We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, lovely people...”
Review of Burnside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burnside B&B
Ranked #6 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place, lovely people...”
Reviewed 6 July 2009

This B&B is situated on the outskirts of Keswick on Penrith Road which leads directly in to the town centre. We arrived mid-afternoon and were given a very warm reception from Sharon who gave up her time to introduce herself and make us feel very welcome. The room we stayed in was large with a clean and tidy en-suite shower and WC. There is a large bay window in this room from which you can sit and watch the world go by. The room had recently been refurbished to a very high standard with a large flat screen TV hanging unobtrusively on the wall next to the ornate fireplace. Breakfast was chosen in the evening as well as the time that you wanted to eat. On both days breakfast was superb, really setting you up for the day ahead and served with a big smile from the genial hostess.

There are numerous walks in the vicinity which can easily be accessed straight from the front door of this B&B, removing the necessity of having a car whilst staying there.

I would definitely recommend this B&B to family and friends and indeed anyone who is looking for a nice welcoming place to stay in Keswick.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
461
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oxford,england
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2009

Just brilliant, great people,really clean with excellant on-suite shower facility and a real welcome to the lakes view from the bedroom window.breakfasts were great with my wifes funny food diet being better catered for than most 5 star hotels we have stayed in.Hosts help ensured we saw the most in the time there and ate at the 'better and safer'places who needs a dodgy curry ?.a big thankyou for a great much needed break

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sturdys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2009

Had a lovely start to every day with superb, freshly cooked english breakfast. Hosts were helpful, friendly and the accomodation was superbly clean and modern. Will definetly be returning sometime in the future.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharpie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields/ Tyne & Wear
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2009

We have been staying here for the last 5 years, Sharon and Peter are the perfect hosts and the B & B is just perfect if you want to relax and get away from the hum drum of life. As always the rooms are immaculate and the many little special touches make Burnside one of lifes hidden treasures, only a 10 minute walk from Keswick town centre and slap bang in the middle of the beautiful Lake District. The recent refurbishment of the rooms only adds to the pleaseure of staying at Burnside. We would not hesitate in recommending Burnside to anyone, we will definately return in the future. Our friends from Kent having never visited the Lakes before were also delighted at the relaxing location of Burnside whilst also only being a drive away from many other beautiful places to visit. Go on go visit you will wonder why you have never visited before!
Diane & Stephen Carr - South Shields

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipsydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2009

Best B&B I have used in Keswick. Very friendly staff and breakfast very good too. The staff posted back my compass when I left it in the room, totally beyond the call of duty. I can only speak highly of the Burnside guest house, and will be returning in future.

Dr Dave Lewis.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Dave_Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland Lancashire Uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

A very well appointed B&B in one of Cumbrias favourite towns. Although the B&B is a 15 minute walk from the Center of Keswick, I would reccomend it thoroughly for your week or weekend away. It's traditional style ....(no minimalism here) ... is lovely. Beautifully decorated and appointed this small bed and breakfast (3 rooms) has been totally reappointed and wonderfully furnished. A very filling English breakfast is just what you need to start your day and Sharon and Peter provide just that.
Highly reccomended ...... book early, we only just squeezed in.
5 Stars * * * * *

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rohojamagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Exactly what a B&B should be! Very clean cosy room, good food and friendly welcoming owners. Easy to park, a bit of a walk into town but not too far. Overall we had a lovely weekend and will be returning. Many thanks.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
590 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
600 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#2 of 175 in Keswick
351 reviews
0.9 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#10 of 175 in Keswick
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnside B&B

Property: Burnside B&B
Address: Burnside Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharon & Peter Garner look forward to welcoming you to their 4 Star B&B 1 mile / 10-15 minutes stroll from Keswick's Market Square; where traditional cosy hospitality complimented by hotel standard bedrooms & breakfasts at B&B prices. Burnside has been refurbished to a high standard reflected by our 'Excellent' Tripadvisor Award. All our meticulously clean en-suite bedrooms have flat screen TVs, thermostatically controlled heating, complimentary, towels toiletries and Fair trade refreshment trays. We also apart from traditional full English breakfasts offer. Vegi English /homemade sausages Home made waffles & toffee sauce with banana & sultanas Smoked salmon + either scrambled or poached free range eggs Omelettes & much more. All can be Gluten free please ask when booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Burnside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnside B&B Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing