We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bouchey22
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hive Ruined our Stay”
Reviewed 15 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

I will start by saying that Lakes Cottage Holidays (who we booked through) were very helpful and I appreciate the help they gave us in giving us a number of heaters.

However I can only surmise that the owner of this particular property hasn't been doing holiday lets for too long. The fact that upon arrival at the property there was no hot water or heating was unacceptable. My Nan who is 86 was staying with us and without the heaters that LCH kindly provided she would have been near freezing for the first night. This all down to the fact that the owner "forgot" to manually set the Hive system to be on.

My father also informed me that the heating was cold on the Sunday which would suggest to me that the owner only heats the property from a set time on a Friday until a set time on a Sunday. This is not right as you can be in the property form 15:00 Friday until 10:00 on the Monday. But clearly the owner either wants to force people out or try to save money on the bills.

The electrical wiring must be bodged also as the fuse kept tripping out, meaning that half the lights went out as well as items plugged into sockets. We had to change a bulb which had blown in the third bedroom, which is a nice thing to do on a family break.

There are 6 beds, it's not unclean and the shower (when not sub zero) is very powerful. The parking isn't great but then it never really is in Keswick. I've been going there since I was 5 years old, so I normally know what to expect. But there are certain expectations you have about a property and FC just didn't get the basics right at all. All this results in unhappy visitors.

So in summary: LCH is good but Fountain Cottage is not. I would avoid if I were you. There are much better options, but if you are desperate or quite like Fawlty Towers then this may be for you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2017
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Fountain Cottage. You reported the heat and hot water was not working on the day of your arrival. This was working when the property was checked prior to your arrival. The annual British Gas service was completed shortly prior to your arrival also. Nevertheless, British Gas were called out and attended the following day. Meanwhile, the office received a call from yourselves the day after your arrival, early morning, advising us that the hot water and heating were working. The issue was not a HIVE issue. Please be assured the electrical wiring is perfectly safe and legal with the appropriate certificates in place. Unfortunately bulbs do "pop" from time to time and when we advised you where to find a bulb in the property you stated you were happy to replace that without waiting for us to attend the property to do that on your behalf. As a company we pride ourselves on excellent customer service and go out of our way to ensure guests have an enjoyable stay with us. We are disappointed that Fountain Cottage did not meet with your expectations. Nevertheless, we hope to welcome you to a different property in the future.

Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife2...
Closeburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“VERY DISAPPOINTING STAY”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

House advertised for 6 people with garden. Garden is postage stamp size at front, one parking space, other family members have to park past petrol station on High Hill, not near house. Stairs to 3rd bedroom so steep and narrow, so unsafe we didn't use the bedroom. Light on dressing table, cooker hood, 2 in the bathroom and 2 in the kitchen didn't work, fused. On entering the house, the smell of damp was unbelievable, it was a wet mop in the cupboard under the stairs, which I put outside for the weekend. The whole house is in need of decoration, walls are far from clean. we have stayed in holiday cottage in Keswick for over 30 years. this is the worst yet and certainly not worth the money.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2017
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Fountain Cottage. We are disappointed to read that you had issues during your stay. As a company we do pride ourselves on excellent customer service and go out of our way to ensure guests have an enjoyable holiday with us which is why we ask guests to make us aware of any issues during their stay so that we have an opportunity to address them. We would have been happy to have the cleaner return to the property to change the light bulbs and sort out the mop. We do advertise the property as having a steep staircase, parking for 1 car and a small cottage style garden. Fountain cottage is a very popular holiday let and decoration usually takes place in the quieter winter months. Nevertheless we do hope these issues did not detract too much from your stay and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
171Linda
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just stayed at Fountain Cottage with my daughter and friends for a weekend. We were with a walking group so there was loads of lovely walks, the cottage was close to town so it was a great base to start off from. The cattage was very clean and had everything you needed to make our stay perfect. Lovely place yes would recommend this very large cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2017
Thank you for you review following your recent stay at Fountain Cottage. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that the cottage was perfect. We look forward to welcoming back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane r
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic, close to town, one car park space.”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic weekend in Fountain Cottage - Kitchen had everything we needed, lovely sitting room with ample chairs,tables, TV, games and brill Wifi connection. Only one Bathroom which is on the next floor but a lovely size with a fab shower then a very large double and twin bedroom and then the attic space holds another space with twin beds - stairs are quite steep so just take your time . Cottage has its own car space but is quite tight but it's fine and very handy use the back lane to the far left of the cottage as you look at it from the front and its then behind the large blue gate (not the lane closest to the cottage). The views from all rooms are beautiful , river greta is just outside the cottage as you start to walk into Keswick which is a nice 5-10 min walk, lake is then another 15 mins but longer as there is to much to see on the way...........
Can not wait to go back and just hope I can stay at Fountain Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything not faults
Liked least: Nothing only things to say just pop in a few of your coat hangers
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2015
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Fountain Cottage. We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay and can't wait to return. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyn171
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice house close to centre of town”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Nice house with three good sized bedrooms. Kitchen had everything you needed, would recommend you take a sharp knife though. Living room now have two sofas which were very comfortable. Heater in living room very effective, got cool at night due to stone floors throughout the ground floor which were lovely. There is no garden to speak of. There is a large yard at the back that you share with three other houses. Large enough for 4 of us to sit out, but took our own camping chairs. 100 yards away is access to River Greta where children could play in the water. Pebbly beach area as well. Parking is in the the back yard, requires a bit of reversing in relatively tight space, but do-able if you take your time. Great location for the town less than 5 minutes to the shops. Great for food - chip shop, Thai restaurant, Indian restaurant, 2 x Chinese restaurants, Italian and pizza all on the same street leading to the town with take aways available and The Pheasant Inn on Crossthwaite Road 5 minutes walk or less in the opposite direction of town. Didn't eat there but food looked really good and smelt fabulous. Will eat there next time I'm in Keswick! Also recommended after I'd returned was the Dog and Gun pub, famous for it's goulash. Another one for me to try.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location was brilliant with plenty of room in the house.
Liked least: Wi/fi good. Problem with the Wii not being set up correctly but children managed to get around it and Blu ray didn't work. Reported to letting agents so hopefully that will be fixed for next guests.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Fountain Cottage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Fountain Cottage and felt it had a great location. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing