We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already missing it... :(”
Review of Yew Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yew Tree House
Ranked #121 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Even though we arrived late in the evening and were desperately looking for some place to stay, Judith was happy to welcome us - not to say Coco, the lovely dog that was more than happy to have peope around. Judith was very welcoming offering us tea and coffee as we had spent a long day in the car and made us feel like home. We were staying in two of the rooms at the top floor, which were furnished with much love to detail - each one has its own stile and is very comfortable. Asking for some insider tips on walks around Keswick, we were offered some maps and Judith recommended us some of her favourites. The breakfast was excellent and as all guests are meeting in the breakfast room, one gets to know each other which allows a very nice and familiar atmosphere. We would definitely come back and recommend this place to everyone. Thank you for making our stay such a nice time, we loved it and are already missing you!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanRe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Just back from a three night stay at the Yew Tree. Couldn't ask for a better base, room lovely, clean and warm with all the facilities you could need! Bob & Judith are wonderful friendly hosts! Huge and delicious breakfasts mean you don't need to eat again for the rest of the day! Would definitely return and highly recommend! Ps the three little dogs are immense.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CJBIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My Boyfriend and I stayed here for our anniversary last year and loved it! We were offered maps of the area for walking and Judith recommended some walks. The room and ensuite were clean and I suspect Judith may have even tidied up for us as we are slightly messy guests (sorry Judith!). I was a little concerned on arrival due to the dogs as I'm a little afraid of them however I barely noticed they were there and they were impeccably behaved! The Full English breakfast was beautiful but when we fancied something lighter Judith was happy to oblige. We also noticed that when we came down for breakfast the place we sat had more of the marmalades and marmite that we had used the previous day, the same applied to the tea tray as we prefer hot chocolate, the attention to detail in this area was really appreciated (especially the 3 different types of marmalade!!)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My friend and i have stayed here in 2012, we were over the moon to stay again, Judith is a great host and is very welcoming upon arrival and during our stay. The room we stayed in at the top of the house was to a very high standard although our room was not on suite this did not impede our stay at all. The bed was so comfy it was hard to leave it. Leave it we did as we knew our brekkie would not disappoint, and it did not. Fruit juice, fruit, yoghurt and honey, toast and full English very nice thank you. Good to see the dogs and meet new friends at brekkie. We will definitely be back in 2014. Have a great xmas to all who stay at Yew Tree and to Judith.

Room Tip: stayed in room 2 and 5 both good rooms quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robsonnewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was our third stay here, tempted back after 2 stays last year and as usual it didn't disappoint. Judith is so friendly and welcoming and so are the little well-behaved dogs. The breakfasts are always really good, generous portions, nicely cooked and veggie option provided no problem. Bed is super-comfortable and makes you want to snooze the day away. Always very clean en-suite and well-equipped room. Good value for money and very convenient for town centre just a short walk away. We'll be back again!

Room Tip: Room 2 with bay window at the front is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We arrived early for our two nights stay...but were still greeted with a welcome cup of tea and biscuits. A perfect introduction to Judith's friendly hospitality.

Our room was lovely, clean, comfortable and with en-suite bathroom (with shower get and Shampoo included) was ideal for our needs.

A full English breakfast gave a perfect start to the day (fruit; cereals; toast and yogurt were also available)

Conveniently situated just 5 minutes walk from the centre of Keswick, Yew Tree House is an ideal base for a short break.

We STRONGLY recommend!! (Thank you Judith!!)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cymro76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just back from a two night stay. What a lovely place it was, great value, great breakfasts and I will definitely use it again when I next visit Keswick. I can only echo what earlier reviewers have said about the owners, they make you feel like friends rather than customers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonWood_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
5.0 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
759 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
316 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yew Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yew Tree House

Address: 28 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £46 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Yew Tree House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing