Sharon is a really lovely lady and a great host. Rooms are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Breakfast is second to none and we would heartily recommend the waffles as the perfect start to any day exploring keswick and the surrounding area. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emj2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi Emily,
Great to hear from you again. Did you have a lovely day a your friends wedding after you left?
Hope the sun came out for you.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a fantastic review ,it means so much to us.

Well I know you really love the waffles 3 days in a row proves that.
Hope to see you both again soon I'll have the waffles ready for you.

Best Wishes,

Sharon.xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Beautiful B&B, with some unique features, especially the Teddy with a sense of humour, appearing in various places in the room over the course of our stay, a welcome diversion from tired feet at the end of a days walking. Clean and comfortable, wide range of delicious breakfast choices. Friendly, helpful host. It takes a lot to impress my 17 year old daughter! I will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi you two,
Are you feeling rested after you long journey back home? It was my pleasure to meet you both & I was so pleased you enjoyed my humor.
Thank you for all your very kind comments on our room, I'm pleased you enjoyed staying here.

Best of luck next week with exam results & I look forward to seeing you again when you get the chance to plan some more walks.

Best Wishes,

Sharon.xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We have always stayed in self-catering apartments on previous trips but opted for b & b as we left it so late. Good choice, we will always b & b from now on and would definitely recommend Burnside. I was on my own for the first part of the trip and felt so relaxed and welcome and the breakfasts were lovely. The room was really nice as well, thanks Sharon for a great stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank caraobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi Cara,

Many thanks for writing us a brilliant review.
It was my pleasure to have you both here at Burnside & I'm pleased you're converted.
I'm pleased you enjoyed my breakfast choices & even made one up yourself.
I' managed to go to the Threlkeld tea room finally & yes it is lovely ,now I know why you went back again.
Hope next time you need to stretch your legs on the hills you will give us a call.It would be great to see you both again.

Best Wishes to you,

Sharon.xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#12 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.9 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#2 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnside B&B

Property: Burnside B&B
Address: Burnside Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharon & Peter Garner look forward to welcoming you to their 4 Star B&B 1 mile / 10-15 minutes stroll from Keswick's Market Square; where traditional cosy hospitality complimented by hotel standard bedrooms & breakfasts at B&B prices. Burnside has been refurbished to a high standard reflected by our 'Excellent' Tripadvisor Award. All our meticulously clean en-suite bedrooms have flat screen TVs, thermostatically controlled heating, complimentary, towels toiletries and Fair trade refreshment trays. We also apart from traditional full English breakfasts offer. Vegi English /homemade sausages Home made waffles & toffee sauce with banana & sultanas Smoked salmon + either scrambled or poached free range eggs Omelettes & much more. All can be Gluten free please ask when booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Burnside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnside B&B Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing