We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Extended Family Holiday”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
iloveholi...
guildford
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“pleasant stay”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed here as a family over October half term week. We arrived late on a Sunday afternoon to a freezing cold house, and discovered the boiler fault light was flashing. We managed to get it working, although it consistently kept cutting out. Unfortunately, despite an engineer coming out on the Tuesday, the problem wasn't resolved, so it is difficult to award this stay more than three stars, as coming back to a cold house every day after a long walk, did have a negative effect on our stay.
The house itself was extremely well appointed at the foot of skiddaw, and with lovely views. The kitchen had every utensil you could wish for, and the house itself was well equipped. The shower was a little disappointing and the water was never that hot (probably due to the faulty boiler). Apart from the odd stain on the sofas, the house was spotlessly clean. There was some building work in a neighbouring flat, which caused a little noise, and it would have been nice to have been informed about this prior to our stay. I wouldn't let my comments put you off this property, but just ensure the boiler is fixed prior to your stay!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Somervell.

We are pleased you found the property well appointed, clean and the kitchen was well equipped for your stay.

We are sorry to hear there was work happening in a nearby property during your stay, we have checked our records and unfortunately we were not made aware of any works being done during your stay, if we had of been aware we would of tried to inform you of this.

An engineer has been to the property to tend to the boiler.

We hope that the comments you have raised in your review did not detract you too much from your stay in the Lake District and we hope to welcome you to another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hogarthr
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Extended Family Holiday”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Somervell in July, and had the advantage of some of the best weather that is possible in the Lakes. Our group consisted of me, my wife, my son and his wife, and their two children. The property was the perfect size for us all with 3 bedrooms (2 ensuite) and a further bathroom. The large living room and good-sized kitchen/diner meant that we had plenty of space. The property is well and comfortably equipped. and the parking and access are good, with wide staircases and open hallways typical of a Victorian Country House.
One of the best things about the property were the wonderful views, however these were slightly spoiled by the scaffolding that was present during our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Large self-catering facilty
Liked least: Scaffolding spoiling the views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2014
Thank you for your feedback after your stay at Somervell.

We are delighted you found Somervell to be a perfect size for your party and enjoyed the views from the property.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Somervell or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M
Duns, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful and relaxing with lots to do for the children”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We have stayed here a few times and we never want more. The apartment is beautifully presented and the owners obviously care for it - all the utensils and equipment work! The views are breathtaking and the TVs in every room are a bonus when the children are tired. The sitting room is very cosy too! The grounds are extensive and the children love exploring them or playing bowles, miniature golf and badminton (the latter we bring ourselves).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space that the property provides
Liked least: Picking the key up in Keswick from the agency
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottinghamshire
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
staines
Reviewed 24 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cirencester
Reviewed 16 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing