We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly family hotel with stunning views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hazeldene Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hazeldene Hotel
Ranked #76 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Keighley
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendly family hotel with stunning views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

We like to get get out into the lakes and often stay at the Hazeldene B&B. Set in a Victorian villa with excellent views out towards the lake and Borrowdale - if you have a room at the front. Hearty breakfasts and well placed for the town and local restaurants. Very good value, very clean and always seems to have been freshly decorated whenever we stay. Also next to the Hope park pitch and put where we have staged many close faught family competitions!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AandTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
80
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Once again a perfect stay. Immaculately clean, friendly welcome, stunning views and great breakfast. Go for the suite if you can. The extra space and sitting area make it even more special. We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

We just returned from a two week trip to England and had the pleasure of spending 3 nights in the Lakes District. Luckily we booked our room at the Hazeldene and had a lovely time. Helen and Howard keep a wonderful B&B. The home is clean, bright and charming. The food was delicious and the location could not be better. We are so glad we chose to stay at Hazeldene. It only added to our dream vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We researched in detail what we were looking for because we were getting together 4 couples and a singleton over various combinations of nights during a 3 night/4 day break to celebrate a major birthday milestone!
The owners could not have been more helpful in making the arrangements, which went without a hitch. Breakfast was wonderful and just what was needed ahead of walking in the wonderful hills around Keswick. The hotel was ideally placed for walking access to Keswick restaurants and bars, with its own dedicated parking.
Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable and stress free break - just what was needed!

Room Tip: A room at the front faces south over Cat Bells and other hills - magnificent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon_PWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

really pleased with our b& b hazeldene in keswick. Comfy , clean room, good breakfast. Short walk to the lake. Plenty of bars and cafes. Had a drive to windemere, stopped at ambleside and coniston waters, enough to do for us novice walkers. Will go back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynwilky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

There's not a whole lot I can add that other's haven't already said. We originally booked a room for 3 nights, but were able to extend it another night. Our coach was getting in late, and was delayed on the trip, and the owner Helen had no problem with the later arrival. They knew it was raining that night, so her husband even came to pick us up at the bus stop even though it's only about a 5 minute walk up the street. Great room, very clean and comfy. The adjustable shower head was nice too - went above my 6'4" head :) Awesome views (it was a north facing room on the top floor). Location couldn't have been better - close to town center and Derdentwater Lake. Breakfast was delicious every morning, and they let us get an early meal before our coach was leaving on the way out. Everyone was very nice and helpful while there. I seriously can't thing of a single negative to staying here - even the price is very reasonable. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel, or stay here again.

Room Tip: There's good views everywhere around the hotel - don't think you can go wrong whatever you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Having return from yet another trip to the Hazeldene..again great time for my husband and I. Fab breakfasts, lovely rooms we had the Dene suite again this time and it is so spacious and of course spotless as all the rooms are! Thanks again to Helen and Howard (for all his help with our questions on walking..) Hope to back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Parkfield Guest House
Parkfield Guest House
#32 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abacourt Guest House
Abacourt Guest House
#80 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#8 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
#57 of 177 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazeldene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazeldene Hotel

Property: Hazeldene Hotel
Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hazeldene, a 4 star Guest House offering quality B&B guest accommodation in a superb location in the heart of the Lake District National Park. Hazeldene is conveniently situated for Keswick town centre, Lake Derwentwater, Theatre by the Lake, Stagecoach bus services & bus station and the starting points of a variety of popular Lakeland walks and cycle routes including the Altura Trails in Whinlatter Forest.Hazeldene has wonderful panoramic views of the surrounding fells, Walla Crag, Castle Crag, Glaramara, Catbells, Robinson, Causey Pike, Grizedale Pike, Skiddaw, Latrigg, Blencathra & Helvellyn. See for yourself on our webcams. Hazeldene also has its own car park with off street parking, drying room and cycle storage. View the weather on our live web cam. Free wi-fi access is available in the public areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hazeldene Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing