We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lookout Keswick
Ranked #46 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southport
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This was our second stay at The Lookout. The standard of the accommodation is consistently excellent and very clean. We stayed in room 1, which must have one of the most stunning views in the Keswick area. Silent fridges have been added to the rooms since our last visit. This great addition allows you to enjoy a chilled beer or glass of wine whilst watching the sun set over the mountains. In the fridge you will also find a jug of fresh milk each day for you to enjoy a brew. The breakfast is delicious and plentiful and sets you off well for a day on the fells.
The peaceful garden is really well designed and is a joy to relax in whilst reflecting on your
day. The owners, Liz and Dave, make you feel most welcome and are very knowledgeable of the area. We will be back for sure. John and Ang

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBillsSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
204
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Lucky enough to stay in room 1 with french doors and room 3 with a balcony, both with fabulous views. The bathrooms are finished to a luxury standard and the beautiful bedrooms now include a very useful silent fridge. The quality breakfasts offer a great choice of locally sourced foods , a wonderful way to start the day. Liz with more than a little help from Dave has created a lovely garden which guests can use. They both have lots of local knowledge and recommended the walk into Keswick using the old railway track and in the opposite direction to Threlkeld, where the Horse and Farrier can provide an excellent meal. Off road parking is an added bonus. Enjoyed our stay so much we have booked again with this great couple.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleyandray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Dave and Liz were wonderful hosts-nothing was too much trouble. The welcome, the food and our accommodation were excellent-there is no doubt if we visit the Lake District again this is definitely where we would want to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KazzaHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

The Lookout is perfect, loved the contemporary decor that has been used, such a nice change. Our room was very comfortable, great bathroom and we appreciated the little silent fridge. Breakfast was very enjoyable we loved sitting there looking at that view! WOW.
The sitting area for guests is a great idea and we enjoyed taking our wine down or a drink in the evening.

But the best thing about this B&B would have to be Liz and Dave, such delightful people, they really know their stuff. Made us very welcome and we enjoyed talking to them so much. They have done an amazing job of renovating the old 1920's house, make sure you look at the photo's. Thanks so much for a very happy stay in your wonderful home.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maudie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester le Street
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2011

The Lookout came highly recommended and we weren't disappointed. The property has been refurbished by Liz and Dave to a very high standard and the hospitality was second to none. We stayed in room 1 where the view over the fells is magnificent, and the bathroom is a bonus. Breakfast was also excellent with plenty of choice from locally sourced products. We will definitely be staying again soon.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a great view and a fabulous bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerylA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh,essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This was our first visit to The Lookout but it certainly won't be our last! We were travelling with friends from Australia who were amazed by the quality of the accommodation, food and hospitality of our hosts. We stayed in room 1 which was probably the best room we have stayed in anywhere on our extensive travels, with stunning views of the beautiful garden and the hills beyond. Our friends had room 3 which was just as impressive.

Room Tip: Room 1 was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laburnumandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Liz and Dave have gutted and rebuilt the B & B using lots of local slate and elm. They have chosen everything very well with top quality beds and shower room. We had a balcony with a fantastic view of the fells (Room 3). They even got me some gluten free bread and sausages for breakfast (lots of other Coeliac highlights in Keswick eg tearooms in George Fisher).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottersNovaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.9 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beeches Guest House
The Beeches Guest House
#28 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#22 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#2 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lookout Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lookout Keswick

Property: The Lookout Keswick
Address: Lookout Chestnut Hill, Keswick CA12 4LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lookout Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish B and B with contemporary and very stylish ensuite rooms. Fabulous panoramic mountain views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lookout Keswick Hotel Keswick
The Lookout Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing