We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in the heart of Keswick”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grassmoor Guest House
Ranked #26 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay in the heart of Keswick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

First and impromptu visit to Keswick and would certainly return - great hosts and a lovely room made our stay all the better! Rebecca's baking is delicious and the bonus of homemade cakes upon return from long days out was fab. Locally sourced breakfast was great; bought from the local butchers - really tasty. Grassmoor was very accommodating giving hints and tips for first time visitors to the area. Thank you very much, maybe see you again! Frankie and Christy :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankiefmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grassmoor, Owner at Grassmoor Guest House, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your first trip to the lakes and we really appreciate the fact that you took the time to write a review about how much you enjoyed your stay with us! The Lake District has a way of making you want to return again and again and you know you're most welcome to stay here if you get the chance to come again in the future. In fact, we look forward to it! Hopefully see you soon, Rebecca and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
110
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We would highly recommend the Grassmoor as a place to stay in lovely Keswick. Although booking late we were lucky to get the larger double room on the top floor with views over the rooftops to Skiddaw. Its just a 5 minute walk to the centre and we walked the Skiddaw circle from the doorstep.
Rebecca and Richard's Grassmoor is an exceptionally well run example of the modern guest house experience - managing to be friendly and hospitable but not intrusive.Thoughful touches include daily fresh milk in the "silent" in-room fridge, daily "presents" of deliciious home made sweets and the individual choice of breakfasts including lovely homemade bread, jams and potatoe cakes etc.
Although we are not averse to "bargain breaks" or larger hotels, the Grassmoor's quality and location made it easily more memorable and also actually better value.

Room Tip: Room 4 was nice on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grassmoor, Owner at Grassmoor Guest House, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for such a kind and thoughtful review. I think "friendly and hospitable but not intrusive" probably sums up exactly what we are trying to achieve, and we are just delighted that you appreciated our efforts. Thanks again, and needless to say, you are most welcome back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We booked for five nights at short notice, and were so glad we chose Grassmoor, exceptional food (and treats left by the food fairy each day) clean room, great location. Would happily stay again and recommend to others

Room Tip: the front rooms have the better views. The back rooms are smaller and get the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieG44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grassmoor, Owner at Grassmoor Guest House, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Many thanks for being so kind - we are really pleased that you are glad you booked with us. We will try and pass on your compliments to the food fairy, but no-one actually knows who it is or where the treats come from! We very much hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed 5 days @ Grassmoor, enjoying each one. Richard & Rebecca provide a very relaxing atmosphere and are very accommodating to guests's requests (Richard found a place to dry my very wet boots). Richard's cooking & Rebecca's baking were superb. Each day after a long walk we came back to a different tasty treat left for us by Rebecca. I won't have to spend ages looking for accommodation when we go back to Keswick as I know exactly where we will be staying.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grassmoor, Owner at Grassmoor Guest House, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and it was an absolute pleasure for us to have such lovely guests. You are most welcome back next time you visit Keswick!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
348 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at this place for two nights at this place while taking a Three day trip of Lake District arranged by Rabbies. The place is managed by Rebeca and Richards a very pleasing young couple.The rooms though small are neat and functionally furnished?It has no frills but makes the stay comfortable.It is very near to the centre of the city and close to Restaurants.
The Breakfast prepared fresh and served everyday as per the convenient time of ours is tastefully prepared with home made breads and jams?The porridge is very well prepared and was a hit with the whole family.
I have no hesitation in recommending this place for value for money.

Room Tip: A Small hotel with Value for Money.Choose it if you do not need frills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRAMA200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grassmoor, Owner at Grassmoor Guest House, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thanks for the review – we’re really glad you enjoyed your stay, and our porridge, which seems to be getting a fan club! "Homely" is exactly how we would try to describe ourselves - this is our house after all (strictly speaking we are a bed and breakfast, not a hotel, and do not offer hotel facilities) - and we want everyone who stays here to feel like they are a guest in our home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I was stayed for two nights in June, the room was clean and comfortable, the guest house is very close to the shops in the centre of Keswick so is very convenient. The breakfast was ace, best porridge ever! if that is not a too strange a thing to say! But the best part was the welcome from Rebecca and Richard, dead nice people. I would thoroughly recommend the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grassmoor, Owner at Grassmoor Guest House, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
You are very kind and we're thoroughly glad you enjoyed your stay. It's not strange to like our porridge at all - we think it's ace too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have stayed here twice now and can thoroughly recommend Grassmoor Guest House. Lovely refurbished rooms, very tasty breakfasts and Richard and Rebecca are extremely welcoming hosts. We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: We stayed in a lovely first floor room at the front with view of Blencathra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grassmoor, Owner at Grassmoor Guest House, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks, we're glad you enjoyed yourselves again. We also love the view from our front bedrooms, although the mountain directly in front of the house is actually Skiddaw (although you can also see Blencathra along the valley). You are welcome back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#5 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#20 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eden Green Guest House
Eden Green Guest House
#99 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#9 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.0 mi away
Herdwick Guest House
Herdwick Guest House
#76 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beeches Guest House
The Beeches Guest House
#32 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassmoor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmoor Guest House

Property: Grassmoor Guest House
Address: 10 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Grassmoor Rebecca and Richard promote a relaxed, comfortable and friendly atmosphere hoping you, your group or family will feel at home here. We are ideally located for visiting Keswick town and exploring the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grassmoor Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing