We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very relaxing”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Lawrencea...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The owners, Maria and David are really nice people and only too willing to help with any queries. The house has been sympathetically renovated and retains a lot of original old world charm. The ladies loved the hot tub and the outside seating area became a little sun trap later on. The utility room made a great little snug as it has 2 comfy chairs, small dining table and a compact but very efficient wood burner. We had a very relaxing week there and did a lot of exploring as it was our first time in keswick. The only downside was the hot water system, we found that the best way to take a shower was using one at a time and not to turn on any other taps.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cold showers
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
29 Sep 2013
Thank you for your review on Greta Mill

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at this property. The owners have tried to keep a little traditional charm but incorporate a touch of modern luxury.

We hope to welcome you back to Greta Mill or another one of our properties in the future.

Kind Regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonDon
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Spacious, character-full house in a great Lake District location”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My family (2 adults and two teenagers) and our friends (2 adults and a teenager) really enjoyed our week at Greta Mill. The living accommodation was very spacious, which included a dining kitchen, snug and large L-shaped living room. Three of the bedrooms were very large, with the front bedroom enjoying spectacular views of Skiddaw, River Greta and Fitz Park. The courtyard is a sun trap and contains the wonderful hot tub (unfortunately now and additional £100 supplement) which was very welcome after a long day walking. It is located a few minutes walk away from the centre of Keswick with all the facilities, shops and cafe's, and is within 5 minutes walk of the lake. The cottage is also just across the road from the lovely Fitz Park with the bowls, lawn tennis and putting activities. There were a few minor niggles - mainly the road noise through the single glazed windows and the inadequate plumbing for the en-suite shower facilities. However, these are minor issues and would not deter me from booking again..................but it would be nice if they were improved. Lastly, do not trust the google maps location for this cottage. Greta Mill is on the corner of Penrith Road and Wordsworth Street with off road parking for two large cars. The office for collecting the keys is then down Station Street (about a 400 yard walk from the cottage). Also, the google maps / street view picture is old (pre-refurbishment) and not representative of the way the cottage looks now. The garage has gone and the walls and windows have been repainted.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub, location, character of property, spacious rooms
Liked least: Road noise, low water pressure in shower facilities
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithRD
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Stunning House”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

What a magnificent house! Great location in Keswick for the Convention Centre in Skiddaw Street. My wife & I stayed here with our extended family - 6 adults, 3 children and an infant. Excellent facilities, en-suite in each of the 4 bedrooms. I can't understand one review who complained about this! We found all the catering utensils to be just right. The Hot Tub was a great bonus for the children (and adults!). Maria (the owner) couldn't have been more helpful. The only downside was that the letting agents don't operate a loyalty scheme enabling guests to have first option to re-book for the following year (not the owners fault!). Note that your green bin (paper/cardboard) may not get emptied (ours didn't). Would definitely re-book another year!

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No loyalty scheme to re-book the following year
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham
Reviewed 13 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Date of stay: July 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Jul 2013
Thank you for your recent review for this property.

We have passed a copy of your review to the owner for their information.

We do advise all guests to contact the office or the owner as soon as possible should you have any problems with your property. Unfortunately, on this occasion, we did not receive a call regarding the issues you have raised above. Had we been made aware of your concerns we would have acted immediately to ensure that your stay was as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

Greta Mill has been sympathetically and lovingly renovated by the owners using their flare for design. It is extremely popular with large families and groups of friends. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at this property but hope to welcome you back to the Lake District in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lanark
Reviewed 24 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Date of stay: April 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Northumberland
Reviewed 19 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Date of stay: February 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cambridge
Reviewed 11 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Date of stay: November 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.