We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grassmoor Guest House
Ranked #36 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This was our second stay at the Grassmoor and it was just as fabulous as the first.

Once again the Grassmoor lived up to our expectations and is well deserving of the praise it receives on TripAdvisor.

I enjoyed another week of pancakes, bacon and maple syrup and had to do a lot of walking to burn off all those calories!

Once again we stayed in the small double room on the top floor which was perfect for us for the week, having everything we needed; hair dryer, fridge, kettle, supply of decaf and normal coffee, tea and biscuits as well as a great selection of books.

Thanks to Gillian once again for being such a great host.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ourhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

We were a bit restricted on choice wanting 2 twin bedded rooms, but Grassmoor had them and what a great find. The views from the comfortable bedrooms over Skiddaw were stunning, a silent fridge with fresh milk, tea, coffee and biscuits, good quality toiletries, a tv and dvd player. There was an excellent choice at breakfast in a room with a large table where we could also eat our "takeaways". Thanks Gillian for a great stay

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bryamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Four of us enjoyed a lovely stay at Grassmoor , a great location being in Keswick. The rooms were very clean and cosy with everything we needed. We liked the idea of being able to choose from such a varied option list for breakfast. (I especially enjoyed the pancakes with golden syrup). Gillian and Phil were most welcoming. Nice finishing touches with the tasty biscuits to enjoy with a cup of tea with "proper milk" from the fridge in the room, something appreciated by my husband as he dislikes UHT milk. Altogether a great stay in a lovely guest house. Will certainly stay again and be pleased to recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We booked 3 nights over New Year at very short notice, very surprised there was availability but need not have worried, Grassmoor is a great little B&B.

Warm welcome from Gillian and superb breakfasts! The room was on the small side compared to other places we've stayed but very cosy and clean, had everything you need including toiletries, and the bed was really comfy. We especially liked the jars of coffee/decaffeinated coffee, (sachets aren't usually big enough), and the fresh milk in the fridge. Gillian assured us the fridge was a quiet running one and it was, I had to open the door to check it was on!

The location is great, just 5 minutes walk from the town centre, so handy for everything. We would definitely recommend Grassmoor.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My wife and I booked to stay at the Grassmoor over the New Year period and we're really glad we did. We had a lovely welcome from Gillian and were shown to a room at the top of the house. Some of the things that set the Grassmoor apart from other guesthouses we've stayed in were; a mini fridge in the room with fresh milk for drinks and somewhere you can chill water and snacks you might have, wine glasses, glasses and proper mugs to drink from, replenished daily, lovely hand soap and shower gel in the bathroom (not those sachets that we've come to expect), nice biscuits and good quality tea and coffee and the fact that the guesthouse is immaculately clean and comfortable with spotless bed linen and fluffy towels. Gillian remembered our first names too, which sounds like a little thing but it really makes you feel like a welcomed guest.

Breakfast is superb at the Grassmoor. Gillian leaves a menu for you to choose your breakfast each morning and what time you'd like it, when she pops in to make your bed and replenish your towels and supplies. It's a brilliant idea! We've stayed in many guest houses and have never seen such an extensive breakfast menu! There's everything from porridge to yoghurt for starters and then a wide choice of mains, from the traditional English breakfast to pancakes with bacon and maple syrup. The breakfasts are delicious and well presented and there is also cereals, toast and fruit that you can help yourself to. Again, little touches such as chilled cubes of butter and little pots of jam and marmalade add a feeling of luxury in a way that those mass produced, little plastic tubs that you see in most B&Bs can't. The breakfast room contains one large table for all the guests, which we liked as it was nice to chat to some of the others staying there.

We didn't meet Philip whilst we were staying at the Grassmoor but Gillian is a lovely host. Friendly, approachable and nothing is too much trouble. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdh200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Lovely and welcoming stay in such a good location close the the town. Breakfasts are wonderful with a good choice, rooms are clean and the (silent) fridge with fresh milk is such a refreshing change. We were in Room 4 right at the top of the house with a huge comfortable bed and plenty of room with views of the hills (snow-topped). Gillian is so friendly and helpful with any queries. All this and dogs are allowed to stay too! What could be better? We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosH2340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

A great find, just off the town centre - easily walkable but quiet. Gillian was great with her approach to ensuring the guests were looked after and knew how the place ran etc. Breakfasts had a straightforward choice but exactly the choices you would wish for. I would definitely stay again but next time might be with the family rather than 3 mates. The singles we had seemed a little narrow, if you have a habit of rolling over in the night, you might fall out !! En-suites small but very usable. Thoroughly recommended for families or friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.7 mi away
The Beeches Guest House
The Beeches Guest House
#38 of 189 in Keswick
296 reviews
5.1 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
647 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassmoor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmoor Guest House

Address: 10 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £60 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Grassmoor we have a relaxed, comfortable and friendly atmosphere where everyong is welcome. We cater for all dietry requirements, just let us know what you need at the point of booking. We are ideally located for visiting Keswick town and exploring the surrounding area, whether you want to spend to day on the lake, in town or on the mountains they're all just a short walk from our front door. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grassmoor Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing